Wouldn't mind seeing how Cousins deal with the middle of the senior team. I think Demar has a lot to offer in midfield also.
Will The Prof recall The Bomber?
Hue plays off space and if he is denied space he is ineffective.
BTW, you should know this as you coach, albeit it is under-10 girls ball."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
A few of us, myself included, asked how come Cousins wasn't included on the recent matches at the stadium. Of course, we know why - him nuh have nuh big contract. Yes, we made excpetions, but Cousins should have been there!
Cousins' scorcher burns Tivoli
By LeVaughn Flynn, Staff Reporter
Ricardo Cousins … scored the winner for Portmore. - file
René Simoes take notice! That's what man-on-fire Ricardo Cousins is wishing after leading Portmore United to a 1-0 win over Tivoli Gardens in the Cash Plus Premier League First End-of-round final at the Harbour View Mini Stadium last night.
The national Under-20 captain scored his sixth goal of the season with a scorching free kick in the 70th minute, that secured the $250,000 cash prize and great momentum heading into Wednesday's start of the second round to add to Portmore's six-point lead atop the tables.
Currently achieving one of his goals of leading Portmore to the title, Cousins says his next is being a part of the 2010 World Cup team.
More success
"It means a lot to me to lead from the front because this is just another opportunity for René Simoes to hear about me," said Cousins.
The midfielder led the national Under-20 team to silver at the Pan American Games in Brazil earlier this year, and said he is looking to achieve more success at the senior level as well.
"It would be a dream come true (to play for the senior team). One of my goals is to put Portmore in a position to win the title and the other is to represent Jamaica in the upcoming World Cup qualifiers."
Under slippery and muddy conditions, Portmore and Tivoli traded blows with well-constructed attacks and daring shots. For Portmore, an industrious Carlos Barrett created chances for himself, and Eric Vernon was busy on the right flank providing crosses.
"We did an excellent job under muddy conditions and we played a disciplined game," said Portmore coach Linval Dixon.
"I have to congratulate the guys. (Cousins) is in fantastic form and he's stepping up and getting the job done."
Tivoli Gardens, who bagged $150,000, ended the game with 10 men after Roberto Fletcher received a straight red card near the end of the match following a tussle with Fabian Davis. That ejection marked a disappointing final 20 minutes since Portmore scored.
"I thought we were on top of them until the goal was scored," said Tivoli assistant coach Desmond Francis. "We didn't play bad but we didn't score our chances," he added.
Oraine Simpson got Tivoli's clearest chance when he beat Portmore's defenders into the penalty box, but was expertly stopped by goalkeeper Shawn Sawyers. Horace Howell was also denied by Sawyers, who showed good form in goal except for a few mis-kicks that ended up in the stands.
Kevin Deerr, who came on as a second-half substitute for Portmore, added some dazzling plays in the final minutes and shaved the upright after running down the right flank and kicking from an acute angle.
Cash Plus Chairman Carlos Hill (left) presents the end-of-round final trophy to Portmore United's captain, Anthony Modeste (second right), after Portmore beat Tivoli Gardens 1-0 at the Harbour View Mini Stadium last night. At right is Eric Vernon and at second left Anthony Bennett enjoys the moment. - Ian Allen
Mosiah we are in agreeance...Cousins deserve a call up in the big side, him better than most of the rucks that were there like the one from Seba and some from foreign tooSolidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.