Question ; if Jerry Hue will not be around next year

paw... mi rate yuh... thanks fi de video dem king son... i luv it... keep dem coming...

Is yuh puppa, Baddaz?!?! Mi neva know!

... btw, both freekicks were quality efforts, in my opinion... but none really the quality to make me say 'wow'... nandi, jhue in a class by demself...

Well if there are not 8 or so players in squad...the REGGAE BOYZ squad who can currently take decent Free-Kicks then tell them to go "jump in the sea". If they are there...then teach them to improve and become good at taking FREE-KICKS!

It is either the players can kick the ball properly and know the mechanics behind making the ball behave in ways applicable to the various situations presented in a match...or they should not be on the TEAM.

The aim is to put the ball at certain positions arriving at certain velocity. Once you can properly kick the ball what is so hard about that...but, the nerves to be not 'ruffled' as you perform the task?

You can kick di ball...focus...unwavering focus!
          ...den execute di KICK!!
          It is quite obvious that u never took frees or play much ball, for u to be highly skilled free kicker not even at the level of Juniniho or Beckham you have to the mental capacity and skill to do it and it dont just come so.

it takes years of practice and coaching, as T.K rightly said you don't learn it when you start play international.

that's surprising that Jerry Hue no practice much...imagine if he did...that alone would have had him in an Arsenal shirt.

some people can shoot free throws, some people can just kick a dead ball... dem have the right combination of quality characteristics... foot size and instep, leg strength and nuff technique which comes with practice... i doubt if nandi even practice kicking... i dont think de ballaz dem a yard practice dem tings deh enuff...

He scored a decent freekick the other day, the one you have youtubed. However, I don't believe there was enuff quality in that kick. A good goalie would not have made that go thru. But the rest of the forumites can give their opinion, since I am sure you going to think I'm just haytin'.

So, you want me to say the Reggae Boyz has found their freekicker? Sorry, go to Karl for that.
              Take one good Free-Kick does not say you can even kick the ball properly! ...may have been just luck!

Unfortunately most of our JA footballers cannot kick the ball consistently well! You think it is an accident why so many passes go astray?

...and, what is a FREE-KICK other than another pass? ...and, like with all passes the kicker attempts to accomplish something specific!

Take one good Free-Kick does not say you can even kick the ball properly! ...may have been just luck!

Unfortunately most of our JA footballers cannot kick the ball consistently well! You think it is an accident why so many passes go astray?

...and, what is a FREE-KICK other than another pass? ...and, like with all passes the kicker attempts to accomplish something specific!
                Yaaa listen to MO? Cousins is perhaps the best free-kick taker in the league to this day, and I'm not exaggerating or nuttin. He's scored perhaps 2 or three thus far this season and came close on many occasions. He has this strange free kick technique where he uses the outside of his right boot. The ball makes some unusual curves when he blasts it. Reminiscent of those strange Roberto Carlos free kicks.

Originally posted by Lionpaw View Post
                  Yaaa listen to MO? Cousins is perhaps the best free-kick taker in the league to this day, and I'm not exaggerating or nuttin. He's scored perhaps 2 or three thus far this season and came close on many occasions. He has this strange free kick technique where he uses the outside of his right boot. The ball makes some unusual curves when he blasts it. Reminiscent of those strange Roberto Carlos free kicks.
                  Outside of the right foot is not strange - It should, if taken properly, makes the ball go left...then right!

I am not saying that he isn't good, but I am not going to bat for him just because you said so. I'm sure there will be ample time for me to make such a judgment if it's indeed true. Yuh tink mi a go badmind him and no big him up when him deserve it?

Nothing so strange about his technique. Well, these days, perhaps. About a week ago I was telling a HV baller that we rarely see those kicks these days.

In the meantime, Lionpaw, gwaan put him exploits in the CPPL. Mek di whole a wi see fi wisself.

Outside of the right foot is not strange - It should, if taken properly, makes the ball go left...then right!
                      Yes, but when he does it, it makes some outrageous dips and curves. Remember that shot that R Carlos scored against us that made Ricketts look dumber than he already is? That's how his free kicks curve but they rocket in the air and dip quicker than a missile..

Good!
                        Is he often putting them on target?

...and, does he ever vary the kicks?

heh heh! okay, let's hope he gets a freekick this weekend.

But Lionpaw if he is facing the goal with the ball to the left of the goal and a wall is set going with the outside of his right foot is not the best technique unless he is a left footed player and vie-sa ver-sa.

Unless he is ambidextrous. Is he ?

Originally posted by Scaly View Post
                              But Lionpaw if he is facing the goal with the ball to the left of the goal and a wall is set going with the outside of his right foot is not the best technique unless he is a left footed player and vie-sa ver-sa.

Think you are making the case for many competent FREE-KICK takers.

...but, as a technical matter he could use that same right foot and get that same swinging action and put in a cross behind the opposition defensive line as opposed to putting the ball on goal.

That would give a ball that initially goes towards goal...then swings away from goal. Point of apex and point where it is aimed the ball will 'hit' TEAMmates + velocity will decide effectiveness.

Other approaches could also be considered including the one you are suggesting a 'left-footed kicker' getting the FREE-KICK on goal direct shot.

Aside: Such a right foot kick could also put the ball on goal over and behind the defensive wall and on near side (left side) of goal. It would all depend on how quickly the goal-keeper could get over to effect save of an accurate kick of high velocity.

The ball would initially approach from the outside of the near upright and above cross-bar height...then curl inwards and dip into near side of goal i.e. left side as stated by you.
                              Last edited by Karl; December 12, 2007, 04:16 PM.

Originally posted by Scaly View Post

He uses the inside of his right boot in these situations.