• Bring Back Simoes Fan club started yah now

Captain Burrell could bring back Simoes
    Thursday, 25 October 2007

RJR Sports understands that Rene Simoes, the Brazilian who coached Jamaica's Reggae Boyz to the 1998 World Cup , could be back at the helm of the national programme following the confirmation of Captain Horace Burrell as president of the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF).

Burrell is the only nominee to replace Crenston Boxhill as president at the November 4th JFF congress.

There is news that Simoes, who also guided Brazil's soccer team to a silver medal at the 2004 summer Olympics, has also put his hat into the ring to become the Bermuda Football Association's technical director.

Current technical director, Bora Milutinovic, is in his first year of a three year contract with the JFF, but he has been at the receiving end of much criticism, as the Reggae Boyz, mainly due to inactivity, have plummeted to 103, their lowest ever world ranking.

Jawgey mi brethren unnu a line up?
    Last edited by Tilla; October 25, 2007, 09:50 PM.

mi deh yah!.-Pepsi
    Last edited by Pepsi; October 25, 2007, 07:53 PM.

We need to stop wasting money on Bora and spend that money on the development of our coaches.

Is this is a big-up for the Peter Cargill Memorial Coaching Scholarship?

Thanks!

Please say it ain't so....no no no non no way

Yes Simoes took us to a WC but why are we continuoisly recycling coach after coach after coach ? JESUS !

Oh and you all seem to forget that in his last days Simoes had us playing some really stupid anti-football bitch ball.

As someone below said put the money into training some young local coaches.

God Dam Jamaica's football situation really annoys the crap outta me.

Originally posted by Scaly View Post
            Yes Simoes took us to a WC but why are we continuoisly recycling coach after coach after coach ? JESUS !

Oh and you all seem to forget that in his last days Simoes had us playing some really stupid anti-football bitch ball.

As someone below said put the money into training some young local coaches.

God Dam Jamaica's football situation really annoys the crap outta me.

In those last days at least we looked like we had a chance of doing something against good teams. Now we gone back to the point we were at before he took over.

I still have tapes of games of our last Gold Cup run under Simoes after the World Cup. We got our asses kicked by Hunduras and others and quickly exited the competition after the first round. I am not saying that Simoes could not come in again and do well, but I would rather have someone else. Let him go and coach Bermuda.

I also remember when he was leaving he wrote an article in the Gleaner saying he did not want our money and we should spend the money we spend on him wherever etc.

John Barnes? I was for him initially, but could not understand why he and the JFF could not come to an understanding on a figure for salary. I think I get it now, the JFF had a US$1M per year to pay out, but Barnes only wanted $125K. That would be a hard decision for any management to make, especially when you consider that they had a guy like bora in the picture who would demand that and more.

The big question is, it is time to make a switch now and get a new coach? Considering that Bora has not yet used the real team in any internationals, i am not sure if he has any big advantage over say a Barnes, except that he is proven as a coach at the international level and he might be a bit more familar with CONCACAF. Does this really give him all that advantage however? I mean an advantage valued at $875,000 per year?

{{Tilla duck now, duck!!!}}
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I still have tapes of games of our last Gold Cup run under Simoes after the World Cup. We got our asses kicked by Hunduras and others and quickly exited the competition after the first round. I am not saying that Simoes could not come in again and do well, but I would rather have someone else. Let him go and coach Bermuda.

I also remember when he was leaving he wrote an article in the Gleaner saying he did not want our money and we should spend the money we spend on him wherever etc.

John Barnes? I was for him initially, but could not understand why he and the JFF could not come to an understanding on a figure for salary. I think I get it now, the JFF had a US$1M per year to pay out, but Barnes only wanted $125K. That would be a hard decision for any management to make, especially when you consider that they had a guy like bora in the picture who would demand that and more.

The big question is, it is time to make a switch now and get a new coach? Considering that Bora has not yet used the real team in any internationals, i am not sure if he has any big advantage over say a Barnes, except that he is proven as a coach at the international level and he might be a bit more familar with CONCACAF. Does this really give him all that advantage however? I mean an advantage valued at $875,000 per year?

Rahtid u just wait till Jawge si dis.
                Shiloh wey you dey me $1 a gallon bredrin.

If yuh not expensive, yuh can't be good.

Tilla: You are a bad man!
                    ...but, I agree - Bring in Barnes!

Si yuh ha-gree wid mi seh henny coach cum now wudda innah di same boat Bora innah. Bout a dem wudda jus a met di team!

My support for Rene comes in because of his support for the youth level.

Rene will always have the youth them ready and give them a chance.

Since he left Ja he has been to a few places over the world and have done decent with the teams. Who talking about Bitch ball under Rene? Isn't Rene the one who promoted such players as Ricardo Gardner and Ricardo Fuller, Fanna and Milton Griffiths etc?

Rene gave the youngster a platform to launch from and we need that now, most of our ballers a turn 30 ya now and where the next generation coming from? Nuh tell me bout the under 20.

Bring Back Rene, we nuh want nuh first team coach, we want someone to run the whole program.

Yuh know karl, if Simoes came in now, he would not have much of a problem hitting the ground running. He would have known just about all out players who are away playing professionally. For Barnes it would take some time, but he could adjust.
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

But a bet you Rene would actually tek about 30 player pon a 2 week camp to Brazil and look fi the next stars.

I don't know about this world cup but we need to build a system

As it was in the begining,
                            so shall it be in the end.

I still have tapes of games of our last Gold Cup run under Simoes after the World Cup. We got our asses kicked by Hunduras and others and quickly exited the competition after the first round.
                              Tilla, i find it rather amuzing that you choose to judge Simoes capacity as a coach based on that match vs Honduras in the gold Cup. How about that Game we played vs the US in the RFK? I believe it ended 1-1.

Its no secret that teams under Simoes tend to play more of a defensive game, and I believe that any sensible coach would adopt that approach, especaillay when coaching a team like Jamaica.

I have nothing against Simoes, the man came here, and under his guidance, our football rose to great heights, based on that fact alone, he will always be looked at as a very worthy candidate whenever the Jamaica job is up for grabs.

My personal choice for coach of the National team would be Sebastiao Lazaroni, AKA Laza. I was impressed with what he got our boyz playing in the last campaign, in the limited time he had the squad.
                              President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)