• Academy update

Academy in limbo
    JFF executives give differing views after tour

PAUL A REID, Observer Writer
    reidp@jamaicaobserver.com

Wednesday, December 12, 2007

Carvel Stewart, Chairman of the committee overseeing the construction of the JFF academy in Malvern (centre) makes a point during a tour by members of the JFF's executive yesterday. Also in picture (from left) are 2nd vice-president Bruce Gaynor, youth coach Patrick 'Jackie' Walters, former JFF boss Lincoln Sutherland, JFF first vice-president Dale Spencer, technical committee head, Howard McIntosh, and contractor Lovel Smith. (Photo: Paul Reid)

MALVERN, St Elizabeth - There were varying opinions among senior members of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) following yesterday's tour of the academy and training centre located in Malvern.

While some members of the tour party gave tacit approval to the FIFA-funded project being completed at the present site, there were strident opposing voices.

JFF's first vice-president, Dale Spencer, said the tour gave them "more information with which we can make a more educated contribution to the discussion when it comes up".

The most strident opposition came from former JFF president Lincoln 'Happy' Sutherland, who expressed "strong reservations", saying the facility was more fitting for a "boot camp" than an academy.

He cited the distance of the facility from the two major cities in the island: "four hours from Kinston and two-and-a-half hours from Montego Bay".

Chairman of the JFF's Technical Committee, Howard McIntosh, said he was "quite concerned (as) there are good points and bad points, but there are some fundamental things that need to be addressed".

The JFF will meet on December 22, at which time the academy will be discussed. Those present on yesterday's tour will be asked to give their views and a decision taken on whether or not to relocate the academy.

All three JFF vice-presidents Spencer, Bruce Gaynor and Raymond Anderson were present yesterday, as were treasurer Gary Sinclair; Academy Chairman Carvel Stewart; contractor Lovel Smith and St Elizabeth and St James FA's bosses Courtney Brown and Orville Powell.

The inspection came in the wake of announcements by the JFF that the site of the academy was still in question.

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/articles...231&category=1
    Last edited by Karl; December 12, 2007, 10:16 AM.

Gayle said they would make a field available to the JFF, who would be required to clear it of the present vegetation and plant grass.
    We getting one field?
    Or is this an enormous field that can be divided into many football fields?

Why is the project so far behind schedule?

Originally posted by Me View Post
      While some members of the tour party gave tacit approval to the FIFA-funded project being completed at the present site, there were strident opposing voices.
      Who wants to go on record as being in opposition to the wishes of the Horaces?!?

The most strident opposition came from former JFF president Lincoln 'Happy' Sutherland, who expressed "strong reservations", saying the facility was more fitting for a "boot camp" than an academy.

He cited the distance of the facility from the two major cities in the island: "four hours from Kinston and two-and-a-half hours from Montego Bay".
      Happy Sutherland - what can be said about this JFF life member, who has run St. Catherine football (some say run into the ground) for 3 decades? He was also a member of the Boxhill team, but I guess this elder stateman of local football was unable to convince them to build the academy at GC Foster or in Portmore.

Happy is also a liar or a good bet for our local Shady Pines (complete with wild dogs waiting to shred you to bits, dentures and all). I have driven that journey at least 100 times and the only time it would take 4 hours was before the work done on Spur Tree. I dare say it is closer to Kingston than Montego Bay, and when Highway 2000 gets to the Melrose Bypass, this trip that takes me 2 hours will be shortened further.

Chairman of the JFF's Technical Committee, Howard McIntosh, said he was "quite concerned (as) there are good points and bad points, but there are some fundamental things that need to be addressed".
      He also is liar. He stated on tv last night that the academy is equidistant from MoBay and Kingston, a journey of 4 hours. Well, if he could lie his way into becoming the Chairman of the JFF's technical committee, then this is nothing.

The JFF will meet on December 22, at which time the academy will be discussed. Those present on yesterday's tour will be asked to give their views and a decision taken on whether or not to relocate the academy.
      Why waste everybody's time?

In 2003 the JFF, under Horace Burrell, broke ground for the academy in Portmore.
      Forumites may recall that that was about the only thing undertaken by that administration that year. And it was hurriedly arranged as a photo op prior to the election.

Since then the project was given the green light by Harold Taylor, the FIFA development officer for CONCACAF with responsibility for the Goal Programme.
      Harold Taylor has visited the site on two occasions I beleive and liked what he saw. The 4 hour drive was not a problem to him. The alleged lack of even a scrimmage field was not a concern.

