• Hold off a minute b4 we build those artifical football turfs

Toxic turf concerns get Council hearing

by patrick arden / metro new york
    > email this to a friend
    DEC 13, 2007
    MANHATTAN. Ten years after artificial turf began to appear in parks here, the City Council will hold its first oversight hearing on the subject this morning.
    While the Parks Dept. says 77 synthetic-turf fields have been installed since 1997, all but a handful were put down under the Bloomberg administration. Another 23 are in design and construction. The city claims turf is more cost-effective than grass.
    The vast majority of these fields belong to the new breed of artificial turf, composed of plastic blades poking out of rubber pellets made from ground up tires.
    The City Council hearing comes amid a growing chorus of concern.
    Last year a study by the Italian minister of health called synthetic turf potentially carcinogenic. Other studies have said the rubber contains polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs), which have been associated with cancer, and phthalates, which have been linked to allergies in children.
    One survey of local parks by Rutgers University in 2006 found pellets containing PAHs at levels considered hazardous by the Dept. of Environmental Conservation. That study was initiated by CUNY psychologist Bill Crain.
    Crain’s interest was sparked in 2005, when four acres of artificial turf were installed in Riverside Park at a cost of $3.9 million. Crain was rebuffed when he tried to interest the Parks Dept., so he approached Public Advocate Betsy Gotbaum. Now the city’s Health Dept. is conducting its own research and expects to release a review next year.
    When Crain’s research came to light, Metro approached Mount Sinai’s Dr. Philip Landrigan, an authority on environmental threats to children. He recognized the hazards of the chemicals, but could not judge the level of risk. Mostly he was worried about children ingesting the rubber crumbs or dust.
    Now Landrigan supports the six-month moratorium on turf installation introduced by state Assemblyman Steve Englebright, D-Suffolk County. Englebright wants state-funded studies into the health and environmental consequences.
    “I wouldn’t rip up the fields,” Landrigan said. “But let’s put a moratorium on new installation until we have more data.”

Uuggghhh.....this will cause some problems fi real. Scaly...how strong is the rubber and plastic lobby in NY? :-) - T.K.

Damn I play on it every Sunday. GAMMMMMMA how much yuh charge per hour?

Same here.

This is the in thing for New York Parks now, the one I play on was build by a couple yrs back, the city counselman for the area lobbied for it and the cost was just over $1,000,000.00

dis sound like contingency!!!!

Sliding scale or fixed? I was thinking along the lines of a fixed 5% of say a conservative estimate of the $10,000,000 of lost income over my lifetime. Take it or leave it

5%? 25-33 1/3.....scaly.... it would worth more if yuh get sick and your surviving relatives would bathe in the unfortunate event of your demise if it could be attributable to this hazard!

LOL !

5%? 25-33 1/3
                  Jeezas Chriss man fi dat amount mi coulda juss send mi yute go Law School and mek him hangle di case and have change left over

US or JA dollars?

JA still have a currency?

Well, just the ones with Manley's face on it.

After yuh tell me what dem pay quantity surveyor in yard mi prefer tan whe mi deh and earn the Benjamins instead. Mi would a dead fi hungry to rhattid.

I'm sure the scale runs from pennies to cash plus. Everthing is relative, Brickie. I used to make 3 or 4 times what I make now and I couldn't see it!

it was the perks..nuh true?