the anthem should play at all sporting events... every manning cup, dacosta cup, premier league, cricket, netball, track & field., etc., not just international events... it should be made madatory... we need more national pride and discipline...
i remember going to functions as a youth with my grandmother, and when the anthem is about to be played my granny taught me to put my right hand over the left side of my chest... my granny teach me that... and mi watch all the men taking their hats off and putting it over the left side of their chest... a wonder if the youth nowadays a learn dem tings deh from dem parents or grandparents...
melismatise!? a when yuh get da one deh massa... anyway it sound good... we can add it to de patois dictionary, where everyting is acceptable... luv it...
mi nuh jine yuh pon de shortening fo de anthem, which pawt yuh wudda stop... how de people aguh know which pawt fi start and end... NO GO BRABBA...
anywayz wi have nuff melismatic voices in jamaica fi melismatise de anthem... de variety, yuh might like and yuh might be interested in hearing a particular person sing a particular version and have an opinion on a particular rendition... melismatise luv it!
Yuh nuh see di man dem pon FSC a say yuh can tell a country's football quality by the length of its anthem - the longer the anthem, the worse the football.
As yuh say dat, I recall going to the England vs Colombia game. The anthems of both nations were played and the game started, only to find out the Acting Gov. at the time was upset that the American anthem wasn't played. 3 anthems?
the national anthem... nuh ramp wid dat at all king... i love the anthem and most people do... no abbreviated version of the anthem would be satisfactory to me...
if yuh nuh love de anthem(s) being played, tan out a door till after yuh hear de crowd seh BOOOOOM, jamaica land we love...
just de odda day over thanksgiving, mi bredrin a reminisce bout the ja/usa game in d.c... him seh it remains his sporting highlight... the entire vibes of the jamaican people from before the game, in the parking lot with jamaican crowd.. people wudda give yuh anything yuh want as long as yuh seh jamaica... him seh the topping was when the crowd seh BOOOOM to the anthem, de whole stadium shake... him seh as long as him live, he will never forget that moment... suh yuh mad, anthem affi sing or play...
iz two anthem mi personally like... the jamaican anthem and the usa anthem... i would love for the people to tek pride in nicing up the jamaican anthem with styling, similar to how the americans do theirs...
Yuh figet di stall dem dat di put hup...an di brisk sales dem di duh!
There is a South Asian country whose anthem is a minute plus long... Vietnam I think...maybe they should be ranked in the top three on the FIFA list..dont it?
Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death. Che Guevara.
the anthem should play at all sporting events... every manning cup, dacosta cup, premier league, cricket, netball, track & field., etc., not just international events... it should be made madatory... we need more national pride and discipline...
i remember going to functions as a youth with my grandmother, and when the anthem is about to be played my granny taught me to put my right hand over the left side of my chest... my granny teach me that... and mi watch all the men taking their hats off and putting it over the left side of their chest... a wonder if the youth nowadays a learn dem tings deh from dem parents or grandparents...
Based on my memory when I was a pickney we stand with our hands at our SIDES during the playing of the Jam. National Anthem. The hand over chest is the American way. A suh me memba it guh!! Who can clarify
“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.” - Langston Hughes
Based on my memory when I was a pickney we stand with our hands at our SIDES during the playing of the Jam. National Anthem. The hand over chest is the American way. A suh me memba it guh!! Who can clarify
2nd dat!