• Rev Al Miller is new INSPORTS chairman

Rev Al Miller is new INSPORTS chairman
    DANIA BOGLE , Observer staff reporter
    bogled@jamaicaobserver.com
    Thursday, December 06, 2007

Miller. sports is a tool for development of character
    THE Reverend Al Miller, pastor of the Half-Way-Tree Road-based Fellowship Tabernacle, has been appointed chairman of the Institute of Sports (INSPORTS) to serve as head of that body for the next three years.

Minister of Sports Olivia 'Babsy' Grange told the Observer yesterday that Miller's appointment takes immediate effect, following approval by Cabinet two weeks ago.

"He has served on that board in the past, he is involved in sports and is someone with a passion and an excellent role model," Grange said.

Miller, speaking to the Observer from his Half-Way-Tree Road base yesterday, said he felt the appointment would be a good one to help take the country in a different direction.

"Sports is a unifying force... I think it is an opportunity to help the development of sport in the nation and to see it moving into new dimensions because sports is one of the most powerful tools for social development and international development, particularly with the problems our nation is having through crime, violence and what is happening with our youth," he said.

Meanwhile, Grange told the Observer that the Reverend's appointment was part of the new government's thrust towards developing community sport.

"The thrust of the government is in developing community sports and reaching out far and wide and we felt he was someone who could carry out that thrust," she said adding that Miller, who has been in full-time ministry for over 25 years, has also been made a member of the board of the Social Development Commission.

"Sports and Community development... they walk together," Miller concurred.
    "We don't want to see sports primarily as an activity for passing time but rather as a tool for development of character for inculcating values and discipline and a sense of purpose and self-esteem in our youth."

The 55-year-old, who previously served on the board of Insports during the 1980's, takes over the post from medical doctor Winston Dawes who stood at the helm of Insports since 2005 until the board was dissolved shortly after the country changed government in September.

Former Jamaica Amateur Athletic Association (JAAA) president, North America, Central America and Caribbean Athletic Association (NACAC) president and International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) Area Representative, Neville 'Teddy' McCook, was appointed vice-chairman. Ian Andrews remains executive director.

Meanwhile Miller, who served as chaplain for the national Senior football team for five years, also told the Observer he has once again been commissioned by Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) president Captain Horace Burrell to be part of the national football programme and possibly help to bring back the euphoria associated with the 1998 Road to France FIFA World Cup football campaign.

"I was asked to come back at this time because I think his (Burrell) own vision and desire is to help re-motivate and re-mobilise the nation behind the football programme," he said.

"Look what sports did for the nation in 1998 at a crisis point socially, and look at what it did to revive a nation and I think from a soccer standpoint this is what Captain would like to see rekindled," he added.

Miller, who is also an executive member of the International Sports Coalition Board, pointed out that Whole Life Ministries, of which he is the founder, also runs community-based church football, basketball, netball and cricket leagues.

"I see it (sports) as part of the answer to our national social decline," Miller said.

why? how dem pastor ya get so licky licky

I have been trying all day to keep away from this post but.....Merrick Miller is in a class all by himself trust me.

Sister P did say she wanted Pastors on Boards so if viewed in this way, no biggie but Al Miller is a beast of no mean order.

and no we have him back in the stadium with his riduculous prayers, no sermons....self serving if you ask me...

Burrell draw back fi everybody else, so why not Miller? If lightning going to strike twice den why not mek it strike di exact same ting again?

I have no problems with him being team chaplain but maybe he should go pray with the team inside the locker room before they come out instead of these long winded prayer over the PA system...

Absolutely hated that. If he does it again, I'm going to start booing.

but didnt he do it against ES the other day? the game was late because of the praying and the large delegation to meet the players...

Question, is this meeting the players done else where?

I am trying to remember but I have not seen this done at any othger international overseas, not that i can recall, is this some thing unique to jamaica and why?

Our meeting with the players is too grandiose. Our national anthem is too long. All this serves to kill the spirit of everyone involved.

In my view, cut out the ridiculous handshakes. No one gives a damn. And sing the first verse of the anthem.

And get on with it!

I have no problems with the anthem at international games- matter of fact I welcome it there, gets the home crowd fired up.

Protocol dictates that once the words are being sung all verses must be sung but if it is just an instrumental then one verse will suffice.

Dont know if they did it at Harbour View games but they used to pay the anthem twice when they used to play the Under 21 games before the Premier League games.

Protocol dictates that once the words are being sung all verses must be sung but if it is just an instrumental then one verse will suffice.
                    True

...and, what about precedence?
                    I am asking as I cannot remember as ref and or as fan seeing and or hearing 2nd verses of other National Anthems played.

Can someone remind me of what occurred at the last World Cup and other previous World Cups? Would love to hear!
                    Thanks!

I have no problems with the anthem at international games- matter of fact I welcome it there, gets the home crowd fired up.

Dont know if they did it at Harbour View games but they used to pay the anthem twice when they used to play the Under 21 games before the Premier League games.
                      Protocol dictates no such thing!!! The American anthem has about 40 verses and there are numerous anthems the world over that have numerous verses but only one or two are sung. We went thru this already on this forum. Were you absent? Were you employed with the JUTC? What protocol dictates is that if you sing/play one verse of the visitor's anthem, then you should do the same for yours.

NOT TRUE. See my response to Sickko.

Well I am going by what Horace Reid told me a few years ago and I have no reason (unlike Lazie- he he) to not believe Horace when he speaks to things like these

Hey, Lazie chose to go by what Chuck said. A nuh nutten!

the national anthem... nuh ramp wid dat at all king... i love the anthem and most people do... no abbreviated version of the anthem would be satisfactory to me...

if yuh nuh love de anthem(s) being played, tan out a door till after yuh hear de crowd seh BOOOOOM, jamaica land we love...

just de odda day over thanksgiving, mi bredrin a reminisce bout the ja/usa game in d.c... him seh it remains his sporting highlight... the entire vibes of the jamaican people from before the game, in the parking lot with jamaican crowd.. people wudda give yuh anything yuh want as long as yuh seh jamaica... him seh the topping was when the crowd seh BOOOOM to the anthem, de whole stadium shake... him seh as long as him live, he will never forget that moment... suh yuh mad, anthem affi sing or play...

iz two anthem mi personally like... the jamaican anthem and the usa anthem... i would love for the people to tek pride in nicing up the jamaican anthem with styling, similar to how the americans do theirs...