• Arnett hold champs Harbour View

Arnett hold champs Harbour View
    Livingston Scott
    Monday, December 10, 2007

Arnett Garden's Horace Sharpe (right), and Harbour View's Richard Edwards in a mid-air clash during their CPPL match at the Tony Spaulding Sport Complex yesterday. The game ended 1-1. (Photo: Garfield Robinson)
    Arnett............................................ ................................1
    Strickland (54th)
    Harbour View.............................................. .................1
    F Taylor (84th)
    Champions Harbour View and Arnett Gardens played to a 1-1 tie in their Cash Plus Premier League encounter at the Tony Spaulding Sport Complex yesterday.

Leon Strickland fired the home team ahead 54 minutes into the contest but Fabian Taylor's 84th-minute strike earned Harbour View a share of the points.
    The first-half of the contest was a dour affair and only left-footed free-kicks from Harbour View's Jermaine Hue and Arnett's Kevin Wilson gave the opposing custodians any form of work in the first half-hour.
    However, Arnett nearly snatched the lead seven minutes before the break, but Strickland's diving header from an Andre Thomas cross, crashed against the upright and was eventually cleared by the Harbour View defence.
    The hosts applied the early pressure at the start of the second half and went ahead after nine minutes when Craig White's long ball from a free-kick found the onrushing Strickland who held off Christopher Harvey's challenge before slipping the ball under Dwayne Miller in goal.
    After the goal, Harbour View stepped up a gear and created a number of openings, but Arnett were finding space on the counter and made numerous inroads into the Harbour View defence.
    With six minutes to go, Harbour spoiled Arnett's party when Errol Steven's cross found Taylor who redirected his shot past Julian McLeish in the Arnett goal.
    Teams:
    Arnett - Julian McLeish, Kevin Wilson, Craig White, Fabian Smith, Andre Thomas, Rupert Murray, Kowri Pickersgill, Horace Sharpe (Marcelino Blackburn 57th), Richard Clarke, Leon Strickland (Cornel Chin-Sue 88th), Jerry Walters.
    Subs not used: S Smith, D Bernard, A Thomas, A Cameron, N Jenkins
    Booked: Sharpe (17th), Strickland (86th)
    Harbour View - Dwayne Miller, Jermaine Taylor, Christopher Harvey, Ronny Amaguana (Errol Stevens 70th), Robert Scarlett, Donald Stewart (Loxley Thomas 77th), Richard Edwards, Lovel Palmer, Jermaine Hue, Fabian Taylor, Gregg Taylor (Andre ************an (60th).
    Subs not used: M Barrett, K Wooley, K Kelly, C Waugh
    Booked: Stewart (35th), G Taylor (55th), Edwards (77th)
    Referee: Howard Stennett
    Assistants: Paulette Riley & Mark Sullivan
    Fourth Official: Karl Tyrell
    Match Commissary: Martin Lyn

Wonder if it was as bad for you who might have been there as for us who endured it on TV...our Premier league level is horrendous...senior players cant control a ball on the first bounce...and this is the pool from which the 'local based' player for the national team will come from...

Nah, PMU dont play like dat. A Ruxie View match, this season in particular, is hard to watch. The level of football in the Caribbean must be really bad if they won CFU. Lenny Hyde has replaced skillful players with hard runners on the pitch. Problem is, these hard runners cant control or pass a ball. Can u imagine, Lovell Palmer is one of the most technically daft players I've ever seen and he's their captain. How do you expect the rest of their players to look if he's captain? That man don't kick the ball him just swing him foot wildly after it. Di man try mek a clearance outta defense wha end up to be a nice cross for Arnett.

Arnett has been crappy for the past few seasons so their awful performance didn't surprise me but Ruxie View really gawn to di dawgs. Mi literally fall asleep watching it. No Joke. I was recording it to make a Hue Video, fell asleep, power went, when I woke up I realize it wasn't recording. 30 min. of the match missing but I'll still make that Hue Video.

Lionpaw and Sickko, yes, the match was bad, and probably worse watching it live. At least you could switch the channel or go do something else. I guess I could have walked out of the stadium.

