On Prof.Rene Simoes

• On Prof.Rene Simoes

Since 1998 I have been saying thanks to Prof. Simoes for what he has done for JA.
    Why? I can easily recall the days when I had to adopt a team for the WC and only dream of what it would be like for Ja to participate. Prof. Simoes came to JA and made my dream a realization (for this I am eternally grateful).

The prof. has shown us how to play the game at the highest level. He took our boys to Brasil (yes people Brasil) to train and compete with some of Brasil’s best talent. At one point we were slowly developing our own approach to the game (this was interrupted by the so called local experts and their minions). The prof. helped us to Brand the name reggeae boyz. Suddenly we were qualifying at all levels for the WC, big clubs from Europe knew our name and came knocking. We were on our way to being a powerhouse in the region. The “experts” did not like the Prof., hence the pressured him to leave.

The local “experts” claimed that we should play our own brand of football. The thing is
    if you ask them to show you or come and demonstrate how this will be done; they cannot even begin at the youth level. They have another line: Oh JA likes to throw money at foreigners, especially Brasilians. Well I have a video of Prof.Simoes (when he just arrived) with our boys training with school chairs (to emulate soccer tennis). The Prof. built our football from ground up, only to be criticized by detractors when he was reaping the fruits of his hard work.

I can only say thanks to Prof. Simoes; and hope that he teaches us more of the game.

Jawge, some might think this is a joke but it is really time someone start a fund to create a Simoes statue. That said, our success leading up to 1998 was due largely to Simoes, Burrell, Portia and the many players who played their heart out for the dream which became a reality. We can only hope that with Burrell and Simoes back at the helm, they might find another group of talented players to take us to South Africa.
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Since 1998 I have been saying thanks to Prof. Simoes for what he has done for JA.
      Why? I can easily recall the days when I had to adopt a team for the WC and only dream of what it would be like for Ja to participate. Prof. Simoes came to JA and made my dream a realization (for this I am eternally grateful).

The prof. has shown us how to play the game at the highest level. He took our boys to Brasil (yes people Brasil) to train and compete with some of Brasil’s best talent. At one point we were slowly developing our own approach to the game (this was interrupted by the so called local experts and their minions). The prof. helped us to Brand the name reggeae boyz. Suddenly we were qualifying at all levels for the WC, big clubs from Europe knew our name and came knocking. We were on our way to being a powerhouse in the region. The “experts” did not like the Prof., hence the pressured him to leave.

The local “experts” claimed that we should play our own brand of football. The thing is
      if you ask them to show you or come and demonstrate how this will be done; they cannot even begin at the youth level. They have another line: Oh JA likes to throw money at foreigners, especially Brasilians. Well I have a video of Prof.Simoes (when he just arrived) with our boys training with school chairs (to emulate soccer tennis). The Prof. built our football from ground up, only to be criticized by detractors when he was reaping the fruits of his hard work.

I can only say thanks to Prof. Simoes; and hope that he teaches us more of the game.
      What Simoes did with Jamaican football in a few years is nothing short of miraculous. The man obviously has qualities to inspire us to greatness. He's proven that in a few short years in the most competitive sport on the planet.

No one is infallible or should be immune from criticism but how a Jamaican can objectively focus mainly on the negative with this guy is beyond me.

The fact is that without his work we may have been ranked 103rd in the world in 2007 and not feel bitter and cheated and up in arms about it because it may have been deserved. His work has shown us that it is not.. we should be competing with the cream of the crop.

Great thing if he returns in the same inspirational vein that he started.

Burrell's return is very impressive...... decisive, immediate action on all fronts.... obviously a man on a mission.

Bravo

Glad yuh see wha mi
        ah preach fi years now boss. We have wasted a lot of time and based on
        what the Prof was doing; we would have our own competent coach and
        quality system by now. Overtime we have been conditioned to hate success,hence whenever we see it knocking, we destroy it.

Well said. Yuh know what if some others
          did approch it how Burell did I would have to just shut my
          mouth and sit in a corner. Yes the Captain is proving he is a top grade manager (planned his entry and is executing to regain lost ground) That I have to respect.

Pon this we always agree!

All we need to do is identify a local pool of players, the best there is in the island, and keep them in training all year round(whenever they are not with their clubs). Tak ethem to Brazil, let them get their asses clobbered, take them to bolivia in the high altitude and let them pick up 6-0, thats how they learn.

Then you take the best of that, and mix it with the best from the overseas based...note, we are using the best from the locals, and thebest from the ovserseas. the second bests will still be apart of the overall pool.

If (and I am saying If until I see Simoes here) Simoes take over the program, he should have a wider, more developed pool of players to choose from. Lets see how this one pans out.
              President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Jawge you conveniently left out the "mental" aspect of Simoes coaching which in my opinion is worth at least 75% of his value.

Memba it was Simoes who took us to Africa and it was there that the name Reggaeboyz was coined.

It was simoes who taught us to value ourselves(always a white man teaching us about ourselves so what else is new and we get vex when I say we are still boasy slaves like the book of life no tell us bout preaching the truth always) and had us singing reggae before games to get us in the right frame of mind like how brazil dance samba.

I wanted Keshi who took Togo to the world cup(the Nigerian) but If Simoes come then I won't be unhappy as I can understand the need to reach out to those who are willing to help us as right now the Europeans aren't exactly flocking to help us as is evidenced by their reluctance to have us playing games on their soil(notice the Europeans dem no want to give the AFricans dem no friendly as they want to keep that mental edge and wouldnt' want Ivory Coast and Ghana to start beating them on the regular and gain confidence)

Thats why this African Nations cup in Ghana nah miss mi as mi know some rhatid ball ago roll over deh.

People a bawl fi wi U-20 team from Brazil and we still nah listen,

GIVE THE PEOPLE WHAT THEY WANT!!

Chief servant

AND DIS TIME I hope wi learn supmn from di man. Kina mek sense, kah him did done buil di foundation aready an put awn di roof. Suh now a time fi fully pudung hurricane straps an secure it. Bwoy it woulda sweet fi si wi again inna di supmn a wheel some ball again. Is one ting credit haffi gi weh credit is jew.
                  Dis yah combination again, was a winning one before, dat goodah mean a juice again. Nuh anticipation inna di air

Yes the Captain is proving he is a top grade manager (planned his entry and is executing to regain lost ground) That I have to respect.
                    It is not everyday I give you credit for things you say. Anyway, this one is well said!
                    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Thanks sir. I notice that
                      Mo, Karl and Lazie are notably absent from appreciating the Prof.'s work.
                      It seems that they are returning to the Jakan mode of hoping to see his work fail. This time around any player that listens to the "experts" and refuse to cooperate with the Prof. will be let go forthright from the program. Time is money; nuh baddy nah waste nutten dis trip.

Well the mental was most of the prof's work as
                        he found out that most of our players lacked hope and self belief.