But wait Tilla, Sickko, Me....

• But wait Tilla, Sickko, Me....

how come mi caan hear nuttin fram unno again? Donovan "Brick Wall" Ricketts is in the house! - T.K.

Ricketts - praised by McCall.
    McCALL HAILS RICKETTS SAVE

Bradford boss Stuart McCall was grateful to goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts following his side's goalless draw at Mansfield.
    Mansfield were awarded a first-half penalty, but Ricketts kept out Michael Boulding's effort.

McCall said: "We had the better of the few chances but it was poor fare overall. Perhaps the conditions were partly to blame.

"The penalty was debatable, although from where we were we couldn't really see it, but fortunately for us Donovan has done well and pulled off a terrific save.

"Mansfield have picked up at home of late so I always knew it would be a tough game.

"We put an awful lot of balls into the box from corners and crosses, but nothing would drop for us."

Mansfield manager Billy Dearden believes that beating Bury at Field Mill on Saturday would make it a good week for the club.

Dearden said: "We wanted to win to get off the bottom of the table but we have another chance when Bury come here and we would be pleased with four points from two games.

"We looked heavy-legged after a very difficult game at Harrogate on Sunday on a very heavy pitch. I think 0-0 was probably a fair reflection on the game.

"That is our fourth successive clean sheet on the trot at home so we must be doing something right. We couldn't buy a clean sheet earlier in the season.

"I though Mickey (Boulding) would stick the penalty away and so did he. He is disappointed.

He normally sticks them down the middle. But their keeper did make a good save."

The only thing you ever hear me say bout Tall P is that he is the best we have on offer right now..me dun say long time that Sean Sawyers a bug and if McCallum cant play for a better team than Waterhosue then him cant say nuttin to Tall P.

Done chat...

and I am saying that Dwayne Miller of Harbour View is the best local goalkeeper right now.

No surprise Tilla has avoided responding to this post. A nuh nuttin still, cause we will continue to support wi ballers.

I wont disgree either and he is only 20 years old...I will say that he needs to get his confidence up but that can only come in big games..

Shrek is also 20. Do you think GC Foster is holding him back? Portmore is top of the table, but his keeping is probably not the reason why, and then Sawyers has been doing his thing too.

I would not say GC Foster is keeping him back as he needs to put some emphasis on his education and sooner than later when he gets older and maybe lazy.

He was never the brighttest student and for the eight or 10 years (snicker) he was at Mannings he never quite made it to Six Form

Shrek has matured into a really nice young man, far from the petulant youth who would walk off field when things were not going his way and one who i noticed led the team in prayers while we were in Haiti.

I meant in terms of his goalkeeping. We can argue whether or not he needs to secure and education now.

well maybe GCF is nopt helping him in that he does not have the time to train as he used to before but first year is always hard so hopefully he will get it together as for sure the one or two reserve goalkeeping places will go to locla players, that is what two of the 25 quad places on offer?

When Ricketts is playing in anything above the botom of the barrel league, sen' come call mi. As an international who is playing is a league which is the 4th string in England he should be able to turn in some good performance every now and then. If we are forgetting, here are the leagues in England.
                    1. EPL
                    2. Championship
                    3. League 1
                    4. League 2
                    5. Conference

Ricketts is in a team which is in League 2 and they are struggling. They are currently 16th out of 24 and have played one more game than five teams below them.

If Ricketts were any good, a lot of teams from higher divisions would come running. But no one is knocking down the door for him. This should tell us something as to how other coaches see him.
                    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

So Ricketts is the entire team now? Very infair to blame the team's performance on Ricketts alone, you sound like Jawge giving Tappa alone the credit for Jamaica's qualification for and success at the WC.

Sickko, I have said it on here before from watching Ricketts' games for the Boyz. He is not a good goalkeeper. You are quick to defend Ricketts maybe because he is a Cornwall man. I have said it on here in the past that Ricketts' style of play does nothing to enhance the game of the Reggae Boyz. He might be a good shot stopper and have ggreat reflexes, but his managing of his box, handling crosses and dictating the game from behind leaves a lot to be desired. I would rather see McAllum in goal or even Sawyers than Ricketts.

That said, my argument about Ricketts playing on a bad team in maybe the lowest of the professional ranks in England is testament to the fact that he is not well regarded for his goalkeeping skills in England. Imagine a man who started out as a full international, was attached to a Premiership team has sunk to such depths?

Sickko, unlike you, I am not one to celebrate mediocrity. Ricketts' game for the years he has been playing in England has shown nothing in terms of improvement. As a man who is supposed to be a good learner based on his academic achievements you would think he could learn to improve his shortcomings in his goalkeeping. It does not appear that he is willing to learn however, hence the reason he still plays with a bottom of the barrel team.

BTW, please do not compare me with Jawge. I never get fanatical about anything that I cannot be rational about it and allow me to take a position based on my reasoning. Anyway, I will disregard such comments by you as an attempt to grasp at that proverbal straw. . .
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I can only respond to a post if I am online Horti. You could have checked the member's list and see that I had not visited for almost the entire day.

Rickett's the REGGAE BOYZ' fire-fighter cum arsonist

Over the years - Watching Ricketts' games for the Boyz says he is not a good goalkeeper.

He might be a good shot stopper and have great reflexes on ball directed at goal, but his managing of his box, handling crosses and dictating the game from behind leaves a lot to be desired.

The fact is 'many of the great saves' he makes ...e.g. the reflex deflection called off-side in his last REGGAE BOYZ match....occur because he did not do the easy simple thing of meeting the ball whan it was first hit into his PENALTY-AREA. In a nutshell he made it necessary to effect that
                            so-called 'great save'.

A goal keeper is selected to be TEAM-player...not one who by inaction GIVES the opponents 'cracks at his TEAM's goal'. Ricketts could be likened to a fire-fighter who sets houses on fire to play the 'the hero' at dousing the flames.

I like the youngster who played the majority of time against El Salvador. Of the three used during the two matches he gave the best display...he was best by miiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiileees! He by his actions played great part in REGGAE BOYZ team possession and thus WIN!
                            Last edited by Karl; December 9, 2007, 09:13 AM.

Not sure if Tilla was saying all that.