One thing the US and Mexico must
    note: Ja has improved in the finishing Dept. hence our scoreline
    is now 3-0, 2-0 zip and so forth. Looking at the two games Ja played recently it will be no walk in the park. ES got the stronger JA team. I think the Priof will work to ccordinate our D with our mid collasping on it once we there is an attack on it. Tappa did not use flank attacks, which is good because we have players like Garfiled Reid to do it and the US and Mexico hasn't seen that aspect of our game.

It takes a very intelligent and fit wing backs to go forward and support our D at the same time. Look at Danny alves when ever he plays for Brasil and goes forward he exposes Lucio on the flanks the minute Lcuio leaves his kingdom (right now I don't any central D that can read and steal the ball as lucio in the 18) runs to the flanks Brasil is vulnerable (see Portugal and Mexico game). It takes speed and alertness to cover these grounds in the age of counter attacks. Let's see what the Prof. brings

interesting. completely contrasting opinions. we'll see.....

we won one game there...ES first win on central american soil. panama also beat us at home...

Warlord, a part of your problem is that you do not realize that the game is played on the field, not on paper. I could point you to so many games where the stronger team on paper should have prevailed, but they did not. Hey, the last week we say Russia losing to Israel and England to Croatia. If we followed your way, England would have been in the Euro next year.

Mexico have some good players, not even counting Dos Santos and those other young ones. We can still beat them however with good coaching.

I also do not think #1 and 2 positions are guaranted to any team. They will have to work for it and as much as they can be considered fovorites, the game is still played on the field.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

denmark and greece winning the euros is proof of that!

Warlord, a part of your problem is that you do not realize that the game is played on the field, not on paper. I could point you to so many games where the stronger team on paper should have prevailed, but they did not. Hey, the last week we say Russia losing to Israel and England to Croatia. If we followed your way, England would have been in the Euro next year.
            That is true but did this isn't European football. It is Concacaf and realistically every once in a while that happens but not very often. I think one cycle Costa Rica won the hex but how often have they done it?

Most of you aren't realistic about the growth and development of football in Mexico and the US. The US in particular has injected more than 80 million dollars in the development of football since hosting the '94 World Cup, and Mexico has a very solid domestic league if not the best in Concacaf.

Mexico have some good players, not even counting Dos Santos and those other young ones. We can still beat them however with good coaching

Good coaching isn't the only way you can beat your opposition. You do have to have some talent and harness it the right way which takes time and unfortunately we do not have the luxury of the latter.

I also do not think #1 and 2 positions are guaranted to any team. They will have to work for it and as much as they can be considered fovorites, the game is still played on the field.
            Of course they do but it doesn't mean they still won't get now would they. US and Mex virtually have a free pass to the hex. That's when there work really starts. believe me I will guarantee you that either team will not send all their best players to play until then.

denmark and greece winning the euros is proof of that!

you also failed to mention that after the highs of winning Euro 2004, Greece didn't even make it to Germany in 2006. One off situation isn't it and where is Denmark today?

Better yet when was the last time they qualified for the WC

...Which would mean that skillfull and creative is not all that we chalk it up to be; at least not for us. I think the US is a very effective and efficient team. They are good at a number of things for which we have historically been weak: marking, team play, technical abilities, set plays (defending and executing), etc. Also we cannot forget the aforementioned statement of depth.

Anyway, we can postulate all we want about the final six and the eventual meeting with the US. However, given where we will end up when we make it past Bahamas/BVI, I am concerned that we will struggling and might not make it to the hex.

Guidance

Originally posted by GaryD View Post
                  ...Which would mean that skillfull and creative is not all that we chalk it up to be; at least not for us. I think the US is a very effective and efficient team. They are good at a number of things for which we have historically been weak: marking, team play, technical abilities, set plays (defending and executing), etc. Also we cannot forget the aforementioned statement of depth.

Anyway, we can postulate all we want about the final six and the eventual meeting with the US. However, given where we will end up when we make it past Bahamas/BVI, I am concerned that we will struggling and might not make it to the hex.

Guidance

I was just addressing the previous posters point regarding the skill level of past US National teams. You obviously agree with my assessment that they aren't but as a team they play more organised and are more disciplined at defending and man marking. That is an aspect that is missing from our game. The fact that they have better holding defensive midfielders and ball winners is one of the reasons why their defenders rarely ever make mistakes. It takes alot of pressure off their defense when you have solid mids.

They are skilled but in certain areas :shooting (which
                    includes heading) and passing. They are aslo well conditioned and well organized. This is enough to earn them second spot (but the Prof exposed them on the road to France) but not enough to destroy euro teams and S.amrican giants. Creativity is lost and the same goes for talent. Well organized bunch of average players (they may change this soon though).

Originally posted by Warlord View Post
                      And we've never beaten USA in WCQ.
                      Or any game, for that matter.

Didn't our under-20 beat the USA in the CONCACAF WC Qualifiers in Jamaica? Or I guess that does not count as the USA had already qualified.
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Didn't our under-20 beat the USA in the CONCACAF WC Qualifiers in Jamaica? Or I guess that does not count as the USA had already qualified.
                          It was a qualifier for the U-17 WC. And yes, the USA had already qualified before the game kicked off.

But anyway, I was talking about the senior level, where Jamaica has still never beaten the USA in any game.

OK sir, senior level.

It was a qualifier for the U-17 WC. And yes, the USA had already qualified before the game kicked off.
                            And I want to tell you, qualify or not, the USA tried their darned best to maintain that record. Only after the game they consoled themselves that they had qualified before a ball was kicked.

Good point but realistically we cannot challenge Mexico or the US for 1st or second. We are just not on their level yet.
                              totally disagree... if the players share your mindset, then they will not challenge, but i doubt they do...

respect still...

Yea but how often do we do that? How consistent is it? And we've never beaten USA in WCQ.
                                what does that have to do with this upcoming campaign...

It isn't realistic that we can have two major scalps in one cycle.
                                isn't realistic to who? bredrin, yuh affi leggo the defeatist mentality...