The Australian Club team vs MLS' LA Galaxy: I was amazed...

• The Australian Club team vs MLS' LA Galaxy: I was amazed...

...how naive the Galaxy was made to appear.

The Australian Club was miles ahead of the Galaxy. I did not realise that Australia had a club with such quality. I wonder if that was a good reflection of the Australian top league? Is it not usually this good or is it even better?

Is there anyone here who knows? ...and, or can bring me up to speed on its real quality?

this is just an observation by me, but in recent time australia has had a huge influx of former yugoslavians and it has helped their football.

if you look at the quality of players with links to the former yugoslavia, dragan stojkovic, suker, sascha milosevic, ibrahimovic, preki....you will see a strong football culture. as i have said before i am sure this has added to the interest and quality.

don't forget yorke played there for at least one season too...dwight yorke the serbian...

The name Vaduka comes to mind as a player of Yugoslavian descent too.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

MLS is just 12 years old....

MLS teams have beaten well established teams from other older professional leagues...

The game of football is played on the field, so the final analysis is not who is 'miles ahead'.

MLS is just 12 years old....

MLS teams have beaten well established teams from other older professional leagues...

The game of football is played on the field, so the final analysis is not who is 'miles ahead'.

HL: I was surprised as I thought that the MLS team would have been the one teaching the Australian team...not the other way around.

I delibrately used the word "naive" to describe the MLS team as I compared there approach with that of the Australian team. Babes (MLS) to mature adults (Australians).

Not that the MLS team did not show some level of maturity...but, waaaaaay below the Australians.

...as is usual my thoughts turned to "how would our EPL teams appear facing the same Australian competition?"

look at the world club championships...the oceania team got a toolshed education. granted it was a kiwi team not aussie...

also viduka, kewell, emerton, aloisi, schwarzer and soe other names i cannot remember....

look at the world club championships...the oceania team got a toolshed education. granted it was a kiwi team not aussie...

also viduka, kewell, emerton, aloisi, schwarzer and soe other names i cannot remember....
              I have watched some of the games!
              ..and, I shall watch more!

i once guessed that bennett was going to sign with a tema in the australian league... my good forum friend sickko, told me that it was a rux league... i assumed that he did not watch much of the league... i watch the australian league games and highlights and most times i am impressed with the quality... lots of quality players from around the world... and the matches are well attended... some really good quality fields as well...

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                  i once guessed that bennett was going to sign with a tema in the australian league... my good forum friend sickko, told me that it was a rux league... i assumed that he did not watch much of the league... i watch the australian league games and highlights and most times i am impressed with the quality... lots of quality players from around the world... and the matches are well attended... some really good quality fields as well...
                  Attendance?
                  Damn did you see that 80,000? Damn?

It was friendly so please don't analyse too much

Come a real game is a different story

How come yuh can find excuses for the MLS so easily? Yuh have any fi di Boyz? Or yuh just plan to continue mocking them?

i saw tha match... thats the match in which beckham scored the free kick... i would not say the australian team made the galaxy look 'naive' as you said... except for the few soft goals that the galaxy backline gave up, the galaxy had the better of play for most of the game...

granted that was because of the presence of beckham, but the matches i've seen they draw big crowds, 30K+ on the regular...

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                            granted that was because of the presence of beckham, but the matches i've seen they draw big crowds, 30K+ on the regular...
                            I accept you superior knowledge...all I see is that little on FSC.

if i was a player in jamaica, the australian league would definitely be on list of options... a highly professional league, growing, the oppty to play regularly against quality opposition... good salary... maybe not as stringent with the national team appearance...