Build Stadiums? Build Artificial Surfaces!

• Build Stadiums? Build Artificial Surfaces!

Horace Burrell's plans to build a 10,000 seat stadium in each parish is unrealistic.

The rains that have ravaged Jamaica will no doubt take its toll on the local pitches. The weather has cleared, but the fields are still muddy, and will
    undoubtedly get mashed into horrible condition.

Instead of building empty seats, here is my plan.

Phase 1: Select one facility in each confederation and install a QUALITY ARTIFICIAL PLAYING SURFACE.

My choices: Eastern: Drax Hall. South Central: Prison Oval. KSAFA: Stadium East Western: Catherine Hall.

Phase 2: Install a second artificial playing surface, at an existing facility for each confederation, in different parishes within the confederation.

Phase 3. Install one artificial surface in each of the remaining parishes.

Phase 4. Identify which facilities where local fans regularly attend matches, but overflow the seating capacity. Expand seating where needed, or constructing a new facility.

You know something I think they should do Bruce? They should push to get the Catherine Hall stadium finished and in international playing condition. This would give the federation an added third quality locaton to host international games (the second being Trelawny).

I think the whole talk of putting in a stadium in each parish is all talk. The Captain in his last spell in office made the comment that it is not the JFF's responsibility to provide stadia, so he would not be doing that.

Anyway, finish the Catherine Hall stadium and give fans in Western Jamaica a quality location to host international games.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I am still not yet sold on artificial turfs; especially in tropical areas where grass is easily grown. The only place in Jamaica where one could probably argue the need to put artificial turf is Portland, because of its frequent rainfall throughout the year.

I would agree though, that while it's very costly to put a stadium in each parish, the JFF (or the PLCA) in association with the ministry of sports should think of putting a stadium in each Confed. KSAFA already has its fair share with The Office, Compound, Jungle, Drews Land, Eddie Seaga, and to a lesser extent - Constant Spring.

The location at Prison Oval is too small and the space is literally cramped. Instead, that Confed should think of partnering the Murrays (Brandon and Courtney) to upgrade Brancourt.

The Catherine Hall project is excellent and now only needs enclosure, seating, press room, bathrooms and concess. stands.

Drax Hall should be upgraded, no doubt. It has the space and it has a history. A fully upgraded Drax Hall would serve St Ann and Western St Mary.

Ferdie Neita Park in Portmore should get the necessary help. With the two Horaces in power, I expect to see the park fully laid out.

In Portland, Lynch Park and Carder Park should get the necessary help. One of the two should be natural grass and the other fitted out with artificial turf.

The field at STETHS should get the full backing of the Ministry Of Sports and upgraded with a view to serving National Leage teams from Manchester, St Elizabeth and Westmoreland. However, it would be nice to also see Frome fitted out to meet JFF regulation standards.

St Thomas needs one too, and I think York Park (the field which the ministry of sports/SDA upgraded a couple years ago) should now get the full financial to take it all the way to get walls, seating, bathrooms etc.

I'm not sure Elletson Wakelands need to be fully upgraded. Instead, it could be used as a practise site. The Trelawny Stadium should be fully considered as the designated stadium in that locale.
      Last edited by Farmah; November 10, 2007, 02:44 PM.
      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

The field at STETHS should get the full backing of the Ministry Of Sports and upgraded with a view to serving National Leage teams from Manchester, St Elizabeth and Westmoreland. However, it would be nice to also see Frome fitted out to meet JFF regulation standards.
        I cannot agree with you on this one Farmah. I think the STETHS field should be left for schoolboy football with the ocassional big game here or there. STETHS still use the same field/facilities for all their other sports including cricket and track & field. To schedule too many outside games there could possibly limit the students from what is really their facility.

When I went to STETHS, there was a community center being built next to the STETHS field. They put up a nice building and had a fairly decent looking football/cricket playing surface in place. Whatever became of that? Did they just allow it to go to ruins?

I am not even sure as to where Catherine Hall is in its development. I was told that money was available under the San Jose Accord to complete a stadium there. From what I understood, work was completed on the first phase and they were to start the second soon. If the money is not coming from government but is available for the project, why is it taking so long to get it done?

Sickko, any word for us on this since you are a man from the west?
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Okay, I understand; and I agree with you.There still is the need however, to have one in a location which can at least serve teams like Los Perfectos or Value P. This then might be one of the occasions where the JFF might have to go out and procure a piece of property for this venture. Westmoreland can use Frome if it gets fully upgraded.
          "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Several years ago, I proposed that Catherine Hall Stadium, then under construction, be renamed STEVE MALCOLM STADIUM.

I think bruce has a point. Artifical (field turf) surface is an option. One factor in Jamaica is that we dont have field rotation and we tend to play year round. In North america we either of some field rotation where we close grass fields and reseed and unplug or we have winters that naturally closes the field for us. In jamaica we have period of good rainfall but we dont have a good system of water trapment and reuse(Westman where are you) So we really dont take advantage of the rainfall and we dont have good drainage on fields so we have mudbowls. Fieldturf gives us that but it is 800k for one and you still need to have very good drainage but it gives you a good predictable surface but keep in mind we are now seeing an increase in non contact injuries with this stuff.

oj... all this talk about field turf and no one is talking about the life expectancy of them... the cost to repair them... playing too many games on them will rapidly deteriorate the quality, then what, they will have to be replaced... and the replacement cost is not cheap... they dont last forever...

ya but we know that the long term const is way cheaper then grass. That study has been done many time over. You dont need to water it, fertilise roll it or areate it. You need regular maintenace which is a bit of sweeping and putting rubber pellets in. But that nothing. We may even create an industry for our use tires and running shoes. That is use to make the pelets. The initial cost is high but maintenance is low and the life is very good.

http://www.sandfordgroup.com/editori.../turfwars.html
                    Last edited by Bricktop; November 12, 2007, 12:06 PM.

Bricktop the only thing I will add is that of Martin ONeal of AVilla was citing a fifa report on injuries on Field Turf in fifa competition. The number of injuries were the same as that of grass overall. However the number of non contact injuries were higher on synthetic turf.

I think the whole talk of putting in a stadium in each parish is all talk. The Captain in his last spell in office made the comment that it is not the JFF's responsibility to provide stadia, so he would not be doing that.
                        Yuh memory good sah!

They last more than 20 years, I believe I read. And as you say, way cheaper than maintaining grass.

I think the non-contact injuries were only marginally higher than on grass, almost insignificant the last time I saw some stats on it.

yeah you are right I think it was like 15% to 25% but some of though are mcl and acls so you know how it is. The severity is greater. Toronto FC had a hard time and some are blaming the turf.

The SDC field is still being used for St Elizabeth FA games, as for Catherine Hall, work has started on the final phase to put in all that is supposed to go i but the rain has stalled everything and holding up progress.

There care two site offices there but the workers cant start anything due to the rain.

The money is there a US$9m loan form a bank in Venezuela, not the government, it was sent to tender a bid awarded to a Venezuelan company as per the agreement and work is to start.