RIcketts

• RIcketts

Anyone noticew the difference between Ricketts' keeping and McAllum and Kerr. Rickets nuh learn nutten ah Englan'!
    None of our plays were developed from back and through our midfield. Only the big kicks which for the most parts are won by the opposition.

I hope Tappa will not be biased and know to bench his ass behind the other two keepers.
    Last edited by Tilla; November 23, 2007, 04:17 PM.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I think I would pick McCallum over Ricketts, but I think Kerr will make some of the same mistakes that Ricketts makes.

Mi si yuh bun a small fi pan Ricketts more time but McCallum gi mi a more secure feeling when him inna goal fi real. Mi nuh know but is sumpn bout McCallum when him inna di goal. Him come fi a ball nearly pan di 18 inna di Elsalvador match dat was some good decision making.

Si wha mi say bout that heediot Ricketts. No one can talk sense into the dummy. DONT KICK WHEY THE BALL!! Wha part a dat him cant understand. If Mcallum was in goal, the game would've been much more entertaining. Our midfield would be much more involved. Tappa, PLEASE!! Wi a BEG Yuh!! Get rid of Ricketts for good!!

i think ricketts admire watching the ball way up in the air and deep down the field from his kicks... although, his kicks aside, he wasnt that bad either... made a great reflex save off a header that was judged offside which looked good on the replay... he started a few posessions with his wing backs and made a few good throws... overall, he wasn't that bad in my opinion...

Its a mental issue with Ricketts. Get him a specialist and a motivator and in one year he would be in the top league in England

His problem is belief and confidence

As a man thinketh so is he

ricketts still nuh commanding in im box iya...dat is his big flaw...if he were only to learn to dominate is box...confidence will come with decision making also

dats why him nuh role out the ball dem, dats why him always a kick it out...im fraid

Anyone noticew the difference between Ricketts' keeping and McAllum and Kerr. Rickets nuh learn nutten ah Englan'!
                None of our plays were developed from back and through our midfield. Only the big kicks which for the most parts are won by the opposition.

I hope Tappa will not be biased and know to bench his ass behind the other two keepers.
                His delivery was awful and his ball handling did not inspire confidence.

Notice his 'dropping' of the high ball when under no pressure...all by himself...and, his reluctance (never once) to cut out the high ball in his penalty-area?

I am convinced that the youngster who keep in the first part of the first match - McCallum - is miiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiles ahead of him as a 'keeper! ...and, Kerr is also a better option.

Ricketts, while having the greatest physical attributes, continues to disappoint me. He is 6-4 and runs the hundred in under 11 seconds yet he fails to dominate his box. I've known him personally for years, even played against him on campus, he doesn't have the personality to be dominating. Spoon (Mccallum) is far more confident, and it shows in his game. His use of the ball is also far better. It comes down to mindset. we will never be able to change Ricketts'. Hes a shot-stopper not a complete Goal keeper. Spoon wll surpasss him.

Originally posted by Rico View Post
                    Ricketts, while having the greatest physical attributes, continues to disappoint me. He is 6-4 and runs the hundred in under 11 seconds yet he fails to dominate his box. I've known him personally for years, even played against him on campus, he doesn't have the personality to be dominating. Spoon (Mccallum) is far more confident, and it shows in his game. His use of the ball is also far better. It comes down to mindset. we will never be able to change Ricketts'. Hes a shot-stopper not a complete Goal keeper. Spoon wll surpasss him.
                    I hear yuh, sah!
                    As what I saw in the match against Guatemala merely reinforced my opinion of Ricketts' short-comings as 'keeper. great shot-stopper...but, alround lousy keeper.

Saw the youngster in a few matches before...and, he appears, even at this stage, far better 'keeper than Ricketts.

is it beyond our mental capacity to have sports pyschologists in Jamaica?

Then again how you ago tell someone to believe in themselves if you don't

We are too far from the players and in this day and age we need to have them close so that we can groom them

The diaspora ago save dem!

respect

As what I saw in the match against Guatemala merely reinforced my opinion of Ricketts' short-comings as 'keeper. great shot-stopper...but, alround lousy keeper.
                        Some may be comfortable with the result because we beat Guatemala. I think against a stronger team, we would see greater effects of the impact of Ricketts' game on our game. For one, better teams are going to spank us if we keep gifting the ball so often. Did you guys noticed that Guatemala eventually realized that they only have to stay back as Ricketts is only going to boot the ball high in the air and into their area. The action meant it could be a 50/50 opportunity for the attacking team (Jamaica) or the defensive (Guatemala).

For the 5 years now Ricketts is in England, his game should have matured beyond the level it is right now. but then, why should we expect it to. His team got demoted from League 1 to League 2 and they are currently close to the relegation zone of League 2. This says he is not only playing on a bad team, but the quality of the coaching might be suspect too. I cannot see a good coach allowing his goalkeepeer to continue like this and not correct it.

All I can say, McAllum demonstrated all what Ricketts had and more. A far more complete and competent Gk in my estimation.

If you ask me to rank the goalkeepers from Jamaica now based on what I have seen, here is how I would list them:
                        1) McAllum
                        2) Sawyers
                        3) Kerr
                        4) Ricketts
                        5) Whittaker

I have not seen much of Whittaker recently to make a call on his keeping so I will not put him above Ricketts. I am telling you though, I would be comfortable with any of the three I have listed ahead of Ricketts in my goal.
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Some may be comfortable with the result because we beat Guatemala. I think against a stronger team, we would see greater effects of the impact of Ricketts' game on our game. For one, better teams are going to spank us if we keep gifting the ball so often. Did you guys noticed that Guatemala eventually realized that they only have to stay back as Ricketts is only going to boot the ball high in the air and into their area. The action meant it could be a 50/50 opportunity for the attacking team (Jamaica) or the defensive (Guatemala).

For the 5 years now Ricketts is in England, his game should have matured beyond the level it is right now. but then, why should we expect it to. His team got demoted from League 1 to League 2 and they are currently close to the relegation zone of League 2. This says he is not only playing on a bad team, but the quality of the coaching might be suspect too. I cannot see a good coach allowing his goalkeepeer to continue like this and not correct it.

All I can say, McAllum demonstrated all what Ricketts had and more. A far more complete and competent Gk in my estimation.

If you ask me to rank the goalkeepers from Jamaica now based on what I have seen, here is how I would list them:
                          1) McAllum
                          2) Sawyers
                          3) Kerr
                          4) Ricketts
                          5) Whittaker

I have not seen much of Whittaker recently to make a call on his keeping so I will not put him above Ricketts. I am telling you though, I would be comfortable with any of the three I have listed ahead of Ricketts in my goal.
                          Whittaker is better than Ricketts!