It was heard, however, that there is no written agreement as far as this was concerned, but headmaster Branford Gayle, who dropped in on the meeting, said this would be no problem as they were more than willing to work with the JFF.
      Gayle said they would make a field available to the JFF, who would be required to clear it of the present vegetation and plant grass.

"We were waiting for documents (from the JFF) for us to sit down and sort the thing out. The principle was that if the facility was going to be located where the buildings here are, that part of it could be worked out and facilities would be made available but it had not gotten to that point where a final decision could be worked out," said Gayle.
      The ball was in the JFF's court. But, they dropped it, as they were wont to do on many things during their forgetful tenure.

Stewart, who told reporters the project was "somewhere in the region of about five or six months behind schedule" but would take another four or five moths to be completed if the go-ahead was given, said his "philosophical view" on whether the project should continue was "it is an asset of the JFF's and from that position should be completed and utilised".

Gaynor, under whose portfolio the academy will fall, said "I love the place," but went on to say, "I'm possibly not impressed with what I'm now seeing because of what I've heard before, this being my first time here, but looking on it I think this has great potential. I think it's something we should go forward with, but it's not my decision; it's the JFF's..."
      Stewart and Gaynor will find themselves on the ourside looking in after next weekend.

McIntosh, who was visiting the facility for the first time, said the fundamental questions were "how do we define the academy, what exactly was the original concept when this was being put in place and what is it that we see ourselves needing"?
      That question is relevant wherever the academy is placed. It's embarrassing for the JFF to be admitting that those questions have not yet been answered. This should have been done long before we invited Sepp Blatter to break ground. Indeed, I believe I heard the Captain state that the academy should house teams preparing for matches at the National Stadium. Is that what we envisage the academy doing?

Forumites may remember that the president of the St. Elizabeth Football Association, Courtney Brown, had levelled a broadside against the academy days before the recent JFF elections. Brown stated that the academy did not even have space for a scrimmage field and that the dining facilities were not adequate for an academy. Reliable sources have informed me that Courtney Brown was visiting the academy for the very first time yesterday. I hope his supply of buns and bread were sufficient.

These are the types of people who run our parish associations. Shiftless, mindless and shameless, willing to do anything for a donut and a ticket. If you check Karl's many posts on the issue, you may find some more credible points with which to base one's opposition to the academy at Munro. Our football personnel don't appear smart enuuf to come up with one. The academy doesn't have to be at Munro, but let it not be that it was relocated because of what some people expect to receive in return. You can only eat so much bulla.

I heard Peter Phillips say something on tv last night - If you can be bought, you can be sold.

Bwoy we love dress up, point, observe studiously and talk ehh? Can we just make a decision already and build the damn thing? Another thing the academy needs it's own fields. This site nah go work.
        Last edited by Bricktop; December 12, 2007, 09:54 AM.

McIntosh, who was visiting the facility for the first time, said the fundamental questions were "how do we define the academy, what exactly was the original concept when this was being put in place and what is it that we see ourselves needing"?

Can Happy stanch opposition also be the fact that he represented St.Catherine for years and he know that there is a possiblity of going back there?

you see it? We gone from one and a half fields to possible getting a field.
            The youth them can bring them lass and come

What this story did not say, space constraints-it is a newspaper not a blog- is that there is a 22 acreas lot that is available to the JFF where they have a plan to build four fields within walking distance from the Academy.

FIFA has also given the nod that JFF can apply for a second goal project, about US$400,000 for this project

The one big field that Branford offered is in addition to thre existing fields at Munro right now and that is not even taking into consideration the availability of another 22 acreas where the JFF is thinking of building four fields on the same Munro property....information is key here.

Happy is not gong back into football administration...he gave it up to another lacky Peter Reid as he does not have the energy anymore.

Happy is just along for the ride, certainly it cant be buns and bullas as he is one of the richest men in St catherine.

The 22 acres is available for purchase? lease? from Munro?

It would be interesting to know how much that would add to the cost of this project.

no to be purchased by FIFA...US$400K available for that

Well that is good news.

So the balance that Carvell said that the FIFA money was not going to be enough to cover is for what? To finish the building construction?
                        I recall him saying the FIFA funds would not cover the full cost of the project.

My reservations on this project whether in Munro or elsewhere is the cost of maintenance and how that is going to be taken care of over the years. The federation is already in Debt, so I hope they find some way to offset the cost of this project.

Happy is just along for the ride, certainly it cant be buns and bullas as he is one of the richest men in St catherine.
                          Why yuh tink him name suh?

The maintenance issue is a real one. But certainly that would be a concern if it were in Horace's backyard as well.

Did the JFF think thru this academy? Do we need one? How is it going to be structured? How is it going to be maintained?

him nah go back but maybe him want a job as Academy caretaker.