Concacaf's 3rd spot....

It is my belief that the mind-set goes with the reasoning. That the bigger the better. Hence some of the forumites believe that we are not at the stage where we can challenge Mexico or the US for 1st or 2nd place in the Hex.
    I believe that the US has more respect for the Reggae Boyz than any other Caribbean team. So what do the forumites think runs through the mind of the US player when he knows he coming to the Office to play us. Big or not the US player and even the average American fan on more than one occasion has stated that they pray they leave our shores with a draw. Because they can easily get 3 points from all the other Caribbean teams, including T&T.

Originally posted by Jamaica2099 View Post

It is my belief that the mind-set goes with the reasoning. That the bigger the better. Hence some of the forumites believe that we are not at the stage where we can challenge Mexico or the US for 1st or 2nd place in the Hex.
      I believe that the US has more respect for the Reggae Boyz than any other Caribbean team. So what do the forumites think runs through the mind of the US player when he knows he coming to the Office to play us. Big or not the US player and even the average American fan on more than one occasion has stated that they pray they leave our shores with a draw. Because they can easily get 3 points from all the other Caribbean teams, including T&T.
      The US and Mexico has respect for their Concacaf opponents but it doesn't mean they fear them. What they fear is our style of football which has more to do wid our physical approach to the game than anything else. Caribbean teams tend to play that way by default. Not saying we don't have talent but we also have physical aggressiveness too when we tackle our opponents.

The Mexicans were afraid of the Soca Warriors after the defender Elcock broke the legs of Cuatehmoc Blanco a few years back. They respect Jamaica because they know its always tough to play us at home but they don't fear us.

Originally posted by GaryD View Post
        ...Which would mean that skillfull and creative is not all that we chalk it up to be; at least not for us. I think the US is a very effective and efficient team. They are good at a number of things for which we have historically been weak: marking, team play, technical abilities, set plays (defending and executing), etc. Also we cannot forget the aforementioned statement of depth.
        Well I am expecting good teaching/coaching team and a hungry set of REGGAE BOYZ who will play TEAM for 91 minutes for each 90 minute match.

Anyway, we can postulate all we want about the final six and the eventual meeting with the US. However, given where we will end up when we make it past Bahamas/BVI, I am concerned that we will struggling and might not make it to the hex.

Guidance
        Here is where I am dying inside. We shall struggle to create TEAM in the short 30 - (a stretch, the group will be together for a much shorter period...combined number of days, but one lives in hope ) - or so training days before qualifiers.

That short training period means we shall struggle! A TEAM (a minnow) catching us on an off day...a day such as the 2nd match we played recently i.e. vs Guatemala...and, it could be curtains!

Unfortuntely we are in the current untenable position because of previous mismanagement and therefore of having our competitive matches be more of training games/'striving to make TEAM' matches than any other thing!

As you rightly stressed qualifying at each phase as we progress is vital. ...but, we also have to, in that same period/over the course of that time, move our disjointed, disorganised, unfocused...ignorant of what is TEAMplay group into that 91 minute playing exceptional TEAM aggregation, that if it qualifies, will go on to represent selves, TEAM, country and the fanz as TOP WORLD football team!

They have it to do...and, they should die trying to be the very best they can be!

that is true...but the cups have their name on it and nothing or no-one can change that...they won a tournament, the EUROS with teams like italy, spain, france, germany, holland and portugal ...not a one off match.

As a man thinketh so is he and mi a watch the one Warlord round here

Anyman who automatically puts himself in an inferior position a move suspect to me

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rwo36Z5N7kk

one game at a time. lets worry about bvi or bahamas before we jump to the hex.

3rd spot

The 3rd spot for concacaf is up for grabs. Only mexico and USA is guarantee a spot in 2010.

Jamaica is going to need excessive discipline as a team in order to succeed.

Nobody is mentioning Canada and trinidad. Do not be fooled by our 2 wins over under 21 players recently. Guadeloupe would be a good test for us.

We need two wingbacks who can played on the left and the right. They must be tall,strong,fast , skilful and hard tackling. They must be able to play on the right and the left. We also need a hard tackling midfielder ,fast,skilfull,good aerially, good with both feet and a work horse. We should recruit the midfielder who was with Marlon King at Watford when they were in the premiership.

Our wingbacks options is our weakest area and until we fix that we not even going to the airport for world cup 2010.

My team so far.

Goalkeeper - Ricketts,Mccallum,Kerr

Centre half - Shavar Thomas, Claude Davis and Oneil Thompson

Left defender - ?
                Right Defender -Marshall - closest - still looking.

Midfielders -
                Bibi,Fabian Taylor ,Campbell ryce - Still looking for a midfield general.

Strikers - Luton Shelton and Marlon King - Also looking for a stronger left sided striker.

Specialist players in time of need - Pepe, Nosworthy,Fuller,Jermain Hue,Onandi Lowe and Sean frazer.

that is true...but the cups have their name on it and nothing or no-one can change that...they won a tournament, the EUROS with teams like italy, spain, france, germany, holland and portugal ...not a one off match.

Yes but ask yourself this....why dem couldn't qualify fi Germany after that?

The answer....it was infact a one off. They did beat some good teams but that was down to strategy more than talent. If you look back at the games, they played the more a defensive counter attacking game. That means they sat back and absorbed lots of pressure for most of the 90 minutes of football. There was no creativity from that team and alot of people argued that they played anti-football. They probably wouldn't qualify for the WC and another European tourney for the next decade or so.

yes..but they have a prestigious tournament trophy to their name....question.....which would you rather to always qualify for the WC or to win it once?

