when I read about the Bora Contrak

You do mean contract law right? A contract is a contract whether in sports or business or even marriage...
    So why do you have sport's lawyers then and construction lawyers and maritime lawyers etc.? A contract is a contract but if you are not schooled in the subject that the contract relates to a lot of good that will do you. How do I know who assumes more risk in a contract if i don't know the business?

I did not say there were not sports lawyers, I simply said that this situation, not some hypothetical one like what happens in Karl's mind, does not necessarily require a sports lawyer, but one who has some competence in contracts

But it's a sport's contract. Stephenson apparently specialises in commercial law, international trade and corporate governance and Heron Dale is a criminal lawyer.

Mistake in having ordinary lawyers (not sports lawyers) look over the contract.

Someone mentioned sports law. Actually, you did: "What do they specialize in? I am quite sure it's not sport's law."

I am assuming that sports law would need sports lawyers. I could be wrong. And would not hesitate to apologize if I have to.

Okay but it is my opinion dat dawg already nyam dem supper. Yuh tink a man of Bora's caliber didn't have the best lawyer money could buy? The only way dem can break the contract is to pay di man him money which they would be crazy to do.

Doesn't matter. They all must have an understanding of contracts.

Perhaps...

Groooaaaannnn! Where is Gamma when you need him?
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Bricktop, a contract IS A contract, same wording, matters not, if it is a last will and testament or a pre-nup or a sports contract

Doesn't matter. They all must have an understanding of contracts.
                      Yes. But how do they assess who assumes the most risk if they are not familiar with the workings of sport's contracts?

Well we are in 'agreeance' here...

Bricktop, a contract IS A contract, same wording, matters not, if it is a last will and testament or a pre-nup or a sports contract
                          If you know nothing about what is normal or not normal in a sports contract how will you know who assumes the most risk?

But it's a sport's contract. Stephenson apparently specialises in commercial law, international trade and corporate governance and Heron Dale is a criminal lawyer.
                            You have to understand where Sickko is coming from. The little matter of using one's 'commonsense' to make decisions on how to utilise available resources is lost on him.

He, by his posts on this topic, is suggesting that someone practising law in another area or even an individual with no background in law cannot make sensible decisions where contractual arrangements between FAs and coaches are being drawn up.

We do not know anything about the JFF's/Bora's contract arrangements excepting what we have seen in that 'Herald article' but I do not think any one of us here, including Sickko, would have entered into such a deal.

Let us await further word on 'Bora's contract' and or see where The Captain and Bora go from here.

Lemme put it this way. If I want to construct an office building and I come up with a contract for the general contractor spelling out what he is and what he isn't responsible for how will a lawyer who is not familiar with the construction industry determine if that contract is in the owners best interest?

I get you BT. If you have a lawyer who specializes, then chances are he would be more in tune with what is expected to be in contracts like these.
                                The fact of the matter though is that Jamaica is not like the USA where sports is a big business so you have lawyers specializing in sports etc. I can see the reason why Boxhill's admin went for an attorney to deal with the case.
                                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran