Jamaica recalls Goodison?

tyrone marshall is "much younger"?

Well... I guess he probably means ''much'' as in 721 days.

Granny will be 33 this Tuesday (Nov 12); Pepe will be 35 9 days later (Nov 21).
      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

ok then...much!

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
          Goodison continues to perform at a very high level
          Where you get to watch DIVISION 12 English Football games?

Tilla nuh realize say mi a mout him. Seriously, it might be a retirement game to honor some of the vets at half-time. Anyway with his vast knowledge & experience we fi try and get him involved in someway with football.

Waste of time, this is the kind of reasoning he carries on, I would not say Jawge but I would say he compares with karl with this type of reasoning.

Some people will go to any lengths to make a point, even when there is no point to make.

I will only say this. Using two stoppers in Claude Davis and Stew Peas has been a diaster. They are out of sync as none of them know when to tackle and when to stay back. Pepe going to prove you wrong. Although he is slow he has the basics better than any one of them and them ca't head like him, can't mark like him and can't read the game like him. It is not like Tappa, it is more like Dwight Yorke. Let me ask you if that is the way I am reasoning then how you mentioning MLS players and NPL players into this? Unnu use certain reasoning to justify unnu reasoning but when others use the same thing them a talk crap.

All I can say is Pepe going to prove unnu wrong.

how will he be a liabilty? Has Claude and Stew Peas been real assets lately? If they were there would be no reason to recall the giant.

Why the fuss? I thought this was a friendly...the first in a long time. Nothing wrong with Goodison getting a look. He has been doing very good for his club and I don't want see why we wouldn't support his call-up. He will have the chance to prove himself and for the coaching staff to determine if he should still be apart of their plans. There will be other games and opportunties for others to stake their claim...let's see what the man can do before writing him off

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                      Tilla nuh realize say mi a mout him. Seriously, it might be a retirement game to honor some of the vets at half-time. Anyway with his vast knowledge & experience we fi try and get him involved in someway with football.
                      Why do you run from what you said earlier?
                      The truth is most of us here do not know at what level most of our players in the English Leagues are performing.

Goodison and our other players in these lower than EPL divisions can only be judged by what we discover in the press and share with each other here.

It is my understanding that over the last 2 seasons Goodison has been thought of by his coach/manager as 'the rock' of his defense. That would suggest that besides any others in the EPL he is among our best defenders.

The truth is Tilla, inspite of his infrequent words to contrary, says one of the key determinants he uses to assess players' worth is the age of the player. That I think is a mistake. Players should be judged solely on ability to perform - i.e. judged on performances.

If Pepe is our best...or one of our best! That is it! ...matters not if he is 1,000 years old!

I do not know if Pepe is worthy of a call. I leave that to those with information on his performances.

One thing I can say - I hope to God the Claude Davis we are seeing will play 5 times better than he performs for the his EPL team when he puts on the REGGAE BOYZ shirt. As he plays for his EPL team...in the context of where we want our TEAM REGGAE BOYZ to be performing...he is downright AWFUL!
                      Last edited by Karl; November 11, 2007, 12:06 PM.

This is what age does to you. And when you think of it, Tyrone is still younger than Pepe. I think Pepe would be a liability to the team right now. We have enough younger and upcoming defenders that we do not need to try resurrecting Pepe from the dead.
                        If we use those Bora put on display - They are worse than awful! I watched the match against Sweden at the venue...and, the number of times the Swedes ran through our defense appeared as if it were in the 'billions'...that the Swedes missed sitters and other clear chances in double figures is not in doubt!

Perhaps, Bora had kept the local up-and-coming defenders home to spring on us as surprise weapons?

Is Goodison playing professionally ?

If so, why would be accept a call to play in 'Masters League' on Sunday..

So why do you leave out the younger Shavar Thomas and Tyrone Marshall? Anyway, unuh bring on Pepe.
                            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Tyrone is two years younger.
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Yuh mek sense Plush. Let us give the man a look.