I think the question is what Howie Mac getting at...
What four hours drive?
are we still talking about a football academy... karl, the academy would have a structure, like any other institution of learning... all that you mentioned could still occur and if they were to occur, it would have been planned way in advance and the necessary preparations for travel and accomodation taken care of... you point, although well taken is moot...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostWhat about Mobay Comm College, CASE, Knox Community College (the various campuses), Brown's Town CC, Northern Caribbean U.? Where are these located?
================================================== =======
University of the West Indies (UWI) opens fourth campus in Montego Bay
published: Thursday | December 13, 2007
Claudia Gardner, Gleaner Writer
SHIRLEY
WESTERN BUREAU:
The University of the West Indies (UWI) will commence operation of its fourth campus, from a temporary site at the Chatwick Centre in Montego Bay, come the 2008 academic year, says principal of the institution, Professor Gordon Shirley.
Professor Shirley made his comments during a meeting with key stakeholders from across western Jamaica recently. He said the UWI saw the need to expand its academic programmes to western Jamaica due to the large number of developments taking place in the northern end of the island.
The proposed permanent campus facility is to be sited on 25 acres of land at Irwin, St. James. The university has three other campuses in Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados and in Kingston.
"We will be offering full, three-year degree programmes, and will be expanding in the second and third years," Professor Shirley told The Gleaner in a subsequent interview. "I suspect the flow of persons and skills is going to reverse (from Kingston) to western Jamaica, because you have the potential for a large number of jobs to be generated here. What we want to be to able do is ensure that we have an educational facility capable of offering training to the highest levels, as close as possible to the areas where those jobs are going to be created."
Professor Shirley added: "We have a larger population in the western end of Jamaica than we have in all of the eastern Caribbean, including Barbados, which has a big university of its own, and we think it's time that we had a presence here, and that we offer programmes that are particularly targeted at the needs of the community and the businesses here in western Jamaica."
'Long overdue'
President of the Montego Bay Chamber of Commerce, Pauline Reid, in responding to the announcement, said she was feeling elated as the campus was "long overdue".
"It is something that western Jamaica has been waiting for, for a very long time. I am particularly pleased that UWI is now coming on board. I think it is something that will benefit and enhance the Montego Bay community, as we have been losing out tremendously when our bright young minds have to leave here to go to Kingston to further their education and, very often, do not return," Ms. Reid said. President of the St. James Parish Development Committee, Mark Kerr-Jarrett, told The Gleaner that the campus was "an essential step in national development".
"I think it is needed, especially given the developments taking place in western Jamaica, because we can only develop as far as our people are educated," Mr. Kerr Jarrett said.“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”
question. They have a Tourism degree which students go to the Bahamas, is that not a UWI campus? or them nuh have it again?
A know mi good friend who did the program.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostWhat about Mobay Comm College, CASE, Knox Community College (the various campuses), Brown's Town CC, Northern Caribbean U.? Where are these located?
Well at MoBay and or its environs - my second choice area - there shall be or there is the Academy associated with Real Madrid!
Knox, Christiana, Brown's Town, St Ann and Mandeville, Manchester are all locations where Academies could be established in good time. The time is not now...unless you can identify the necessary funds to make any or all receive an Academy NOW!
Point is of all the locations - Kingston and St. Andrew and its environs have most supporting physical structures, supporting organisations and entities requiring in many cases minimal or no costs to the JFF. There is also the matter of an established sport specific college in close proximity. That promixity to the sports specific college brings into play the matter of "combining their resources to create synergies, students will profit from the "cross-over" opportunities arising from the developing alliance, collaborate in joint programme delivery and certification, in joint publications, in preparation of joint proposals for external funding, in joint sponsorship of conferences and seminars, in research projects, in commercial ventures, in resource sharing of facilities and systems and "any other such activities as may be found mutually beneficial".
The GC Foster of Sport and Physical Education and UTech are schools of higher learning where Academy students will be exposed to career possibilities in the football arena. These are career possibilities that would not be limited to managing in football and or becoming a professional player but opportunities in the area of administration and allied professional services, e.g. teaching, accounting, human resources, etc.
Being in close proximity to the multiples of other institutions of learning - High School, Colleges and Universities, Trade i.e. Motor vehicle Mechanics, Heat & Air Condition Technicians, etc. and Art & Craft Institutions means the possibility for Academy students to avail themselves of opportunities offered should be "buttah"!
NB: Imagine our U-20 through senior player who is already attending one of these or was intending to attend one of these institutions being able to train and play for one or more of the national teams and attend classes?
"Buttah!"
Let's cut to the chase: The truth is the Munro Villas as location for our first Academy is a fool-fool idea!
...and, my thoughts on that has nothing to do with any biases I may have with hoping it shall be sited alongside and work in conjunction with GC Foster!Last edited by Karl; December 15, 2007, 06:05 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Den suppose some of our serious U-20 ballas were already attending an institution of HIGER learning in Western Jamaica
I say moving the Academy to GCF and UTECH a fool-fool business and I don't have any biases!!“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”
Originally posted by Karl View PostPoint is of all the locations - Kingston and St. Andrew and its environs have most supporting physical structures, supporting organisations and entities requiring in many cases minimal or no costs to the JFF. There is also the matter of an established sport specific college in close proximity. That promixity to the sports specific college brings into play the matter of "combining their resources to create synergies, students will profit from the "cross-over" opportunities arising from the developing alliance, collaborate in joint programme delivery and certification, in joint publications, in preparation of joint proposals for external funding, in joint sponsorship of conferences and seminars, in research projects, in commercial ventures, in resource sharing of facilities and systems and "any other such activities as may be found mutually beneficial".
jamaica is not ONLY kingston and st. andrew... let me remind you, jamaica comprises 14 parishes, each with unique characteristics, strengths and weaknesses...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
Originally posted by MdmeX View PostDen suppose some of our serious U-20 ballas were already attending an institution of HIGER learning in Western Jamaica
You have just made my point on availablity of institutions of higher learning being in the Kingston & St. Andrew and St. Catherine environs.
