What four hours drive?

Thought so. Thanks. I dare say Ollie would be a better chair of the tech c'tee than Howie!

HUH?!?!

I'm saying if it's football you want to concentrate on, then the academy id for you. If you want to pursue other things then go the regular route - DCup, UTech, UWI, American college get your degree and see what happens.

If you have the brilliant balla who wants to give football a go as his first choice, then the academy can accommodate him. If it doesn't work out, then take up your scholarship for med school, but not while concentrating on football within the academy. Not going to work!

Where you get this crap about fools?

Why aren't the JFF headquarters at the National Stadium?

cho... yuh know mi love fi get kisses... feels good tuh... and a kiss back tuh yuh...

karl we are talking about a football academy for youths... correct me if we are in disagreement there...

it is you talking bout bringing in all type a tarra tarra weh nuh have nutting fi duh wid de academy...

the development i speak to, is the addition of one piece a structure being placed in anedda part of jamaica odda dan kingston and st andrew... whatever else you are talking about, yuh run wid it...

yuh build the academy in st bess that serves the youth, ultimately it will spur or encourage other development in the town of malvern in the long term... thats how economies are built... over time, visitors to the academy will demand services, just like any other city or town, remote as they may be... it may spur a hotel nearby to serve visitors, convenience stores, a gift shop, whatever you name it...

all we need is the commitment to the academy right where the money is already being spent... why you are so adamantly against it, only you know...

it is only an academy for youths... if somebody have business to be there, they will make allocation for travel... it simple...

I disagree with you here, baddaz. I am not looking for the academy to "spur or encourage other development in the town of malvern in the long term". Indeed, I hope it doesn't! The academy near Munro has everything it needs to function as an academy. Of course, the fields issue needs to be resolved. I understand that's no biggie. There is already a tank on the hill for the fields. There is running water in the area, just in case some of us are not aware of that, and everyone in that area has a tank. Munro Villas already has tank!

The towns of Malvern, Junction (said to be the fastest growing in Jamaica), Treasure Beach, Black River, Santa Cruz and Mandeville are 7, 10, 25, 30, 30 and 40 minutes away respectively. Black River and Mandeville have large public hospitals while Junction, Black River and Santa Cruz are overflowing with doctors and clinics. Why would we want anything closer. Plus Kingston and Montego Bay are both only 4 hours away! Munro College, BB Coke High School, Hampton School for Girls, Black River High (whose students and staff are mostly from Hampton and Munro), STETHS and Bethlehem Teachers College are almost right there! How remote is that? Doesn't seem very remote to me, yet is sufficiently out of the hustle and bustle.

The "remoteness" of the area, the untouched hills, the clean air are what make it attractive as an academy and for development as a site for sports tourism.

So, NO! I don't want it to spur on any development.

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                karl we are talking about a football academy for youths... correct me if we are in disagreement there...

it is you talking bout bringing in all type a tarra tarra weh nuh have nutting fi duh wid de academy...

the development i speak to, is the addition of one piece a structure being placed in anedda part of jamaica odda dan kingston and st andrew... whatever else you are talking about, yuh run wid it...

yuh build the academy in st bess that serves the youth, ultimately it will spur or encourage other development in the town of malvern in the long term... thats how economies are built... over time, visitors to the academy will demand services, just like any other city or town, remote as they may be... it may spur a hotel nearby to serve visitors, convenience stores, a gift shop, whatever you name it...

all we need is the commitment to the academy right where the money is already being spent... why you are so adamantly against it, only you know...

it is only an academy for youths... if somebody have business to be there, they will make allocation for travel... it simple...
                First I am not adamantly against any thing. I do not have a clue if it would be 'cheaper' to walk away from the current set-up and start from scratch...or, use what is there.

For the Academy I have in my head...what I would like to see...the Munro Villas structure cannot work. It is a waste as it just would not be suitable for what I envision.

The purposes I can see for the Munro Villas on its 1 and 1/2 acres is sleeping and classroom accommodation.

Now if Munro gives use of its lands...limited preparation of teams
                could occur....but, it would still be in the main unsuitable for 24/7 wide-spread use.

Well...I do not think we can afford to have an academy with youth (btw- your age group?) only. I do not think the JFF and JA can afford it.

I am thinking an all-purpose facility that will have training facilities for national teams (men and women), seminars and courses for coaches, administrators, trainers, etc., ... a place for plans to be put together and or managed for all-island development....with all those attending having the facilitation of other education interests....from the very young going to high schools, to those who develop academically faster going to colleges and universities and or trade and or vocational schools.

That is why I am advocating cost sharing and pooling with what is already available...to aid in making costs as affordable as possible...and so as not to exclude any great talent not having options to develop self in education and or vocational training.

The truth is I do not know what the JFF has in mind - although I have heard of i) JFF Offices being accommodated; ii) training of national teams; iii) residence for development of a select few youth showing great technical potential and affinity for the game...

...but, if the JFF let us know what it intends to do...then we could all tailor our expectations to fit those JFF's aim and or aims.

btw - What is your idea of an 'academy for youths'?
                Resident?
                ...or, rotating groups?

Age-groups?

What would the youth be doing there?

...and, any outside inter-actions?

...if so, with whom?

...and, any other thing you envision?
                Last edited by Karl; December 15, 2007, 09:43 PM.

but mi think Baddaz a town man?

A few mi know will ever talk so.

thats a fair disagreement... however, mosiah, as you know wherever there is a need for services, unless they are available within close proximity, it is inevitable for growth to take place... now placing it in its proper context, jamaica and growth, there may never be any other development within the next 30 years... and as you've indicated, there wouldn't be a need as there already exists such development within relatively close priximity... thats even better, and in fact the further development of the town as i have introduced in my argument, is insignifcant to the larger point of the establishment of the academy in the tranquill setting of the st bess area...

The purposes I can see for the Munro Villas on its 1 and 1/2 acres is sleeping and classroom accommodation.
                      Munro Villas are on over 4 acres of land. It is possible to make your case by sticking to the FACTS, no?

Add to that the possibility of an additional 22 acres. There is no where at GCF or UTech with that much land combined!

The presence of two of the island best high schools has hardly done anything for the Malvern area. However, Junction is booming, but I doubt it's because of those schools.

Yes, some development might take place on account of the academy's presence, but as you say, that is insignificant when compared to the academy's ability to deliver as a football traning ground.

A year or two, I asked a member of the JFF coaching staff what he thought of the academy's location. Of course, he loved it, saying that with climate like that, you could have training at whatever time of the day you want. That for me is a major plus! If you want, you could have practice at midday and get the most out of the players. Try that in the Kingston, Spanish Town or Portmore! That also means you could have a tournament throughout the day and players won't be dropping like flies because of the oppressive heat and pollution found elsewhere. Tourists will appreciate that!

Munro Villas are on over 4 acres of land. It is possible to make your case by sticking to the FACTS, no?

Add to that the possibility of an additional 22 acres. There is no where at GCF or UTech with that much land combined!
                          Thought I just read it was 1 and 1/2 acres!
                          I accept your greater knowledge.

Possibility? OoooooooooooK?