Jamaica recalls Goodison?

• Jamaica recalls Goodison?

Looks like Burrell is serious about trying to recapture the 1995 feel...

Him can serve as a mentor to the up & coming defenders.

Nonsense! This is a retrogressive step as Pepe has lost it. Anyway, mek the Captain and Simoes do their thing. Might as well recall Steve malcolm too.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Yuh chatting hog wash! Goodison is miles ahead of any local defender at his age.

I could be talking hogwash and I hope I am proven wrong. When was the last time you see Goodison play?
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

and those defenders at his age are not being called up for national duties they are playing Masters league on Sunday mornings ...I wonder if Theodore will be player/coach and will put his name on the team sheet?

Not a big fan of the current Pepe, but do we really have that many Central defenders that are ahead of him??

I would still pick Pepe over Taylor from H. View.

Out side of Jamaica Claude Davis & Nyron Nosworthy (EPL), Damion Stewart (Championship), Oniel Thompson (Norway), Shavar Thomas (Chivas, MLS) and Tyrone Marshall (Toronto, MLS). Those are the ones I can think of right now who are much younger. I am sure there are those who can give us others out of Jamaica.

believe it or not Pepe is still our best sweeper. Only other sweepers we have is Shavar and Tyrone. Figet Claude and Stew Peas playing that position, them leak too much and too hot headed, don't read the game well. None read the game as good as Pepe, Tyrone maybe better physically but Shavar has not gotten the oppurtunity to develop over the last 3 years in that role. So if we a use sweeper then why not Pepe?

and you have seen Pepe play how many times in the last five years?

Pepe is constant and playing at a high standard with his team and getting player of the year. He is contributing well to his team and even scoring. It is not that I haven't seen Pepe, it is the fact that I have seen Claude and Stew Peas too many times and picking up 5 and 6.

Out side of Jamaica Claude Davis & Nyron Nosworthy (EPL), Damion Stewart (Championship), Oniel Thompson (Norway), Shavar Thomas (Chivas, MLS) and Tyrone Marshall (Toronto, MLS). Those are the ones I can think of right now who are much younger. I am sure there are those who can give us others out of Jamaica.
                        I agree with those.

I am a bit concerned with Tyrone Marshall. Although he is still reading the game better each year, I am noticing a big drop off in his reaction speed.

Hopefully the professional environment has done wonders for Oneil Thompson.

It is not that I haven't seen Pepe, it is the fact that I have seen Claude and Stew Peas too many times and picking up 5 and 6.
                          Man, such reasoning! Sass, I am not going to call you a Jawge, but how do you compare the games of younger guys like Claude and Stew Peas holding their own in the EPL and Championship with a guy winding down his career in much less competitive leagues like Leagues 2 & 3? For one, you do not see Pepe against the quality players Claude and Stew Peas face week in week out.

If they pick up 5 and 6 from the teams they play against, can you imagine what a Tranamere side would get from an EPL or Championship side?

Frankly, I think Pepe is way over the hill and as much as he might be able to play in the league he is right now, I am not sure he could keep up with the rigors of the best leagues in England.

You cannot make the comparisons as you are doing. You have to compare apples with apples.

I am a bit concerned with Tyrone Marshall. Although he is still reading the game better each year, I am noticing a big drop off in his reaction speed.
                            This is what age does to you. And when you think of it, Tyrone is still younger than Pepe. I think Pepe would be a liability to the team right now. We have enough younger and upcoming defenders that we do not need to try resurrecting Pepe from the dead.

Mi can't believe mi eyes what yuh writing on this forum. Goodison continues to perform at a very high level, and he reads the game very well. He has likely started every game for his club over the last couple of years, and can still contribute to our success in world cup qualifying and beyond.