John Barnes,Paul Mariner and Rene simoes have submitted aplication to coach Bermuda for US$125,000 a yr.I'll see if I can find the article via the net.
NEWS FLASH!!!-Royal Gazette
Published: October 25. 2007 09:52AM
Barnes, Mariner and Simoes vie for Bermuda football's top job
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Voice of experienceNew England Revolution assistant coach Paul Mariner (right) gives instructions to the Revs' Bermudian star Khano Smith.
New England Revolution assistant coach Paul Mariner is among the applicants vying to become Bermuda Football Association's (BFA) next technical director, The Royal Gazette can reveal.
Former Liverpool and England star John Barnes, whose interest in the post was first reported in this newspaper, has also applied.
And Rene Rodrigues Simoes, the Brazilian who coached the Reggae Boyz of Jamaica to the 1998 World Cup finals, has also put his hat into the ring.
According to reliable sources Mariner, the 54-year-old former Ipswich and England striker, has applied for the post that will yield an annual income of $125,000.
News of Mariner's intentions may come as a surprise as he has seemingly enjoyed good relations with Revs head coach Steve Nicol, a partnership that bore fruit earlier this month as the Major Soccer League (MSL) outfit, featuring Bermudian Khano Smith in the side, lifted the Open Cup with victory over FC Dallas in the final.
Mariner's career in England began at non-league side Chorley before he progressed to Plymouth Argyle in 1973.
Three years later the former striker joined Bobby Robson's Ipswich where he netted 97 goals in eight seasons and won FA Cup (1978) and UEFA Cup Winners Cup (1981) titles before moving on to Arsenal and eventually ending his playing career at American Professional Soccer League (APSL) outfit San Francisco Bay Blackhawks in 1992.
"Football is in my blood and I always look to be involved no matter what level it is," Mariner told The Royal Gazette during a March, 2005 interview.
Mariner made his England debut in March 1977 and went on to earn 35 caps and score the winner against Hungary that qualified his country for the 1982 World Cup finals after a 20-year absence from the tournament.
Along with former Tottenham, Chelsea, West Ham and AC Milan striker Jimmy Greaves, Mariner is the only other striker to score in six consecutive matches wearing an England jersey.
Mariner was an assistant coach at Harvard University before he joined Nicol at the Revs. Past Canada senior national team coach Stephen Hart, of Trinidad, and Fifa instructor and British Virgin Island (BVI) technical director Ben Davies are also among the 25 to 30 applicants. Richard Todd and Keith Tucker are the only two Bermudians that applied for the post last held by former West Ham striker Clyde Best, the Jackie Robinson of English football.
Todd has served as a football academy director in Alabama while Tucker is former head coach at Howard University who he coached all the way to the 1988 NCAA championship.
In order to meet the criteria all candidates must possess an English FA full coaching licence, Uefa 'A' or the equivalant and/or have had a minimum of five years' coaching experience at the national or professional levels.
Earlier this week local football's governing body announced that a short-list of six or seven applicants will be contacted in the near future.
"Once we have contacted those on our short-list we hope to start the interviewing process as soon as possible," BFA technical committee chairman Mark Trott said.
Other features
Published: October 25. 2007 09:19AM
Goater: Barnes could put Island on the football map
By Stephen Wright
John Barnes: Two English league titles, an FA Cup winner's medal and 79 England caps.
Football legend John Barnes would put Bermuda back on the footballing map should he become the BFA's next technical director, according to former English Premiership star Shaun Goater.
It is understood Barnes, a former England and Liverpool ace, has officially applied for the crucial position and is unsurprisingly on the BFA's short-list with interviews to be staged next month.
Earlier this year The Royal Gazette revealed the ex-Celtic coach had expressed an interest in the role, e-mailing the BFA his resumé on request, after being sounded out by Goater, who knows Barnes from his time playing in England.
He reckons Barnes' Caribbean heritage and world-wide appeal makes him a standout candidate, ensuring he would hit the ground running if offered the pivotal post.
"It's a very exciting prospect to have somebody of John Barnes' calibre and international experience in this job," said Goater.
"He's a world-wide footballing figure and would really put Bermuda back on the map. John Barnes has played at the highest level and coached at the highest level at Celtic.
"For me, these qualities make him an ideal candidate for the technical director's job.
"I'm almost certain he would do extremely well here and be very popular with the players and public. He's from a background Bermudians can relate to and I'm sure he would relate to our culture."
Back in February, BFA president Larry Mussenden confirmed he had e-mailed Barnes requesting his CV following Goater's initial contact. "We are happy and encouraged to receive news that somebody like John Barnes could be interested (in the technical director's job)," he told the Gazette at the time.