I understand the field was extremely tough and that contributed to the poor play, but I believe that a Houston Dynamo would have schooled them yesterday on that same tuff field. Bad, slow football from start to end. HV was awful and luckily Arnett was worse and should have put HV out of their misery.

HV look like dem tek a leaf outta Portmore book and introduced 2 U-20 players late in the game who apparently changed the flavour of the attack.

And why is Arnett adopting this Portmore style of football (yes, I said, Lionpaw) where after you score a goal, even half decent football goes thru the window and it's nothing bout big kick, faked injuries and other time-wasting stunts?!? Yes, teams waste time when they are ahead but not like Portmore and Arnett. We should never be happy with just winning the premier league. Playing good football as a team and good football as individuals must be the goal and our coaches need to always remember that.

Full time our referees let play continue when players fall for whatever reason, unless an artery is severed or a neck is broken. That's what happens in the English leagues these days. I have seen players successully get the game to be stopped because they fall to the turf with an injured hand. If I were the ref, I would tell him to get up off my field and walk to the sideline for treatment. Or a yellow card!

Anyway, HV better get back to good football. I know they have it in them. Good going Portmore. Cousins is showing those selectors that he should have been in the mix for at least one of those game the other day.

Lionpaw and Sickko, yes, the match was bad, and probably worse watching it live. At least you could switch the channel or go do something else. I guess I could have walked out of the stadium.

I understand the field was extremely tough and that contributed to the poor play, but I believe that a Houston Dynamo would have schooled them yesterday on that same tuff field. Bad, slow football from start to end. HV was awful and luckily Arnett was worse and should have put HV out of their misery.

HV look like dem tek a leaf outta Portmore book and introduced 2 U-20 players late in the game who apparently changed the flavour of the attack.

And why is Arnett adopting this Portmore style of football (yes, I said, Lionpaw) where after you score a goal, even half decent football goes thru the window and it's nothing bout big kick, faked injuries and other time-wasting stunts?!? Yes, teams waste time when they are ahead but not like Portmore and Arnett. We should never be happy with just winning the premier league. Playing good football as a team and good football as individuals must be the goal and our coaches need to always remember that.

Full time our referees let play continue when players fall for whatever reason, unless an artery is severed or a neck is broken. That's what happens in the English leagues these days. I have seen players successully get the game to be stopped because they fall to the turf with an injured hand. If I were the ref, I would tell him to get up off my field and walk to the sideline for treatment. Or a yellow card!

Anyway, HV better get back to good football. I know they have it in them. Good going Portmore. Cousins is showing those selectors that he should have been in the mix for at least one of those game the other day.
          Yow mi have short term memory loss. Remind me a who deh pon top a the standings please. Killing time, everyone does that. It's called strategy mi bredda. HView nuh get the chance fi kill time because they are never in the lead . HVIEW love play from behind like Peter King. Mind yunnuh Mo.

When unnu can sign a Bibi and a Damani, come talk to mi.

Mosiah tell the truth......Lionpaw is Yuttie don't it? The Portmore stamp is uncanny. Actually better not tell me. I don't want Lionpaw to leave the forum as he does a great job putting up youtube videos for all of us to enjoy. It's okay Yut....er I mean JB......I mean Pep.......Lionpaw....yu secret is safe wid me. - T.K.

or is Yuttie Farmah?

Originally posted by T.K. View Post
                  Mosiah tell the truth......Lionpaw is Yuttie don't it? The Portmore stamp is uncanny. Actually better not tell me. I don't want Lionpaw to leave the forum as he does a great job putting up youtube videos for all of us to enjoy. It's okay Yut....er I mean JB......I mean Pep.......Lionpaw....yu secret is safe wid me. - T.K.
                  I are not yuttie. No serious ting. Mi join the forum first bout 2000 or 2001, just never use to post this much. U can check back, if there's anyway.

When unnu can sign a Bibi and a Damani, come talk to mi.
                    Mi don, we have three players a Belgium waiting to join Sheffield United. Plus, ever hear bout a yute name RUDI AUSTIN. Dat ago be the next best baller outta yard. Him ago surpass Bibi success. Save this post so u can memba mi tell yuh dat.

RE: Damani....

Yuttie, I was going to respond to this post but your last line show me you know nothing about ball. Won't indulge ignorance.