• TV rights dilemma for JFF

TV rights dilemma for JFF

By Andre Lowe

The Jamaica Football Federation is likely to find itself in a television rights swirl, as it is understood that former president Crenston Boxhill signed a deal with a local broadcasting entity, which is in breach of a previous arrangement with a competing broadcaster.

The new deal involves the selling of TV rights for the Reggae Boyz’ CONCACAF World Cup qualifying matches, which is throwing further suspicion over Boxhill’s administration, which, according to the new body headed by Captain Horace Burrell, had been involved in a number of irregularities during their four-year stint in office.

Information reaching the Sunday Herald is that the recently ousted administration signed off on a contract, affording exclusive rights to a local media outlet to broadcast World Cup qualifying games involving the national senior team.

This despite the existence of an earlier signed agreement, which offers the second company the right to ‘first refusal’ on the right to broadcast the games.

The “illicit” contract was reportedly signed during the recent nomination period for the JFF presidency, weeks before Boxhill was forced to leave office.

JFF Treasurer Gary Sinclair confirmed the reports and labeled the situation as “extremely unfortunate and possesses serious legal and commercial implications” for the federation.

“A contract was signed by the previous administration giving a local media entity the right to broadcast the World Cup qualifiers involving Jamaica while another agreement, which was signed earlier gave another company the right to refuse or match any offer that came on the table.

“They did not get that chance and the federation can find itself in a serious position both from a legal and commercial perspective if each party decide to stick out on the contracts that they signed,” said Sinclair.

“It really is a dilemma. Two parties have a contract that virtually gives them the right to the same thing and if they both decide to hold us to it, then the programme is going to have a lot of other issues to contend with. These are just some of the issues that we have inherited and will have to work to find a way through,” he stated.

he JFF is planning to engage both companies in discussion with the intention of finding a compromise.

It is further understood that an initial payment of $3 million was paid over to the JFF by the controversial contractee, none of which can be found on the JFF books.

The Sunday Herald tried several times over the weekend to contact Boxhill via his cell phone, which rang without an answer.

Copyright © 2005 Sunday Herald. All rights reserved

So wait it seems the England trip allegations by King wasn't that far fetched and thats why it seems from long time everyone preferred cash donations to the JFF.

It seems as if thats why dem undervalue the kit deals as they would sign a poor long term deal for lots of cash upfront

That type of behavior smacks of the ignorant house slave who would tell massa about the impending revolt just to save himself from having to work in the hot sun.

They would just be steps from the plantation and be happy for the scraps instead of going for what was rightfully due to them as humans and that is freedom.

It seems we settle too early and we no willing to fight for what we want. Or better yet stay the course no matter how rocky it get and thats why as a people we pop dung because most of us were living off the sacrifice of others but as soon as it was our time to fight we run off to the suburbs and to board room.

Fooling ourselves and calling it progress even though we know better we put our collective heads into the sand.

Thats why Garvey said that its not that we can't fight but its that we won't fight and the only time we are going to fight is when we are cornered and have no choice.

Thats when our backs are against the wall. Thats when we know our true strengths. After all if knowing yourself is the key, when then are you most likely to know yourself?

In times to come all things will be revealed

respect
    King of Kings

By Andre Lowe

The “illicit” contract was reportedly signed during the recent nomination period for the JFF presidency, weeks before Boxhill was forced to leave office.

It is further understood that an initial payment of $3 million was paid over to the JFF by the controversial contractee, none of which can be found on the JFF books.

The Sunday Herald tried several times over the weekend to contact Boxhill via his cell phone, which rang without an answer.
      I wonder what Boxhill execs, Rudolph Speid (treasurer) & Burchell Gibson (general secretary) have to say bout the $3 million. Their versions of events is needed.

Mi defend Marlon from day one

Originally posted by Shatta View Post
        So wait it seems the England trip allegations by King wasn't that far fetched and thats why it seems from long time everyone preferred cash donations to the JFF.