[quote=Shatta;65089]

As a man thinketh so is he and mi a watch the one Warlord round here

Anyman who automatically puts himself in an inferior position a move suspect to me

Its not a matter of putting an inferior spin on the team. Im just more realistic than most of you people that cannot see the reality. You are somehow trying to convince me that we are on the level of teams like USA and Mexico when they've qualified for more consecutive WCs than we have. So if we're that good, then we haven't we done the same?

Do you not see how flawed your theory is? If we were on their level we surely wouldn't have one appearance now would we? I'm not saying that we can't get there one day, but right now we are no where near either nation in terms of being a serious favourite everytime. Its a work in progress.

Here's the facts, the US have come along way in terms of their football development since they hosted the WC in 94. They've invested heavily in their football programs at all levels and they also have the MLS which has produced some of their NT players. You have to give them some credit, because we have been somewhat stagnant since we went to France in 98.

Until we can invest and develop our young players and football programs consistently albeit in a more professional manner...ie, better coaching, dieting, nutrition, conditioning etc we will have problems. And why is it none of our NPL teams have never won a Concacaf club title ever? What ever happenned to us taking that extra step forward after '98?

If you look at the truth as being "inferior" then you are the onre who's "suspect".

And if you think we've always been 'that good' by all means explain why they've qualified for consecutive WCs since then and why we have never beaten them in WC qualifying ever.
                      Last edited by Warlord; November 28, 2007, 03:44 PM.

Originally posted by thedread View Post

one game at a time. lets worry about bvi or bahamas before we jump to the hex.
                        I've said this before. If we cannot beat Bahamas or BVI then we do not belong in the WC.

They have no football pedigree like we do. What are we gonna do next...worry about beating St Maarten or Aruba if we were drawn against them?

Originally posted by No Mercy View Post
                          The 3rd spot for concacaf is up for grabs. Only mexico and USA is guarantee a spot in 2010.

Jamaica is going to need excessive discipline as a team in order to succeed.

Nobody is mentioning Canada and trinidad. Do not be fooled by our 2 wins over under 21 players recently. Guadeloupe would be a good test for us.

We need two wingbacks who can played on the left and the right. They must be tall,strong,fast , skilful and hard tackling. They must be able to play on the right and the left. We also need a hard tackling midfielder ,fast,skilfull,good aerially, good with both feet and a work horse. We should recruit the midfielder who was with Marlon King at Watford when they were in the premiership.

Our wingbacks options is our weakest area and until we fix that we not even going to the airport for world cup 2010.

My team so far.

Goalkeeper - Ricketts,Mccallum,Kerr

Centre half - Shavar Thomas, Claude Davis and Oneil Thompson

Left defender - ?
                          Right Defender -Marshall - closest - still looking.

Midfielders -
                          Bibi,Fabian Taylor ,Campbell ryce - Still looking for a midfield general.

Strikers - Luton Shelton and Marlon King - Also looking for a stronger left sided striker.

Specialist players in time of need - Pepe, Nosworthy,Fuller,Jermain Hue,Onandi Lowe and Sean frazer.

No Mercy,

At least you see the exact things I see as far as the USA and Mexico being guaranteed a spot in SA.

And yea the 3rd spot is a battle that the boyz can win because the lock the Costa Ricans had on it is over.

And why is there no mention of Gardner? Don't you think he's a solid defender (wing back) that can contribute to our attack. He should be in the team.

He still has alot to offer to this team.

aaaaaaah bwoy when are they going to Believe in themselves?

okay question

How long and how many games does it take to implement a system of play to players who are familiar with each other style of play but play different system for their clubs?

How hard is it for these players to adjust to a new system of player and believe in it?

Links to experts on the subject or prior discussions on this topic in any forums would be helpful

any instructional soccer video on youtube would be welcome.

Here is one I found so let us all decide to work on this problem? Is that cool?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wIpyz...eature=related

Let us seek the TRUTH. Any objections to that?

Chief Servant to the streets

respect

Originally posted by Shatta View Post
                              aaaaaaah bwoy when are they going to Believe in themselves?

okay question

How long and how many games does it take to implement a system of play to players who are familiar with each other style of play but play different system for their clubs?

How hard is it for these players to adjust to a new system of player and believe in it?

Links to experts on the subject or prior discussions on this topic in any forums would be helpful

any instructional soccer video on youtube would be welcome.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wIpyz...eature=related

Chief Servant to the streets

respect

I see you haven't addressed any of my questions in my previous post? Why is that?

[quote=Shatta;65281]aaaaaaah bwoy when are they going to Believe in themselves?

okay question

Not sure about how long it takes, but the US and other Euro nations suffer the same consequences with players that don't play in their domestic leagues, so this is a not an excuse.

Again this is relative to the player or players involved. It isn't unheard of international football today.

Why would it be helpful to you or me. Do we play for the NT? That's the coaches, trainer's job to address that with the players.

Why do we (you and me) have to work on the problem. I don't get it? We're not the players or coaching staff. Its their job. The purpose of this board is discuss/have opinions on what can make us better and improve in Concacaf in the long run.

Always an advocate for it. It starts with a foundation which we don't currently have, yet we think we have the finished product that can easily beat teams who already have that foundation.