• Jose Casts A Huge Shadow Over Rafa

Jose Mourinho

Sunday November 4,2007

By Harry Pratt

Jose Mourinho has been keeping a close eye on the pressure slowly building on Liverpool manager Rafa Benitez.

When he left Stamford Bridge in September, Mourinho insisted his next post would not be in England.

But that was before Benitez’s rotation policy cost Liverpool valuable ground in the Premier League, and left their Champions League hopes on the brink and the fans up in arms.

The Sunday Express has learned from sources in Portugal close to Mourinho that he has added the Anfield giants to his short list of possible clubs to manage next.

Our source confirmed: “There’s no question Liverpool is a club Jose would like to manage.”

Under his extremely generous severance terms with Chelsea, Mourinho cannot work in England until June.

But he believes that taking over from Benitez could be the most attractive option open to him because:

Liverpool have the financial power to compete with Europe’s elite.

The Kop are so fed up with the club’s title drought that they would welcome the Special One.
    lIt would make Roman Abramovich even more jealous of Liverpool.

Only last week Mourinho emphasised his determination to hold out for one of Europe’s top jobs by rejecting Valencia, widely regarded as Spain’s third-largest club.

But unless Real Madrid or Barcelona come calling next summer, which is unlikely, his options will be limited to either of Italy’s Milan clubs – or Liverpool. News of Mourinho waiting in the wings is sure to rattle Kop boss Benitez, who has an intense dislike of the ex-Porto coach and is engulfed in a full-blown crisis on Merseyside.

Failure to beat Besiktas at home on Tuesday will end Liverpool’s Champions League interest – and further undermine the Spaniard’s standing at the club.

And unless he was to deliver the Premier League – a tough proposition with Arsenal and Manchester United both in great form – Benitez could well pay the price for blowing £50million last summer and leave the door open for Mourinho.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Bwoy tell yuh sey de man a bawl fe de liverpool job,it tells you the weight of the club.

Rafa 2 C.L finals,one title! a FA cup cannnot hold liverpool appetite.One of the worlds best coaches is hoping ,sitting,watching,crying,will be campaigning for the liverpool position.

All he has to do is wave Drogba in dem face and it Dun!

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

BOSS CALLS FOR BOOT INQUEST
      Paul Hassall 04 November 2007
      Rafa Benitez has reflected on the growing number of metatarsal injuries in the game and called upon the boot manufacturers to launch an inquest.
      The Reds boss has already seen both Xabi Alonso and Daniel Agger ruled out with broken bones in their feet this season and has questioned whether the growing list of sufferers is something to do with the modern day boot.

"Because I am really old, I like the old boots," said Benitez. "But now they change everything but I don't know if that is the problem.

"Technology is very important but before we were playing with six studs and that was enough, now we see 13 or 12 or eight in different positions.

"But really I don't know. You cannot blame the boots but something is wrong and maybe the big companies need to analyse them."

Benitez has had to contend with a whole host of injuries to key players so far this season and after suffering similar issues in his first campaign back in 2004/05, he admits it has made it tough for his side to maintain their impressive start.

"It is really difficult," he said.

"In my first year we had 11 operations. Some people do not remember this when they talk about our form away from home, but to have 11 operations in one year is a lot.

"This year, we have some problems and this does not make things easy.

"When you have an idea of how to play but then you lose two or three players out of the spine of the team, players who are very important if you want to play well, then it is difficult.

"If you lose one, okay, you can manage. But if you lose another one it becomes more difficult and in this case we have two or three players out who would normally be involved in important games.

"What I have to do is manage with the rest of the squad. But what I have to say is I am really pleased with the squad and this is the reason why we have a bigger squad, because it helps us to manage in situations like this."

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

RAFA: LET'S SHOW BELIEF
        Paul Hassall 04 November 2007
        Rafael Benitez insists it will not be 'the end of the world ' if Liverpool fail to qualify for the Champions League knockout stages but is confident his side can turn their fortunes around if they show the right belief.
        The Reds boss admits mistakes in their first three Group A matches have left Liverpool with it all to do if they are to progress to the last 16, but is hopeful they can get the right result against Besiktas and take it from there.

"Am I surprised that we are in this situation? No. In this competition if you make one mistake you can be in trouble and that has happened," said Benitez.

"Because of our past achievements, if we go out now people would say it is the end of something.

"But if we lose it is not the end of the world, and if we do the right things against Besiktas and win then we have the confidence to go forward and win again - we will have momentum.

"If we cannot win these three games and finish in the UEFA Cup, then we must accept that.

"I am not going to drive myself crazy by thinking about the permutations - you can't do anything about the other teams until you play them. But it is a time to believe."

The prestige of advancing to the latter stages of Europe's elite competition is not the only reason the Reds will be keen to win at home to Turkish outfit, with Benitez admitting that it would also go some way to boosting the Anfield coffers.

"It's important to win in terms of the financial situation," he said.

"We know the Besiktas game is really important but if you approach the game under pressure you will make mistakes. We need to win but we must play with confidence.

"If we qualify it will be much easier with money, but our long-term plan doesn't depend on this competition."

If we fail in both campaigns ,bye bye Rafa welcome Mourinho , it will all be decided by January as it should be.

If he went there then da champion league & da premiership title could be won.....great signing fe Liverpool, if it happens.
            It would be good to be there when da gates of Zion are closed ......... Chalice