• JFF not ruling out relocation of academy

JFF not ruling out relocation of academy

By Howard Walker Observer writer walkerh@jamaicaobserver.com
    Sunday, December 09, 2007

THE unfinished FIFA Goal Project located in Malvern, St Elizabeth, may again be relocated after a fact-finding team from the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) visits the site soon.

Reid. If you have an academy without fields, you have to look at relocation
    Horace Reid, the JFF general secretary, told the Sunday Observer that the team will not be going there with any preconceived ideas, but based on what has transpired so far, anything is possible.

Said Reid: "Based on the limited information that we have, we can't rule (relocation) that out of it. If you have an academy without any training fields, then we have to look at that. How is that possible? I'm told that there is a difficulty getting approval from the owners of Munro Trust for the fields."

Reid revealed that at a particular board meeting, the members - 70 per cent of whom was around from the previous administration - could not divulge any meaningful information on the status of the academy.

"The last board meeting... was unfortunate. A number of the board members were not au fait with the facts as it relates to the academy and the board had a difficulty in having a sensible discussion on the academy and it was felt that, 'let us take a couple steps back and go and visit and acquaint ourselves'," said Reid.

Carvel Stewart, the chairman of the technical committee responsible for the construction of the academy, will provide a report before the team makes its visit.

"... Based on that mission we can make a decision, not with our eyes closed, not relying on what other people present. No decision can be made, one way or another. We're not in any haste with any preconceived ideas to drive a decision," Reid added.

When Captain Horace Burrell took office in November 2007, he outlined an eight-pronged platform, which is at the heart of immediate plans to reshape the JFF and make Jamaica the foremost football nation in the English-speaking Caribbean, if not CONCACAF.

One of the things he spoke about was the development of the football academy to ensure the sound technical preparation of the nation's footballers.

On November 16, 2003, FIFA president Joseph S Blatter performed a symbolic ground-breaking act at the original site of the Goal project to be constructed by FIFA in Portmore, St Catherine.

The project, which was approved at the October 2003 Goal Bureau approval session in Doha (Qatar), is the first phase of the JFF's ambitious long-term plan to build its national football academy and training centre.

Two training fields and a dormitory for the JFF will be constructed on land donated by the Jamaican government through the Urban Development Corporation.

Ultimately, the Centre will also include an office
    complex housing the JFF's technical directorate and conference rooms, as well as a mini-stadium for competitive matches.

But four years on the project is yet to be completed.

The Crenston Boxhill administration acquired land in St Elizabeth in 2006 and relocated the academy, citing better environment in the peaceful hills of Malvern.

The facility was expected to have an administrative suite, residential blocks, lecture areas and welfare facilities which were to be built in the first phase of the project expected to last about five months.

But several mishaps and misunderstandings made sure that up to this time it has not been completed.

Phase One of the J$25-million FIFA-financed project was halted in December 2006, after Harold Taylor, the FIFA development officer for CONCACAF with responsibility for the Goal Programme, visited Jamaica.

Taylor, in perusing the signed documents between Lovel Smith Construction Ltd and the JFF, sought to correct some specifics in reviewing the documents.

During that period, FIFA did not disburse any funds to the Mandeville-based construction firm, Lovel Smith Construction Ltd, for the originally projected six-month undertaking that started in September 2006.

As soon as Phase One is completed, the JFF will turn its attention to Phase Two of the project, which involves the establishment of at least four football fields and changing facilities.

Another problem that must be ironed out is acquiring the land to facilitate the fields. To date, the owners of the plot of land, the Dickenson Trust, and the JFF have failed to come to an agreement on the lease of the property.

Also, there is the irrigation problem with the availabilty of water to reach the academy site that is 2,500 feet above sea level, which is a constant problem in the area.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Tell me it aint so

"Another problem that must be ironed out is acquiring the land to facilitate the fields. To date, the owners of the plot of land, the Dickenson Trust, and the JFF have failed to come to an agreement on the lease of the property.

Also, there is the irrigation problem with the availabilty of water to reach the academy site that is 2,500 feet above sea level, which is a constant problem in the area."

we have to give Mosiah some credit. He did hint at the gross mismanagement going on at the site.

Thanks, but I wash my hands of this fiasco. Munro does not want to part with a square inch of its 150 acres, so let's move on.

Last I checked, GC Foster was ready to implement the academy at the drop of a baker's hat.

Next topic.

But up to the last time I check nobody told us the deal with the fields weren't completed.

I guess you know Monro didn't want to part with it but you were just hopeful, ah bwoy.

Boxhill a prove more of a diaster on a daily basis.

them use to give him credit fi move the academy.

A wonder if HL awake?

The academy wasn't moved. Something has to be somewhere before you can move it.

Yes. aaah bwoy.

well the writer of the article missed your point.

We cringe whenever we see another report that highlights the pathetic management of Jamaica's football. This happens when you have dunce people like Boxhill propped up to positions that they were unfit to manage.

All his cronies on this forum, hope unuh continue to big up unuh chest!

My point? Or simple common sense?

My chest continues to be bigged up. Why do you think we now have a rejuvenated Burrell? Thank Boxhill for that! Is like unnu memory short.

Change is good!

At what cost will this relocation be?

Why would the whole country sit back and allowed this to happen.

Why would fifa sit back and allowed this to happen?

How quick was fifa to intervene in the sales of the office for financial balancing.

We can never make any concrete plan without any cliche.

what the hell is Tappa salary?

Why everything has to be in kill town or near there?

Please God help us because we have too much faith without works.

And what is your problem? Don't you realise that nothing needs to make sense? Once the JFF's "board" makes a "unanimous decision", den a so! Obviously, St. Elizabeth could not have been a good decision, because it was Boxhill's choice.

Now, run along, and enjoy the ride on the Captain's Express.

Bring it back a Portmore Captain. We have the most young talented players in the island; plus when di man dem done train dem can walk go buy few Captain's Bullah.