But wait Tilla, Sickko, Me....

I like the youngster who played the majority of time against El Salvador. Of the three used during the two matches he gave the best display...he was best by miiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiileees!
    Wasn't that Ricketts??!?

No!
      Ricketts played the 2nd match!

Wasn't El Salvador the second match?

No!
          Guatemala!

Why r u shouting at me, Karl?

Me? Shout?
              No!...sah!

Gwaan a yuh bed, Karl. Lights out no gone yet?

Celebrate mediocrity? All I am saying isa regardless of which school he went to, he is still the best we have.

Yes he is at the bottom of the barrell in England but where does that put the likes of Sawyers who has had to rub the bench for a 20 year -old at Portmore or McCallum at Waterhouse neither of whom can get a look in at any real professional set up.

I dont want to hear any crap about circumstances, we see players leaving here for other places very often now and yet none of these can even get a contrcat in even T&T or the US A leagues.

Celebrate mediocrity? All I am saying isa regardless of which school he went to, he is still the best we have.

Yes he is at the bottom of the barrell in England but where does that put the likes of Sawyers who has had to rub the bench for a 20 year -old at Portmore or McCallum at Waterhouse neither of whom can get a look in at any real professional set up.

I dont want to hear any crap about circumstances, we see players leaving here for other places very often now and yet none of these can even get a contrcat in even T&T or the US A leagues.
                    Still the best we have? It's amazing that you could conclude such a thing. You must be in the minority with that assessment.

How can you diss the efforts of Sawyers or Kerr? How many local goalies have ever received contracts for T&T or the USA leagues? How many opportunities have these local goalies received in showcasing their talents on the world stage? I dare say Ricketts has hogged that platform at times when his ass should have been sat down.

Sickko, can't believe you would still believe that Ricketts is the best simply because of his farin contract. What were your views with Tappa when he had his farin contract?

I believe that, despite some obvious deficiencies, Ricketts deserved a look from some "big" club abroad. His diving ability is world-class and one would have thought that some of the kinks could be ironed out with a good contract. But alas! He still remains Mr. Butterfingers, with some serious challenges regarding crosses, leaving his line, controlling the area, restarting the attack, bravery and marshalling the defence.

I do not think Sicko knows what to look for in a good goalkeeper.

He still remains Mr. Butterfingers, with some serious challenges regarding crosses, leaving his line, controlling the area, restarting the attack, bravery and marshalling the defence.
                      Bingo Sah! You have hit the very areas of Rickett's game I have problem with. I also see where Sawyers, McAllum and Kerr all show that they are better in those areas than Ricketts. It seems as if for some folks though, your game is secure if you have a foreign contract. It matters not is it is a little corner league, as long as it is not in Jamaica.

If we give these three goalkeepers the exposure and allow them to get contracts abroad, I am sure they will outshine Ricketts in no time. Ricketts needs to work on some fundamentals of his game and as long as he remains unchanged, I do not see him doing any better than playing in a 4th string league as he is right now.
                      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I am in full "agreeance" with you, Mo and Karl on Ricketts.

The Prof will be bringing a goal-keeper coach among his team so I hope they will have a critical look at all our keepers before determining who is # 1. Bora also had high ratings for Harbour view's Dwayne Miller. A goal-keeping camp to select our top three custodians should include the following keepers vying for a place:

Donovan Ricketts (Bradford); Shawn Sawyers (PMU); Dwayne Kerr (PMU); Jacomena Barrett (W Connection??); Dwayne Miller (H/View); Leon Gordon (TGFC); Richard McCallum (Waterhouse); Alleyne Whittaker (JDF); Philmore Crumbie (Boys Town) and Murray (SCA).
                        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Farmah, I am wondering if Ricketts can change? When you consider that he has been with a team which was in the English Premiership (Bolton), then he spent two or three seasons in Division 2 (now League 1) and this season in in League 2, you would think the professional set up would have enhanced his game. I have not seen any change and the same mistakes he used to do before going to England is the same he still do today. You would think for his physical size, his agility and shot stopping ability his coaches would have been able to iron out his deficiencies through coaching.

If you ask me, he is going to have to learn and learn fast when the Prof gets here. If not, he is going to find himself among a class of goalkeepers who have all the fundamentals down and he is playing catch up to be in the group. Some coaches want to build on the fundamentals, not to teach them at this level. We will have to see how the Prof work it though.

Good to see the long list of goalkeepers we can consider.

I think to assert our dominance over our CONCACAF minnows and the big fish in the region, we need to raise the standard of the goalkeeper position from what we have seen with Ricketts in goal. We can be a much more cohesive unit and play much better if we have a good goalkeeper behind our defenders.
                          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

scratch leon gordon. him done.

You just listing names now, Barrett has stopped improvinglong time now and his bad behaviour has caught up with him- Whittaker, Crumbie, Murray?