• Bennett ‘happy’ with Angolan club deal

Bennett ‘happy’ with Angolan club deal

BY PAUL A REID Observer Writer
    reidp@jamaicaobserver.com

FALMOUTH, Trelawny — National striker Teofore Bennett says he is “very happy and contended” with the three-year deal he signed with Angolan Premier Division club Petro Atletico Luanda last week.

Bennett, who returned to the island last Wednesday after a nearly one-week stay in the African country where he underwent a medical test before signing what he said was the best contract he has ever been offered as a professional, said he is ready to take on what he expects will be a challenge.

The 27-year-old, who played in the Swedish Division One the last season and-a-half with Osters IF, is due to leave the island in early January to start his contract for the club that won has won 25 titles in 22 years, including the Angolan league title 13 times between 1982 and 2001, eight Cup titles between 1987 and 2002, and four Angolan Super Cups between 1988 and 2002.

A man with a mind inclined towards business and a budding promoter, Bennett hosted the annual ‘Gangster Party’ stage show in his Samuel Prospect neighbourhood in Trelawny last weekend.

He told the Observer he was “overwhelmed” by the reception he got in the African country, as he said they went the extra mile to make him welcome and said his accommodation and personal terms are very comfortable.

He admitted that at first he was going there for the money as it was the best of three deals he had been offered — the other two being in Europe — but said his welcome in Angola was above expectations.

When asked about the reactions of fans to his move from Europe to Africa, his answer was swift and uncompromising.

“People can say anything. Football is business. I am doing this for my family and me. I am now 27 years old and I must look for the best deal for myself,” he said.

He said the owners of the club was one of the biggest oil companies in Africa and they were in the process of putting together a team that they hoped to be competitive in the African Champions Cup that starts in February, before the domestic competition.

Bennett said too many Jamaicans still hold the notion of an uncivilised Africa, adding that what he saw in Luanda was a modern society with all the amenities he was accustomed to in Europe.

When asked about his new Rastafarian look with full dreadlocks and beard, he explained that he was “born into a Rasta family. My father and mother are both Rastas, so this is natural for me,” he said.

He explained that his name at birth was actually Tafari after the late Ethiopian Emperor Haile Sellasie.

The former Cedric Titus High student played for Village United in the National Premier League before moving to the United Soccer Leagues (USL) Second Division Harrisburg City Islanders, then to Osters in Sweden before his move to Petro Atletico.

He thus becomes the first Jamaican player to sign a professional contract with an African club and will be eligible to represent Petro Atletico in the African Champions League, which gets underway in January.

Bennett last played for the national team in November last year against Peru at the National Stadium after scoring against the United States in a friendly played in South Carolina.

Again, I wish him all the best and hope that he is not overlooked for future Reggae Boyz games.

If yuh don't know, then ask!

Bennett you nah fi explain nothing to nobody. If me get a contract to Somalia mi gone fast.

Good luck youth, cause nuh bady naw put food inna your plate, and one injury can end your career.

I think we as Jamaican football fans need to broaden our views on this business of football. I must admit that I at first scoffed at this move, but after thinking about it some, it may not be a bad move to make. We all know that Europe continues to rape Africa of their riches, and gems of a player is no different. If Bennett's team can progress far into the competition, and he's playing and scoring goals, then he'll get the necessary exposure to have the big clubs come calling. Europe looks to Africa as their personal gem field. So in the long run, it could prove be a stroke of genius and the start of the Back to Africa trend for our players.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I think we as Jamaican football fans need to broaden our views on this business of football. I must admit that I at first scoffed at this move, but after thinking about it some, it may not be a bad move to make. We all know that Europe continues to rape Africa of their riches, and gems of a player is no different. If Bennett's team can progress far into the competition, and he's playing and scoring goals, then he'll get the necessary exposure to have the big clubs come calling. Europe looks to Africa as their personal gem field. So in the long run, it could prove be a stroke of genius and the start of the Back to Africa trend for our players.
          Jangle, stop. He is comfortable going to .... Angola, but nuh try sugarcoat it. How many of African gems transfer to Europe directly from African clubs? Alot of these African players get into smaller European clubs via their football academy. You said "gem" at 28?

PLUS...he said it was the best financial deal on the table...he's not 18 or 21.....

He did say that one of the players from the club he is going was moving to one of the top Pemiership clubs in England--- I did some research but could not confirm it so decided to leave it out, just in case he had mixed up the details but his drift was that Angola was not dead end football and people from Europe had scouts there watching players.

why can't be be a gem at 28? or to be more accurate...27?

PLUS...he said it was the best financial deal on the table...he's not 18 or 21.....
                  Best financial deal ... well thats fine at age 28 .. take the money.

He did say that one of the players from the club he is going was moving to one of the top Pemiership clubs in England--- I did some research but could not confirm it so decided to leave it out, just in case he had mixed up the details but his drift was that Angola was not dead end football and people from Europe had scouts there watching players.
                    I'd very much love to know who that player is. Ever since the story broke it is clear I am one of those that saw this as a wrong move. I've been checking on a few of the African stars in Europe and all of those I've researched started out at a smaller club in Europe. Essien, Drogba, Asamoah (still African), Obi,.... Eto'o was in Spain from from he was 15.

If he is going for the money, okay ... but for anyone to say this is a springboard to get into a big euro club ... forget it. And if by chance it turns out that I am wrong, I'll be the first to hold up my hand and admit that I was wrong.

That's all well and good, Lazie, but the big hullabaloo market tracing and mocking that took place on the announcement was not necessary.

Who di cap fit...

That's all well and good, Lazie, but the big hullabaloo market tracing and mocking that took place on the announcement was not necessary.

Who di cap fit...
                        Market tracing? People who were pushing for him simply expressed their disappointment with this move. How that equate to "market tracing"?

dun talk lazie. knock yuhself out!

Did he really say that Sickko?

I mean, did he really "contended" or did he say "contented?"

Just trying to get the full gist.
                            "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

he said 'contented' my bad...he he he