It seems as if thats why dem undervalue the kit deals as they would sign a poor long term deal for lots of cash upfront

That type of behavior smacks of the ignorant house slave who would tell massa about the impending revolt just to save himself from having to work in the hot sun.

They would just be steps from the plantation and be happy for the scraps instead of going for what was rightfully due to them as humans and that is freedom.

It seems we settle too early and we no willing to fight for what we want. Or better yet stay the course no matter how rocky it get and thats why as a people we pop dung because most of us were living off the sacrifice of others but as soon as it was our time to fight we run off to the suburbs and to board room.

Fooling ourselves and calling it progress even though we know better we put our collective heads into the sand.

Thats why Garvey said that its not that we can't fight but its that we won't fight and the only time we are going to fight is when we are cornered and have no choice.

Thats when our backs are against the wall. Thats when we know our true strengths. After all if knowing yourself is the key, when then are you most likely to know yourself?

In times to come all things will be revealed

respect
        King of Kings

Mi defend Marlon from day one.....I knew the story and believed it....

So what Boxhill have fi say?

Oh Sickko said he left the office long before so a nuh him did a run it. A wonder a who signed the contract?

So where are the Boxhill supporters that preached that he was being sabotaged.

I am right here. What?

His cronies preferred to cut off their noses to spite their faces.

bwoy every day is another embarass-ment

I think the local media outlet is CVM TV. I have noticed promotions for the exclusive rights to the 2010 World Cup being aired for a few months now on that station.
                    I'm assuming the other is Sportsmax through IMC or FSC. Sportsmax has the exclusive rights for all the Reggae Boyz friendly home games.

The way I understood it was that SportsMax only had the rights to friendlies. They did not when it comes to the WC Qualifying.

Hopefully, they can sort something out soon.
                      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

By Andre Lowe

The Jamaica Football Federation is likely to find itself in a television rights swirl, as it is understood that former president Crenston Boxhill signed a deal with a local broadcasting entity, which is in breach of a previous arrangement with a competing broadcaster.

The new deal involves the selling of TV rights for the Reggae Boyz’ CONCACAF World Cup qualifying matches, which is throwing further suspicion over Boxhill’s administration, which, according to the new body headed by Captain Horace Burrell, had been involved in a number of irregularities during their four-year stint in office.

Information reaching the Sunday Herald is that the recently ousted administration signed off on a contract, affording exclusive rights to a local media outlet to broadcast World Cup qualifying games involving the national senior team.

This despite the existence of an earlier signed agreement, which offers the second company the right to ‘first refusal’ on the right to broadcast the games.

JFF Treasurer Gary Sinclair confirmed the reports and labeled the situation as “extremely unfortunate and possesses serious legal and commercial implications” for the federation.

“A contract was signed by the previous administration giving a local media entity the right to broadcast the World Cup qualifiers involving Jamaica while another agreement, which was signed earlier gave another company the right to refuse or match any offer that came on the table.

“They did not get that chance and the federation can find itself in a serious position both from a legal and commercial perspective if each party decide to stick out on the contracts that they signed,” said Sinclair.

“It really is a dilemma. Two parties have a contract that virtually gives them the right to the same thing and if they both decide to hold us to it, then the programme is going to have a lot of other issues to contend with. These are just some of the issues that we have inherited and will have to work to find a way through,” he stated.

he JFF is planning to engage both companies in discussion with the intention of finding a compromise.

Copyright © 2005 Sunday Herald. All rights reserved
                        This is what I hate about the Jamaican media, they are so afraid to call names. If you have done your proper investigations, why not name the media house. A number of times I have read in the newspapers or watch on the tv where the local police may have caught or is investigating big businessmen on suspicions of illegal activities and they don't call their names. Such cowardice. Sickko, what do you have to say?
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Correct. But as negotiations continue Sportsmax probably realized they were dealing with idiots in the JFF so they probably brokered the 2010 World Cup qualifier deal.
                          I always assume that it was CMC that had first rights options, but reading the report I doubt it.