Easy, Burrell, easy-Observer West Column

See we are back to the original point of Simoes' faulures in his first stint, one of his jobs was to create the coaching blue print, go around the country and upgrade coaches.

maybe if he had dont that...even if he did not get the time to go to all 13 FAs or even to the Four Confeds, he could have brought in people, teach them and equip them to go spread the Simoes gospel of coaching and creating club structures.

This is also where the JFF under all the presidents right up to now have failed us badly.

If he had done that then he would be on solid foundation to get rid of the schoolboys system...

How can you project that any teenager will be a star at the next level, Lazie? Or are you trying too hard to prove a point? I can name hundreds of phenoms in almost every sport right here in Jamaica who never made it to the next level and you say with authority that Byron Earle would have been a star if he had been given the chance in a profesional set up.
      How were scouts able to project that a Lionel Messi had potential to make it in the big leagues? The same can be asked about Cesc Fabregas, Obi Mikel, Dos Santos to name a few? I guess those scouts were not going off tradition?

We a waste each other time Sickko. You a deal with traditions, mi a deal with reality yet you refuse to see that the traditional way isn't working.
      Last edited by Lazie; November 8, 2007, 01:55 PM.

Yuh mekking too much sense now, sickko.

I think at the end, Simoes would have realised that the club thing would remain ineffective for far too long, better to work with the schools. Not to say that you wouldn't get the club structure going, but we would have to work with the schools for the near future.

Come with real solutions, Lazie. Yes, the traditional way is not very effective. What do we do?

And what steps can we take to address that? I think those steps are few.
            Mek the youth dem guh a school guh learn. I've said it here before, like the NPL, centralize the DI and DII leagues instead of having one for every parish. Then allow each parish associations to concentrate on youth development.

Don't ask me where the money is going to come from. How much money Milo or D&G or whoever sponsor the D cup and Manning Cup with? They could start there. I heard Stewart Stephenson talking on Real Business about how much money he raised to sponsor youth leagues. The problem is, not all parishes are doing it.

not fair mosiah? They may not have the ability to take local players to brazil for 3 weeks but they could do something else.

ok but you see we are saying the same thing, and I think Rene was "trying to say" school boy football is not the answer because it does a fraction of what a youth program should. The problem is in Jamaica most thing school boy football is the best thing and don't realise that we leave development to it and its for a selected few. Thus I understand simoes point however he needed to contextualize it.

easy each fa must have a u13, U14, u16 parish league or you loose parish fa status. Why is the hanover fa a fa.. Really other than there masters pickup side what is happening. Same for some others

Tell me I am wrong - Schools as conduit for footballers

Tell me I did not see a number of persons in a thread that making use of "our schoolboy system" as means through which we develop young football talent is a 'chupidness'?

Questions: Where else can you find such a large pool of our talented youngsters?

Captive situation - captive inquisitive eager to learn kids?

Playfields - that a financially weak FA does not...or financially weak clubs do not have to expend funds for upkeep?

Some with gyms? ...all with indoor facilities for classroom teaching?

Change rooms? Bathroom facilities?

Teachers (Physical Education) who could be upgraded as coaches?

School system where house system and or form system could be channeled to intra-school competitive structures to isolate best of the best talent...and, have those receive specialist teaching/coaching both within and without the schools?

School system that identifies via inter-school rivalry a further narrowing into very best of the very best...for specialists teaching/coacahing at Parish, then Confed...through to national structure?

All the above and more called "waste"?

Tell me I did not see some otherwise sensible persons talking that crap!

I wonder why the schools constantly call for upgrade in teaching/coaching of their T&F athletes by JAAA trained and or facilitated greater trained coaches and or GC Foster trained caoches to improve on the T&F product?

Ever wondered why the JFF leaders have not done the same thing? ...perhaps, like those in that thread, they also think it is a waste?
                    Last edited by Karl; November 8, 2007, 04:42 PM.

dont get rid of the schoolboy system but put less emphasis or importance in it.

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                        dont get rid of the schoolboy system but put less emphasis or importance in it.
                        Dem can keep it all dem want, the better players should be in a more advanced youth system then.

Which schoolboy league Messi and dem others play?

Well if you nuh believe what yuh read, whats the use? Did we need a new thread for this?

Something is wrong with me this week. This is going to be the second time in one week that I am going to agree with Sickko............and Mo. Mr. President I have to disagree with on this one. There is nothing wrong with us having a strong high school football league/competition. That's the genesis of our football and it will always be so. What the authorities should look at is how to enhance it. High school football and pro/national football should be viewed as two separate entities and as such, ISSA has no obligations to have their competitions act as a feeder program to the clubs and the national programs. If that was the case, then they may as well scrap all high school sports. While they are at it, they may as well scrap the debate competition, because it's not adding any value to our public or private sectors. The point is, it's the JFF's responsibilty to develop Jamaica's football. They can work with the clubs to develop their youth programs. They can work with the parish associations to develop youth football at the parish level. Leave schoolboy football where it is and enjoy it for what it is.
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

You can call those names but were they the only ones who were taken into the professional ranks by these same scouts? Are you saying the scouts who took these players in have a 100% record for picking out talents?

I recall a few years ago an article in Sports Illustrated on this basketball player Lloyd Daniels who got involved in drugs and gangs when he was young and derailed his career...as a high school player he was rated higher than Magic Johnson.

The article pointed out that for every Michael Jordon, Magic or Larry Bird there were maybe three others maybe on their teams at one time that were maybe as good or better.

Law of attrition Lazie--never forget that.

LOL! I think it is some thing they put in the water...I actually agreed with RF twice in one thread the other cday...EGAD!!!