• Let the academy stay in St Bess

Let the academy stay in St Bess

file - JFF president Captain Horace Burrell

Western Bureau
    Despite the fact that over four years have elapsed since ground was broken for the multi-million dollar FIFA financed Jamaica football academy, it seems unlikely that we will be laying eyes on any such facility in the immediate future.

Shortly after that ceremonial ground-breaking ceremony, which took place in Portmore in 2003, Captain Burrell, the then Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) boss, was voted out of office, leaving the project in the hands of the Crenston Boxhill-led administration, which showed no inclination to site the project in Portmore.

In fact, after several long periods of inactivity, the Boxhill administration belatedly announced that it had acquired a 4.4 acres property in the cool hills of Malvern, St. Elizabeth, which it plans to develop and fashion into becoming the home of the Jamaica's football academy.
    While I was never a fan of the Boxhill administration, I applauded the decision to move the academy to St. Elizabeth, which I think is ideally located away, from the distractions of the daily hustle and bustle of city life. In addition, I believe the climatic conditions would add another challenging component to team preparation.

I became somewhat concerned about the future of the academy a few weeks ago when Captain Horace Burrell, shortly after he was reinstalled as president of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), raised concerns about its isolated location, distance from the National Stadium and commercial viability.

In fact, after listening to Captain Burrell, I was left with the distinct impression that he was of the view that building the academy in St. Elizabeth would be a mistake.
    However, I felt that the new administration would have no choice but to go with the flow since $35 million had already been expended on the project.

strongest argument

However, following a visit to the Malvern location by a high-level JFF delegation earlier this week, it would appear that the project could be scrapped as, based on the feedback from the delegation, they appear to be unimpressed by what they saw. In fact, it will be most interesting to see what recommendations they will make to the federation's board.

Having listened to some of the concerns expressed by the delegation, I can't say I am impressed with their line of thinking. In fact, their strongest argument seems to be about the three to four hours journey from Kingston to Malvern and the location's two-hour plus distance from their nearest airports, which, to me, are trivial reasons at best.

Unless someone is under the nonsensical impression that a team camping at Malvern would be required to travel to Kingston every day for training, I can't see the relevance of Malvern being a four-hour trip to Kingston. If the team has a game in Kingston on Sunday, I see no reason why they could not break camp in Malvern on Thursday and spend two or three days in Kingston.

In terms of the academy's commercial considerations, those are matters that could be handled out of the JFF's current headquarters, which should be the federation's administrative base, regardless of where the academy is located. In addition, if commercial viability from a merchandising standpoint is the major concern, then Montego Bay, the tourist capital, and not Kingston should be the preferred location.

Personally, I believe that unless the JFF can come up with more compelling reasons, the academy should stay in St. Elizabeth, which is a haven for fresh air, fresh fruits and vegetables and fresh location, away from the buzz of city life, including night time attractions.
    Having listened to some of the concerns expressed by the delegation, I can't say I am impressed with the line of their thinking. In fact, their strongest argument seems to be about the three to four hours journey from Kingston to Malvern and the location's two-hour plus distance from their nearest airports, which to me are trivial reasons at best

Shortly after that ceremonial ground-breaking ceremony, which took place in Portmore in 2003, Captain Burrell, the then Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) boss, was voted out of office, leaving the project in the hands of the Crenston Boxhill-led administration, which showed no inclination to site the project in Portmore.
    Leaving what project? There was no plan for any project in Portmore or anywhere else. The groundbreaking was a straight election gimmick by Burrell.

However, following a visit to the Malvern location by a high-level JFF delegation earlier this week, it would appear that the project could be scrapped as, based on the feedback from the delegation, they appear to be unimpressed by what they saw. In fact, it will be most interesting to see what recommendations they will make to the federation's board.

