• November Friendlies confirmed

November 7, 2007

Friendly International Games in November

The Jamaica Football Federation has confirmed the dates for two Friendly International Games for the National Senior Team to be played on FIFA match dates in November.

The National Senior Men’s Team, the Reggae Boyz, will play against El Salvador on Sunday, November 18, 2007 at a time to be announced and Guatemala on Wednesday, November 21, 2007 at 7:00pm. Both games will be played at the National Stadium.

Sickko, your feet is on the ground in Ja. Wha the purpose in using the stadium where we ago have nuff empty seats? A smaller venue with reduced operating costs would mek sense to me. The JFF a lose money from both matches.

I don't think losing money will be of concern to the JFF or they would not be rushing into the games anyhow...It is a great idea to play the games in Falmouth but I think it is more important to the new JFF to put on a show to say here we are and we will get the show on the road, no matter the cost.

I hope for their sake the team puts on a good show in the first game as I shudder to think what will happen if they lose.

I don't think losing money will be of concern to the JFF or they would not be rushing into the games anyhow...
        Here are some reasons:
        We are making the assumption that we cannot fill the National Stadium.
        Moreover, I will make the assumption that Trelawny holds 10K. I am thinking that they could be losing on the potential gate by limiting themselves to a 10K capacity stadium.

The dates they are scheduling he games are FIFA calendar dates, hence the rush to take advantage of both where we can call our players from their clubs. If we schedule games outside of those days, then we are left with the teams Bora was using and not getting any good results.

Being in business is about taking calculated risks. That is the difference between the Captain and Boxhill. The Captain is a seasoned businessman.

Horti, do you know the operating costs of both stadia to be using that as reason to move to Trelawny?
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Tilla the fans will not come back overnight, and for us to assume we are going to ram stadium is far fetched.

Horti, if it were up to you and I, that is how we would approach it.

Here is another good reason why the National Stadium is might be the better venue, even if it is not full for the matches. Kingston and its environs have over 1/3 of the county's population. There is a greater chance that they can attract 15 to 20K in a 35K capacity stadium than to have a full house in Trelawny. We nuh haffi ram the Office to make more money than Trelawny. They only have to attract more fans to the game. Even if they get 12K, it is still 2K more than what Trelawny can hold.

BTW, what is the capacity of Trelawny? is it 10 or 20K.

Horti, stay away from business. I do not think you have the stomach for it like your's truly.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I agree, we will get a 'OK' crowd for the first game, especially if Simoes comes back but we must perform well and win...if not this crowd can turn on you in a heart beat and we might not be able to fill the grand stand.

But I am sure there will be excuses pre-packaged- we also need to wait and see what the entry costs will be.

BTW, if I were to be in Ja, I would attend both matches.

Sickko, you know the cost of entry nah go stop yuh aready. This is becaus you will have your official press pass.

Actually there is no such thing as a universal press pass that gets journalist into every sporting thing, especially international football games.

The work ID can get you into most local events but cant get you into Reggae Boyz games, you have to get a special pass from the JFF for that.

The work ID cant get you into Champs or Gibson Relays or the May meet either, you must get special passes for that as well.

here is my question though. how many west people well actually st. ann, trelawny stjames and hanover and westmorewoman make the trek to kinston for frenlies. I think if you want to put football back in the face of people you would play one of the game there.

Yuh sill miss it. If 1/3 of the population is in Kingston and St Andrew, you will have a larger target aduience in one location than trying to pull 25K to Trelawny from all over the place. OJ, I am a country man from Westmoreland and I understand your point. I am also not against putting games in Trelawny. The fact is, now is not the time to take the games to Trelawny. The Captain is making a gamble and National Stadium has the capacity more than Trelawny if the fans decide to turn out. The JFF has never hosted a game in Trelawny, so again it could take a bit more planning with such short notice.

I am not saying not to play games in Trelawny, but considering the circumstances, I am sure the Captain is more comfortable with the venue he knows, and that is "The Office". Maybe somewhere down the road when things are looking up, he could play a game or two there.
                        BTW, I was saying in my earlier post that the Trelawny stadium holds 10K. It actually holds 25K.

The first match will have a mediocre crowd. The attendance of the second match will depend on whether we win or lose the first. If we win, I'm sure the stadium could get probably half attendance for the second match, However if we lose, expect only cricketts in attendance for the second match.

No Tilla you miss it, been away from the rock too long. To answer OJ's post, people outside the Kingston Metropolitan area support sports, not just football, more.

I know for a fact that during the WC qualifying many, many cars leave country as far as Portland, Westmoreland, hanover for games.

Also a fact that when cricket matches are played outside of Kingston, a lot more money is made at the gates as people in St Ann, St James, Westmoreland and St Elizabeth support the game more than the Kingston people.

What does happen is that during the 'good times' the waggonist do turn out at the stadium, not to watch games but to be seen and to lyme.

More rural people support football than most of us may think, but the bulk of people in the stadium, to make it even worth our while, come from Kingston. I can't prove it, but...

Trelawny at this time would be far too risky in my view.