• Di man dem bex! - League managers slam choice of Capello

League managers slam choice of Capello

Fabio Capello - file

london, (reuters)

Premier League managers Gareth Southgate, Steve Coppell and Mark Hughes have criticised the Football Association (FA) board's decision to approve the appointment of Italian Fabio Capello as England coach.

Subject to final contractual agreement Capello will succeed Steve McClaren, who was sacked last month after England failed to qualify for Euro 2008, and become the second foreigner in the job following Swede Sven-Goran Eriksson (2001-06).

"When I played (for England) under Sven, I felt it was all right to have a foreign coach but I have changed my mind since then," Middlesbrough manager Southgate told British newspapers on Friday.
    "I don't think an England team should be coached by anyone other than an Englishman."

Southgate's views were echoed by Reading manager Coppell, another former England international.
    "I am sad," said Coppell. "I am a proud English manager and would have loved an Englishman to have been in charge.
    "You look at the list of contenders and what he (Capello) has done ticks all the boxes but I just wish he was English. We have now created a situation where it is very hard for an English manager to get to the top of the tree."

Hughes, who was in charge of his native Wales before taking the helm at Blackburn Rovers in September 2004, said things were starting to look grim for British managers.
    "The longer it goes on that the top jobs go to foreign coaches, the more difficult it will become for English and British coaches to get the big jobs in the future," said Hughes. "I am disappointed for British coaches because another huge opportunity has been given to a foreign manager."

whose fault is any of that? el tel, hoddle, mclaren, keegan all were railroaded out of town by whom? and why?

if they want an english manager for the sake of having one then it shall be more of the same...i guess that is what they are saying.

football is an international game and very few english managers in recent times have been able to sucessfully coach in europe whereas european coaches have suceeded in england...what dat tell yuh?

if dem not giving it to alex ferguson who is the best qualified uk coach then they may as well give it to capello.

these statements seem a little xenophobic if you ask me.

god forbid cappello should be the most successful coach since the 66 and lead them to a semi or even the finals!

whose fault is any of that? el tel, hoddle, mclaren, keegan all were railroaded out of town by whom? and why?

if they want an english manager for the sake of having one then it shall be more of the same...i guess that is what they are saying.

football is an international game and very few english managers in recent times have been able to sucessfully coach in europe whereas european coaches have suceeded in england...what dat tell yuh?

if dem not giving it to alex ferguson who is the best qualified uk coach then they may as well give it to capello.

these statements seem a little xenophobic if you ask me.

god forbid cappello should be the most successful coach since the 66 and lead them to a semi or even the finals!
      Some of them had a shot at managing the England team before and 'crashed and burned'!

yuh nuh...what a set a bad mind people?!!....that is another legacy of colonialism we have...badmindedness!

look what dem duh sven? for NO GOOD REASON!!!

you notice none a dem never want the job?

A wonder why?

His accomplishments as a manager at the club level are solid. The english managers dem a jokers, and he is the best person fi the job.

suh dat dem coulda chat fart. southgate lucky him is a manager at all. yuh wa'an si joke...ask dem who shoulda get it.....allardyce nuh want it....martin oneill nuh want it, harry redknapp cya'an get it.....

shearer want it? how about ince?

whey dem seh...kill dem all...the devil will know his own!

exactly how mi feel.

Them couldn't find a better coach fi put them inna shape, who nuh care bout how much million you a mek and what is your name.

The fact is them think a luck make them nuh qualify.

luck? Israel BEAT russia to mek it easy for them and dem mek croatia beat them by AT WEMBLY when qualification was on the line?!!!!

Poor tings. Globalization catch up with them.

here is the spin. If Luca Villili can coach Italy why cant paul ince coach england. You and I both know they wont let him but he has a right to be mad.