The comments from the academy's construction chair, Carvel Stewart, who runs his own little academy at Harbour View, were very positive. So too were the comments from Bruce Gaynor whose portfolio in the JFF covers the academy. Negative comments came from Happy Sutherland, former JFF president known to have done little for the country and even less for his parish of St. Catherine, and technical c'tee chair Howard McIntosh. Yes, I said technical c'tee chair!

Having listened to some of the concerns expressed by the delegation, I can't say I am impressed with their line of thinking. In fact, their strongest argument seems to be about the three to four hours journey from Kingston to Malvern...

ASSinine!

Unless someone is under the nonsensical impression that a team camping at Malvern would be required to travel to Kingston every day for training, I can't see the relevance of Malvern being a four-hour trip to Kingston. If the team has a game in Kingston on Sunday, I see no reason why they could not break camp in Malvern on Thursday and spend two or three days in Kingston.

If the academy is the place where teams preparing for matches will be housed, then there might be some argument for a closer place. For me, that is not the purpose of an academy.

It seems as if we do not know what we want. When the Captain was in office and the funds approved by FIFA, the money was supposed to be used to build a training facility for the national teams. With the Boxhill admin coming in, it changed to an academy.

I think it could be a situation of both administrations having different definition of what is needed.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Remember my question - Exactly what is to be done at Munro Villas...i.e. what part is the Academy geared to play in our football?

I think there is the possibility that some are for keeping the present location based on completely different thoughts on what some others who favour a relocation think the Academy should be doing and or how it should be used.

I have been arguing from the standpoint that it is a multipurpose center geared for development of coaches - for the island and for 'export', administrators - for the island and for 'export', to assist in an islandwide program that plays an intergral part in introducing our young to the game, preparation of our national teams and the nurturing & development of exceptionally gifted youngsters.

All this would mean what is referred to as 'full use' of the institution and its physical plant for the benefit of the country. Such use means we MUST easy have access by public transportation from all over the country and have in relative close proximity supporting institutions...and those persons with necessary expertise who are not employed to the Academy and or the JFF.
        Last edited by Karl; December 15, 2007, 06:28 PM.

We obviously don't agree as to what the academy should be and who it should serve.

Tell me, because I couldn't bother reading all those examples of academies you posted, what was their set-up? Was their mission to develop coaches, host church conventions, provide sleeping space for students who really wanted to pursue hotel adminitration, etc? What was their mission? What should be the mission of our academy?

We obviously don't agree as to what the academy should be and who it should serve.

Tell me, because I couldn't bother reading all those examples of academies you posted, what was their set-up? Was their mission to develop coaches, host church conventions, provide sleeping space for students who really wanted to pursue hotel adminitration, etc? What was their mission? What should be the mission of our academy?
            'memba we did ask a wah hit fah?
            We never got an answer from either of Burrell's or Boxhill's administration. As far as I know this current Burrell's administration has still not uttered a word there.

In fact, when I read Sickko's piece (Was that where I saw it?) I wondered where Howard McIntosh is going to look/docs he shall use to see what was "the original intention" (I think those were the words quoted in the article?).

----------

Excerpt from preface to - The Academy - Some Questions and Thoughts?

What then are the aims and objects for establishing this Football Academy? Has the JFF shared their plans, aims and objectives with us? Is there transparency on exactly what part the JFF expects this Academy to play and or add to our fledgling football industry and or how it is expected to aid development of our talented footballers?

There is also the matter of once the Academy is established, the funding necessary to support recurrent expenses and to aid growth of the Academy as our football industry expands and the subsequent additional demands that that expansion will put on initial resources?

If we assume that the end result of the work done in the Academy and the interconnected feeder and support services is national teams performing at the highest levels, increased economic benefits to individuals – players, coaches, other parties involved and or those providing support services - entities involved in our football, and the country at large...

RBSC EDITORIAL - http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/editoria...x?val=%&id=102
            ...and, if our webmaster would allow us to visit the old forum and THE RBSC FORUM (old archives) we would be able to see respectively, posts of various members of the Massive giving their thoughts on the work that should be carried out at an Academy and information on specific academies.

