awright enough of the hype... it was a well needed victory

• awright enough of the hype... it was a well needed victory

by the boyz... great for the program... a few things that stood out to me, a casual observer... bibi scored two goals, great... however, he is definitely out of his league in the middle... too many bad passes to the opponents from bibi... he is not a central midfielder nor a forward... just doesn't have those skills... without those goals, his performance was ordinary...

the kid austin is a find... played under control, made himself available and was generally a good decision maker... shavar thomas appears to be making a move to secure his spot to africa... worked well with marshall in the center of defense... marshall had a decent game as well... except for a few miscues in passing out of defense, he was steady in this game...

i am not sold with the shelton/fuller combination... they just dont seem to be working together as a team consistently... seems as if they were too intent of scoring and made selfish plays trying to go it alone when there were other passing options... the same could be said for campbell-rice... he took a shot when he could have passed to a trailing teammate for an easy shot on goal... fuller could have also scored when he chose power instead of direction on an off balance shot to the bleachers...

not enough quality crosses from the boyz... we still play too direct through the middle and often lose the ball at the top of the area... was not impressed with our flank play...

the team, in spots passed the ball around to the open man and had some nice short pass combinations... however, it was not nearly enough...
    a dat mi si... no hype just real talk...

glad fi tappa dat him get the win... i could see some of his possession style on the team, especially from austin...

Austin is no find bigman, he has been here a long time, he was in that Under 15 team that went to Germany a few years ago and has played at every level, captained the team in Haiti the other day (even thought I think it was a mistake that) and several clubs in England have eyes on him

Dem live a farin, sickko. Never mind that I have been bigging him up since his U-20 days when he played right back. He went thru some tough times after that - back and knee injuries - so good to see him back.

Must admit, I didn't know of him at the U-15 level. Which U-15 team went to Germany??!?!

Sorry, just double checked the facts and it was an Under 18 team that went to Germany under WD in 2004, Shelton was on that team as well.

calm yuhself sickko ... a nuh de fuss mi see or hear bout austin... mi seh him is a find for de role weh him a play pon de team as it move towards africa... mosiah did dun a big him up from long time to boot...

suh wha, tru mi nuh tell yuh bout mi 'sources' dem a jamaica... yuh gwaan... anyway, a juss tru as mi live a farin, mi nuh waan talk like mi know everyting weh a gwaan a yawd... cause mi dont... mi wudda rawda man like you share de intelligence wid wi...

anyway mo dun know de program... mi live a farin but mi nuh tuh jamaica runnins...

mo... weh yuh tink bout bibi inna de middle... mi want hear your take pon de midfield...

sickko... yuh a lose yuh cred slowly... get de facts right specially when yuh a karek peeple...

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                by the boyz... great for the program... a few things that stood out to me, a casual observer... bibi scored two goals, great... however, he is definitely out of his league in the middle... too many bad passes to the opponents from bibi... he is not a central midfielder nor a forward... just doesn't have those skills... without those goals, his performance was ordinary...

the kid austin is a find... played under control, made himself available and was generally a good decision maker... shavar thomas appears to be making a move to secure his spot to africa... worked well with marshall in the center of defense... marshall had a decent game as well... except for a few miscues in passing out of defense, he was steady in this game...

i am not sold with the shelton/fuller combination... they just dont seem to be working together as a team consistently... seems as if they were too intent of scoring and made selfish plays trying to go it alone when there were other passing options... the same could be said for campbell-rice... he took a shot when he could have passed to a trailing teammate for an easy shot on goal... fuller could have also scored when he chose power instead of direction on an off balance shot to the bleachers...

not enough quality crosses from the boyz... we still play too direct through the middle and often lose the ball at the top of the area... was not impressed with our flank play...

the team, in spots passed the ball around to the open man and had some nice short pass combinations... however, it was not nearly enough...
                a dat mi si... no hype just real talk...

glad fi tappa dat him get the win... i could see some of his possession style on the team, especially from austin...
                That's all I am saying, baddaz. Not going to get caught up unnecessary hype. Yes, the program is back, kind of, and the fans are excited. That certainly has its place in the scheme of things. But let's examine other things while we are at it.

Here are my observations:

Fuller and JJ cannot make my side. Shelton and Capbell-Ryce are trying hard not to make my side. Running at defences DOES NOT WORK. Which team or players RUN AT DEFENCES like our Boyz? Does Arsenal do it? Does Brazil do it? Does Thierry Henry do it? Does Kaka do it? Does Robinho do it? Okay, does Robinho do it as much as Fuller?

Explain this: how does Shrek get a call up to the national side when he is not the starting goalkeeper for Portmore? Just asking.

Demar Phillips needs to settle down if he really wants to take anyone's place. The almost wild running is not helping TEAM. There is a thing as supporting the ball too much if shape breaks down. Still, good, even great work rate! Should be a fixture on almost any Reggae Boyz squad. Another excellent St. Thomas product.

Can't wait for Pepe to take his place on the defence line!

Oneil Thompson not safe enuff to run the defensive midfield and too predictable in my view. However, I don't see Fouly coming back for that position! But early days yet. He does seem rather promising.

Stew Peas? Didn't get a chance to confirm my opinion that he cannot make my side.

Good to see goalies with brains.

Excellent debut win for Tappa!!!

I thought the midfield was busy without a purpose, 3 goals notwithstanding. If the midfield's purpose is to provide forwards with goal-scoring opportunities, I think they failed. But they didn't fail on their own. The forwards, the two seals named Fuller and Shelton need to recognize!

The energy was good, from them all, but it's not an Energizer All Star team. JJ cannot mek my side, nah stop say suh! And Fuller needs to be uncalled!

Yes, they team hasn't gelled yet but some of the individual skills disapointed me, especially from some of these players with farin contracts. Why is Austin looking better than so many of them? I thought there was no talent in Jamaica? They had challenges with their decision-making in my view.

Rating 7 of out of 10, mainly because they were the best of the 3 units, not counting the goalie dept.

I agree with most of what you say except regarding Bibi. At first I felt the same way. But on second thouhgt I realize that if you are present to receive alot of balls and make a lot of passes you will have more bad passes than someone who does not consistenly present themslevs but makes a few spectacular passes. I suspect that if we counted passes Bibi's actual error rate is probably quite low. Not to mentioned he scored twice. Combined well with Demar Phillips, worked both sides of the pitch well and generally lowed showed leadership on the field.

At left back I always worried about his recovery from his overlaps. But I think he has room now to work just as effectively in the middle.

As for Campbell-Rice, another wokr-horse that can be directed by the right coach.

JJ has had a tendency to just put his head down and run every ball forward. Last night he showed the two most lacking traits in JKan ball vision and decision making to find Bibi on the last goal.

This is very usxe raw material for a good coach to work with.

Our best is yet to come.

maybe i didnt say this... i like bibi's workrate... he gives us a good option from the midfield, i still don't believe he is a playmaker from the middle of the pitch in the congestion... not taking anything from bibi's leadership, effort and commitment... a specialist is needed there to supply the forwards and maintain possession and tempo...

JJ need fi prepare fi come back a Tivoli if that's how intends to play ball. Nah reach nowhey wid dem kinda ball game deh him a display. The shiffin nice fi watch but damn, him cant follow Shelton lead, Shiff den pass!!! Not Shiff den shiff!!