Barnes, who was born in Jamaica, tasted management at Celtic in 1999 with his former Liverpool boss Kenny Dalglish as director of football. But he endured a troubled time with the Scottish giants, falling behind archrivals Glasgow Rangers in the league, and received his marching orders after his side suffered a miserable defeat against minnows Inverness 3-1 at Celtic Park.
But despite the brief and forgettable spell, Goater believes the respect Barnes would command with his 79 England caps, two Championship titles and an FA Cup, would give him an advantage over rival candidates. "Everyone's aware of what he achieved during his playing career and I believe that would give him great momentum in this job," he said. "He would have the respect of the players and coaches and once you have that momentum you can achieve things earlier on.
"Other candidates may be as qualified but it's unlikely they would be able to command the same instant respect. John Barnes would inspire people straight away.
"That's not to say the other candidates on the BFA's short-list could not do a great job, but it would probably take them a lot longer to build up the same momentum that John Barnes would start with.
"It's a decision for the BFA to make and I'm sure they will get the right man for the job."
Barnes racked up 732 career appearances for four English clubs, scoring 198 goals in total — though many pundits feel he never made the most of his ability at international level, despite being the most capped black England footballer.
Since leaving Celtic Barnes has carved out a career as a TV football pundit and is currently appearing in the English version of Strictly Come Dancing.
Miracle worker who took the Reggae Boyz to World Cup finals
Rene Rodrigues Simoes: Likes football played Brazilian style.
Brazilian coach Rene Simoes performed wonders when he famously guided Jamaica to their first ever World Cup finals at France ‘98, writes Stephen Wright.
Prior to his arrival in 1994 the Reggae Boyz were ranked 96th in Fifa’s rankings, renowned for enthusiasm but lacking the required professionalism to lift them to the next level.
By November 1997 they had climbed to 39th with Simoes adopting a Brazilian system, more attractive to the Jamaican psyche than the direct British style they had played previously.
Under his stewardship they edged out more experienced nations such as Costa Rica, Canada, Honduras and El Salvador to earn a place among the 32 finalists in France.
Impressively, he forged a strong team spirit among players from many backgrounds and with vastly different bank balances, mixing high-profile English-based players such as Wimbledon’s Robbie Earle, Bolton’s Ricardo Gardner and Chelsea’s Frank Sinclair with local talent.
Despite criticism at home about the number of English-based Jamaicans selected in his World Cup party, Simoes stood firm and reaped the rewards at the tournament.
In the first game they lost to Croatia 3-1, and then to Argentina 5-0, before historically beating Japan 2-1 in the final game of the preliminary round. They may not have qualified for the second stage but the Reggae Boyz enjoyed a heroes’ return with Jamaicans the world over rejoicing. It was their first, and to date, only appearance on the world’s biggest stage.
The 54-year-old, from Rio, is a committed Christian and had “Jesus Saves” printed on the back of his official Jamaican shirt.
As a professional coach for more than 20 years he has worked in Portugal and Qatar. He also was involved in coaching Brazil’s under-20 and under-23 teams.
In the 2004 Summer Olympics, he won the silver medal with the Brazil women’s national football team. He has also previously coached Trinidad and Tobago. In 2006 he was the head coach and manager of Iran national under-23 football team, before becoming coach of Coritiba Foot Ball Club in the Brazilian Serie B.
Other features:
»
[QUOTE=Pepsi;56345]Miracle worker who took the Reggae Boyz to World Cup finals
By November 1997 they had climbed to 39th with Simoes adopting a Brazilian system, more attractive to the Jamaican psyche than the direct British style they had played previously.
Mi nuh want sound like jawge but when I just came on this site I argued than the Brazilian system was more suited to the jamaican environment and psyche.Jawge 3:16
I wonder the same thing too. Did I not hear that during the 1998 period, Simoes was making something like US$40K per month? He was also unhappy that someone disclosed his salary to the media as his contemporaries in coaching in Brazil were earning much more than that.
If Simoes decide to accept $125K per year to coach a national team, he must be really in a bind for some cash."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Originally posted by Tilla View PostIf Simoes decide to accept $125K per year to coach a national team, he must be really in a bind for some cash."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
You have to also consider ths fringe benefits Tilla.
Fringe benefits like: free house, car , medical, food, entertainment, maid service, school for kids, corporate card etc. sometimes is greater than the wages.
Could be that he could live without touching his paycheck.The only time TRUTH will hurt you...is if you ignore it long enough
There is NO frindge benefits, You nuh see we nuh want Rene or John Barnes, we want big name coach fi gurantee that we reach a world cup. We nah fi practise, just relax coach soon call him big side. A wonder how the trip to Bolton went?
Who name Keshi again?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.