• Pompey trial T&T starlet

Pompey trial T&T starlet

By Graeme Bailey Last updated: 12th December 2007
    Champions League Wednesday

A £10 bet on Arsenal, Barcelona, Rangers and Man Utd to all win on Wednesday pays £165.
    Click here for the latest Champions League betting.

Related links

Teams

Also see

Youngster tries his luck on South Coast

Trinidad & Tobago starlet Jerrel Britto has spent the last two-weeks on trial at Premier League Portsmouth.

The 15-year-old was spotted by Pompey scouts during the Caribbean Youth Cup and was invited to England to try his luck.

The San Juan Jabloteh striker was pleased with how things went during his time on the South Coast.

Experience

"It was an amazing experience for me as a 15-year old getting that opportunity to train with a club like Portsmouth," Britto told TTFF Media.

"Amazing is the best word I can think of because it was the first time I attended a professional club like that and at first I trained with the Under 16s but then the coaches decided to put me with the Under 18s.

"At the moment their U18s are described as the best passing team in the youth league in England so it suited my game well.

"I had the chance to gain the knowledge as well as interact with the other players there.

"Of course they asked a lot about the football in Trinidad because of us playing in the World Cup last year and they also knew about the Under 17s going to Korea."

Transfer

Britto revealed that Pompey could offer him a permanent deal in January when he returns for a second stint.

"Overall I had to be patient and do my best. They have asked me to come back for another trial in January, this time without my parents, and if things go well they could keep me with one of their youth teams," he said.

members just ah read and ah stay far

no...wi move up in life pass dem model a toyota .....

dat way wi nuh ketch flea.

Originally posted by Naminirt View Post
          members just ah read and ah stay far
          Bredrin, every minute a Trini player going on trial and it comes out to nawt. Unnuh have a record of probably 1 out of every 5000 trialists that actually get signed. U all just fortunate to have links that send them to these clubs. Aint like these players so good that these teams send scouts to watch dem. He'll be back in Trinidad soon.

heh heh!

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
              Bredrin, every minute a Trini player going on trial and it comes out to nawt. Unnuh have a record of probably 1 out of every 5000 trialists that actually get signed. U all just fortunate to have links that send them to these clubs. Aint like these players so good that these teams send scouts to watch dem. He'll be back in Trinidad soon.

refering to lester peltier hyalnd and guerra ... well they had work permitt problem like oniel thompson or what ever his name is .... or they would have been under harry rednapp by now ... jabloteh rejected cetlic bid for hyland btw ... say what yuh want ...

Now yuh bawl we just fortunate !!! i see what yuh implying long time .... some fight down vibez typical jamaicans ..... you all cannot help it....... thats why a few more of our youngers will be heading to clubs in europe soon .....

show me the 25 adu in JA

Originally posted by Naminirt View Post
                refering to lester peltier hyalnd and guerra ... well they had work permitt problem like oniel thompson or what ever his name is .... or they would have been under harry rednapp by now ... jabloteh rejected cetlic bid for hyland btw ... say what yuh want ...

Now yuh bawl we just fortunate !!! i see what yuh implying long time .... some fight down vibez typical jamaicans ..... you all cannot help it....... thats why a few more of our youngers will be heading to clubs in europe soon .....

show me the 25 adu in JA

[quote=Lionpaw;69718]

Carribbean players have it alot harder to earn contracts in England because a number of caps are required b4 they can earn a work permit to play in England. This affects possible transfers of youth players from all ova the region.

Its not like in Uruguay, Argentina etc where people like Veron, Crespo, Camoranesi and others get a free pass because they also carry a European passport.

Concacaf suffers from this problem overall. Its the main reason why Carlos Vela while signed by Arsenal was loaned out to some La Liga team in Spain.

Congrats. Good luck to your player. - T.K.