In Kingston & St. Andrew there are institutions of higher learning offering courses not offered in Western Jamaica. In some cases (many cases) Western Jamaica does not have an arm of the institutions or any other institution....i.e. many study courses are non-existent/not offered in Western Jamaica. There is also the matter of options (of institutions) in the Kingston & St. Andrew and St Catherine areas - far exceeds anything offered in St. Bess.
Even in the area of the hospitality industry I understand that internships are being done at establishments in the Corporate Area...and, distance learning in conjunction with oversees institutions is being done.
Point is availability to continue pursuing or entering for the first time study courses in the Kingston & St. Andrew and St. Catherine area is high! Conversely the probability of finding an institution to continue study courses in the hills of St. Bless is extremely limited.
...and, what of the other points made...inclusive of suitability for expansion and doing study on cost to build support structures, e.g. sewage disposal and water supply, etc?Last edited by Karl; December 15, 2007, 05:38 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Again, what is our vision regarding this academy? What is it's structure?
My academy would not have players going away to another campus to automechanics or physiotherapy. If that's they want to do, by all means go and do it, but you will not be a resident in the academy.
The focus of my academy is football. There would be very little time do much vocational studies. Classes offered at the academy would be for CSEC and CAPE, with a few exceptions. But certainly, the placement of my academy would not be function of what other colleges are in the immediate vicinity.
Originally posted by Baddaz View Postthis is such a simplistic thought, it borders on shameful... if we were to follow that line of thinking, there will be no further development across jamaica, since kingston, st. andrew and its (immediate) environs have the most supporting physical structures... respectfully, just plain utter rubbish you are spewing... it is that supercillious thought process that has restricted the sustained development of the rest of jamaica...
jamaica is not ONLY kingston and st. andrew... let me remind you, jamaica comprises 14 parishes, each with unique characteristics, strengths and weaknesses...“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”
Originally posted by Baddaz View Postthis is such a simplistic thought, it borders on shameful... if we were to follow that line of thinking, there will be no further development across jamaica, since kingston, st. andrew and its (immediate) environs have the most supporting physical structures...
respectfully, just plain utter rubbish you are spewing... it is that supercillious thought process that has restricted the sustained development of the rest of jamaica...
It must have been obvious to you even as you ran ahead to put 'pen to paper' that there are certain other developments where other parts of Jamaica are more suited than the Kingston & St Andrew area.
It would then be nonsense on your part to them conclude that because those places had certain support structures in place that made it most suited to establish the specific facility any argument supporting placing of that facility iin such a 'most suited location' and any one who made that proposal based on the suitability of that location and its surrounding support facilities was
just plain utter rubbish being spewed... it is that supercillious thought process...that has restricted the sustained development of the rest of jamaica...
The development of the rest of Jamaica has been slow because those with money to spend chose as a matter of commonsense to site their businesses in 'most suited location'. How can you blame the owners of businesses for putting their businesses in locations where the return on investment is most likely to be greatest? How can you want of the JFF good management and expect less?
The real fault for lack of development or slow development lay with lack of and or pace of good public sector services (water, light, sewage systems, telecommunication, etc.) and good government service offices - (police, post offices, fire services, health facilities, schools, etc.) government built and developed infrastructure (roads, airports, etc.).
Anyone with eyes can see that as the infrastructure has been put in, expanded and improved...development has followed - including clusters of residental real estate development and commercial real estate development. It happens that way in every part of the world...and, with every development of an area. The infrastructure must come in first!
If you are trying to suggest that the JFF builds in Potsdam/Munro to open development for the area from a strictly commonsense viewpoint and or business viewpoint that is a nonsense suggestion. The JFF is not in the business of real estate development...not of residential, commercial or the development of industrial parks, health facilities or whatever.
The JFF is in the business...specific to the Academy...of using already built infrastructure, facilities and support entities, institutions and people to aid the making of its proposed Academy a successful institution.
I am saying the JFF must build where it gets the most 'bang for its buck'! ...in every sense the Academy should be built only where most benefit accrues to our football/JFF/Jamacia...and the interests of all three, our football/JFF and Jamaica, are inextricable bound! Any decision taken with any other interest in mind is NONSENSE!
Using your words, respectfully you have
just plain utter rubbish being spewedLast edited by Karl; December 15, 2007, 07:59 PM."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostAgain, what is our vision regarding this academy? What is it's structure?
My academy would not have players going away to another campus to automechanics or physiotherapy. If that's they want to do, by all means go and do it, but you will not be a resident in the academy.
The focus of my academy is football. There would be very little time do much vocational studies. Classes offered at the academy would be for CSEC and CAPE, with a few exceptions. But certainly, the placement of my academy would not be function of what other colleges are in the immediate vicinity.
...or are you saying all footballers...or, is it our footballers...are fools?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."