Required reading or interesting reading? Matter's column on:

Just Build Our Academy

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/views.aspx?val=%&id=170
            Last edited by Karl; December 15, 2007, 06:40 PM.

Burrell has called it an "academy and national training centre" everytime he makes any comment about it

I dare say the JFF has not thought about what the idea should like as much as we have. We may have differing views, but at least there is something. You can use my strict football school with classes thrown in, or you can use your all-encompassing edifice that serves all.

Burrell has mentioned some things that he would like the academy to fulfill. They are closer to your idea than mine. And as for that "original intention" that McIntosh is talking about, that might exist only in his mind. If not, why does it appear that no one else knows about it?

I dare say the JFF has not thought about what the idea should like as much as we have. We may have differing views, but at least there is something. You can use my strict football school with classes thrown in, or you can use your all-encompassing edifice that serves all.

Burrell has mentioned some things that he would like the academy to fulfill. They are closer to your idea than mine. And as for that "original intention" that McIntosh is talking about, that might exist only in his mind. If not, why does it appear that no one else knows about it?
                  Well...we can hope that because of this mess, for the first time
                  at last someone within the JFF will make a public announcement on aims and objects...and that it happens soon.

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                    Let the academy stay in St Bess

file - JFF president Captain Horace Burrell

Western Bureau
                    Despite the fact that over four years have elapsed since ground was broken for the multi-million dollar FIFA financed Jamaica football academy, it seems unlikely that we will be laying eyes on any such facility in the immediate future.

In fact, after several long periods of inactivity, the Boxhill administration belatedly announced that it had acquired a 4.4 acres property in the cool hills of Malvern, St. Elizabeth, which it plans to develop and fashion into becoming the home of the Jamaica's football academy.
                    While I was never a fan of the Boxhill administration, I applauded the decision to move the academy to St. Elizabeth, which I think is ideally located away, from the distractions of the daily hustle and bustle of city life. In addition, I believe the climatic conditions would add another challenging component to team preparation.

I became somewhat concerned about the future of the academy a few weeks ago when Captain Horace Burrell, shortly after he was reinstalled as president of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), raised concerns about its isolated location, distance from the National Stadium and commercial viability.

In fact, after listening to Captain Burrell, I was left with the distinct impression that he was of the view that building the academy in St. Elizabeth would be a mistake.
                    However, I felt that the new administration would have no choice but to go with the flow since $35 million had already been expended on the project.

strongest argument

Having listened to some of the concerns expressed by the delegation, I can't say I am impressed with their line of thinking. In fact, their strongest argument seems to be about the three to four hours journey from Kingston to Malvern and the location's two-hour plus distance from their nearest airports, which, to me, are trivial reasons at best.

In terms of the academy's commercial considerations, those are matters that could be handled out of the JFF's current headquarters, which should be the federation's administrative base, regardless of where the academy is located. In addition, if commercial viability from a merchandising standpoint is the major concern, then Montego Bay, the tourist capital, and not Kingston should be the preferred location.

Personally, I believe that unless the JFF can come up with more compelling reasons, the academy should stay in St. Elizabeth, which is a haven for fresh air, fresh fruits and vegetables and fresh location, away from the buzz of city life, including night time attractions.
                    Having listened to some of the concerns expressed by the delegation, I can't say I am impressed with the line of their thinking. In fact, their strongest argument seems to be about the three to four hours journey from Kingston to Malvern and the location's two-hour plus distance from their nearest airports, which to me are trivial reasons at best
                    btw - I just realised I have been leaving out refereeing training in these recent posts.

Those of us who have been with us a longer time will remember that 'referees' training' is a part of what my academy would do.

In this very article you quoted, mention is made of the acreage - 4.4 acres.

Tuesday they said it was 3.5 acres

Okay, but it certainly ain't 1!