Concern over strikers as Boyz gear for DigiCup

• Concern over strikers as Boyz gear for DigiCup

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Concern over strikers as Boyz gear for DigiCup</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>
    Sunday, September 24, 2006
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>With the Caribbean Digicel Cup set to kick off this week, Jamaica's interimhead coach Carl Brown is busy trying to make his final selection that will undertake the task of winning the regional title for a fifth time.<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=120 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>Brown. interim coach </SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>Brown currently has 23 players in training, which includes only one overseas-based player in Fabian Dawkin, who plys his trade in the United Soccer League (USL).
    Brown is also hopeful of securing Omar Daley, Shane Crawford and Sean Frazer, depending on the outcome of their USL semi-final matches today.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"We have 22 to 23 players here so we will definitely have to make some subtractions, and there is the possibility of getting Omar Daley, Shane Crawford and Sean Frazer to join the squad next week," Brown confirmed.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"Both Shane and Omar will play a semi-final on Sunday (today). If they lose we will have them on Monday; if not, we won't be able to get them," he said.
    But the veteran coach is confident the Boyz can take the tournament despite who is available.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"This is the squad we're preparing for the qualifiers, which starts on the 27th, and I'm pretty happy with what I'm seeing. The players are working very hard and... they're a committed bunch...
    "We should be able to put a team together that will do well in the Caribbean, even without our overseas players, and that is what I'm working at," Brown told the Sunday Observer.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"We don't know what the Haitians will bring. We also don't know St Lucia and St Vincent, but years of playing against them says that they are going to be competitive.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"So we really have to get ourselves prepared for tough games, because I'm certain all three team will be preparing to beat the Jamaican team...," Brown added.
    "My biggest problem... is probably the strike force, the group that we have here right now is probably the best we have available. Kevin Lamey, Rohan Reid, Roland Dean, Wilfred Smith and Fabian Dawkins are some of the names...<P class=StoryText align=justify>"But apart from Lamey, I don't believe any of the other locals have gotten any goals in the Premier League... so that is a bit of a concern But I believe we'll be able to get them into some sort of shape. We'll continue to do some work over the next few days and see if they can get some goals for us," he said.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The squad resumed training only a week after their friendly against the Canadians, but Brown says it is hard to judge their degree of improvement.
    "Physically we'll be better and there are some technical areas that we're working on, so I expect them to be a better bunch than the one that played against Canada," he said.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Meanwhile, goalkeeper Shawn Sawyers and defender Jermaine Taylor have been nursing injuries. Sawyers has an ankle injury and is doubtful for the games, but Taylor is expect to recover in time from a hip niggle.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"Shawn has been carrying his injury from the Canada game. He hasn't been able to rest much because Portmore (United) has just one goalkeeper, so he has been keeping every Sunday, and that is a problem.
    "The medic team has him... and they've always done a good job with the players, so we're hoping h

RE: Concern over strikers as Boyz gear for DigiCup

Can someone ask why no LOWE....Considering the desperate statement

"we really have to get ourselves prepared for tough games, because I'm certain all three team will be preparing to beat the Jamaican team...," Brown added.

"My biggest problem... is probably the strike force, the group that we have here right now is probably the best we have available. Kevin Lamey, Rohan Reid, Roland Dean, Wilfred Smith and Fabian Dawkins are some of the names...

If this is the best we have DWAG NYAM WE SUPPA!

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Strikers who have not scored in the premier league?

:crazy:

Maybe when him start playing for Portmore in the club league he might be considered by the national team

But wait a minute. Is Lowe carrying the waterbucket fi Portmore now? I haven't seen him mentioned in any press reports.

why do feel like i have heard this from cb before?

Striker is the biggest problem? Watch di ride and see how many goals we concede. Bout striker. :hehe:

St Lucia and St Vincent? :hehe:

yes, yuh nuh si dem name "saint"....is because dem sanctified!!!!

<U>THIS IS BOGUS</U> Why does club requirement take precedent over national requirements? Am I the only one that feel that this is wayyyyyyyy out of line. No one could ever tell me that I needed to forgo playing for my country soI can fulfill the needs of my club <U>NEVER.</U> That's a rule I couldn't obey. Love and respect.

Lowe has been utterly unimpressive for winless Portmore this season. Why would he be called ahead of Harbour View's new striker who looks very promising at this stage?!?!

he should call up he striker that we developed reon nelson

JAMBOY (9/25/2006)<U>THIS IS BOGUS</U> Why does club requirement take precedent over national requirements? Am I the only one that feel that this is wayyyyyyyy out of line. No one could ever tell me that I needed to forgo playing for my country soI can fulfill the needs of my club <U>NEVER.</U> That's a rule I couldn't obey. Love and respect.
                          Look like yuh don't like a place to live and food to eat?