What four hours drive?

• What four hours drive?

Another figment of Happy and Big Mac's imagination or the driver did not know where he was going and got lost a few times.

I have a colleague at Gleaner who hails from St Bess and he says they can be there in less than three hours!!!

But that too will come to a unanimous vote I am sure...

Why don't you make the drive yourself and determine if it's 4 hours?

So I should waste an entire day, drive to Kingston then to Malvern, then back home to MoBay to prove that a couple of people with axes to grind are wrong...when I can take the words of some one who has made the track several times?

The idea Brush is to work smart not work hard

I have taken less than 2 hours. Yes I was speeding. With speed limit driving it around 2 1/4 hours to 2 1/2 max!

Don't know how far it is from Mobay, but I don't think the Horaces care about that.

Instead of fibbing about how long the journeyh took, why not talk about the fact that it is equidistant between MoBay and Kingston. That, to me, is a big plus!!! Karl dem is acting like Jamaica rotates around Kingston, Spanish Town and Portmore.

Oops, there I go campaigning for a lost cause again.

that is a regular Kingston man behavior but them will sit inna traffic fi two hours from Constant Spring fi go Downtown.

Kingston is the center of the Universe. That is nothing new and just a Town Man attitude. It is always about how far from Constant Spring or Halfway Tree. Why should this surprise anyone?

But karl is not a Kingston man..him come from Hanover, went to Mannings and Munro but he is trying to get the academy moved to GCF simply because his sister in law is the Principal there..nothing more.

He would not be that strident for GCF if it were not for his familial ties...

Bwoy yuh nuh easy Sickko. We all do know though that this is the reason for Karl's (and his son X too) staunch support of the move to GCFC. I on the othher hand who have no axe to grind, but felt GCFC would be a good location. But what do I know? I have lived too long outside of Jamaica to have an opinion.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Sickko, they might be quite correct because we don't know how long they rested along the way. All we know is the amount of time they stopped.

"It took us four hours to get here we made two stops along the way."
                  "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

From the ramblings I heard they might have stopped at more than one rum bar on the way to Malvern.

Why would they need to make two stops anyways to be serious...this sounds to me like it was a day out to the country for these urban based people and so they made a few stops on the way maybe to buy coconuts and fruits by the road side...at least they could wait until they were on the way back for these stops, afterall they were on their way to a serious function (in my mind however) and they had people there waiting on them for an hour plus.

These stops told me they never took this assignment serious.

So... it did not take them 4 hours ?

Ah suh dat Macintosh man move ?

If dem ah guh lie bout dat !

Wondah if him breddah stay suh tuh ?

But karl is not a Kingston man..him come from Hanover, went to Mannings and Munro but he is trying to get the academy moved to GCF simply because his sister in law is the Principal there..nothing more.

He would not be that strident for GCF if it were not for his familial ties...

You so frequently under-estimate me! It is funny how you think of me. (wry smile)

Sure it would be a feather in my sister-in-law's cap...but, to me it makes sense to have the Academy at or adjoining GC Foster!

Let me go through the reasons why once more - Ofcourse it all ties in with my idea of 'best use of such an Academy'.

First and foremost must be the aim of best for all Jamaica - Not what is best for GC Foster and or any single or even combination of groups with selfish interests...unless that selfish interest happen to coincide with what is best for our football and best for Jamaica.

The institution I believe must be able to deliver maximum benefit across then entire island (i.e. to all Jamaica) - to administrators, coaches, trainers, sports medicine personel, players and national teams.

Consideration of the financial strength of the managers of the complex is key. It impacts on the type complex - size, what is included, quality of personel employed, quality ancillory workers, type of maintenance that shall be ongoing, experts invited to share knowledge with the Jamaican people, frequency and duration of seminars and learning sessions.

Consideration must also be given to 'bang for money spent'...how best the complex can complement JFF's vision (Where do we - Jamaica - want to take our football and bring benefits to Jamaica - country and its people) and current resources -financial, physical structures to be used by the Academy and or other structures to be used as supplementary physical structures - other institutions, and other persons with expertise the Academy could draw on.

It means among other things - location is important to move persons and products in and out....ease of access and location relative to ease of moving expertise in and getting academy pupils out...to take advantage of expertise in specialised locations e.g. schools, colleges, universities, laboratories, audio-visual theatres, gyms, medical institutions & their equipment - e.g. rehabitation while keeping students/players on campus, etc. is another key component. This ofcourse also speaks to TRANSPORTATION - PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION!

There is also the matter of vision of the future as it relates to expansion and enhancement of the Academy as demand for use and new innovative technology and methodologies come on stream. Physical requirement for the campus to be expanded - Size of location!

Then there is the matter of interaction with other national entites - e.g. JTA, College sports departments, ISSA, Prep-School Associations, Government Ministry responsible for Youth Clubs, ...schools - as it relates to teachers-in-training whose numbers mean an all-island covering of the introduction of the game to our very young.

As it relates to centralisation of JFF office space demands...like the foregoing I have 'beaten it to death' on this site....so I shall not bore you with that.
                        Last edited by Karl; December 14, 2007, 10:39 AM.

Is suh Howie Mac suh petty ?

Mi cyaan believe it !!

Damn.

Bwoy yuh nuh easy Sickko. We all do know though that this is the reason for Karl's (and his son X too) staunch support of the move to GCFC. I on the othher hand who have no axe to grind, but felt GCFC would be a good location. But what do I know? I have lived too long outside of Jamaica to have an opinion.
                            Aaaaah Tilla: I have my biases...but, like you I do think it is a
                            great idea

Well the distance is not a bad thing.. keep away the hangers on them.