Portia call and tell me this from when and mi talk to other forumites about it but couldn't even bring myself to visit the forum and post on it until today.
I can't even post pon the bigman right now and must say condolences to his immediate family and friends in Jamaica and hope dem know say we grieve the same way with dem to as I felt that we were all family.
Balla, Ohene, Ranger and the rest of the long time Gate "" crew mi know it hurt but hold strong.
Mosiah and Scaly my mind flash back to meeting the big man at the Jamaica vs Rushden and Diamonds game... Coolest big man ever, in person man card you but nah worry bout pon site war.
The reality of Courtney's passing hits me everytime I visit the site - like a slap in my face. There's a sadness over me that's hard to express. I try to be philosophical about it all but it's just not working and keeping asking why, why why?
When I read the report I made no connection whatsoever to Courtney. That was apparantly not something conceivable. I am just understanding that it is COURTNEY that has passed.. one of the few board members I have met in person.
I have been in a daze since I heard the news from Mosiah on Saturday morning. I had 3 deaths this weekend including Courtney and another one was a person who was like a father figure to me. I keep thinking about how young Courtney was and what happened to him could happen to me or anyone of us. I keep wondering about his family and how they must feel.
Everytime I watch a EPL football game I think of Courtney and how he would have been watching it too, I keep thing about him at reggaeboyz games at the National Stadium, I remember him in Miramar that Saturday morning when we had the scrimage game against Thereggaeboys and how he was talking to everyone b4 the match and watching us from the sidelines.
Life is so precious and we must all cherish it.
My father figure who died early has made me love my parents even more and Courtney's death has made me sad but much more appeciative of others and how special each and every person is.
Bwoy, I don't know where to start. Courtney's sudden passing reminds me that we should not take life and our health for granted. Life is finite, we should try to live it to the fullest.I beleive Courtney tried to live a full life, and all he touched were better for it.
I have lots of fond memories of Mankine. We both shared a decades long, total and fanatical support of Liverpool FC and the Jamaican National Football Team. Courtney was more vocal on this board than I on ourunconditionalsupport for our beloved'Pool. Many times we "walked alone" during the dark days of Liverpool's poor performances defending the Pool from the light-hearted banter from other Forumite supporters of other EPL clubs on this boardwho were just as fanatical about their teams as Courtney and Iwere about Liverpool FC. But he and Ialsogloated and celebrated together when Liverpool triumphed.
Another common bond we had was our unconditional support of the national team whether they were winning or losing, with Courtney the model of commitment of his time and money, much more than me.We met up many times when Jamaica played at home (when I would visit Kingston from California), or at some Central American capital when Jamaica played away for WC qualification games.
Whenever we met,along with other Forumites like, Ohene, Portia, Scaly, Mexx, Balla, Gamma, and others too numerous to mention, we had long conversations about the national game. Courtney was always the voice of reason and fact, stoutly defending his position.
Some of you may know that Courtney was also the Chairman of the Jamaica Premier League, an EPL fantasy league hosed on www.soccernet.com. Courtney was one of the originalfounders and named the league the Junglist Premier League over five years ago when we played the Fox Sports World version before changing it to the Jamaica Premier Leauge. And Courtney was good, a fierce and knowledgeable opponent who knew the game, and more importantly knew the form of all Premiership players, not just the stars. He was a champion in two of those years, and was alwaysone of the top performers. Its coincindental that the first time Courtney came to my mind on Monday morning was when I logged on to the fantasy league web site to see how my team did over the weekend after feeling that I did very well, only to find that Courtney had done a little better and had beat me to first place by a single point. Not knowing of the tragic event I tapped out an email warning him that I am right behind him in the race, and that it is my breath that he is feeling on his shoulder. We often bantered to and fro during the season in this way......And then only to log on to this forum to learn the sad news...Monday was a very sad day.
Courtney was a gem and a valuable asset to the community of Arnett Gardens, Arnett Gardens FC, and the development of football and footballers in Jamaica. He had the smarts, the passion, the leadership skills and the management skills: a rare combination in Jamaica today. Its no wonder Kieth Kelly and other ballaz called him "Manage". He was respected by all, and will be missed.
Sincere condolences to the family of Courtney Livingston. His sudden passing has left a void in my heart. Courtney was a caring and kind gentleman. He was always strong in his convictions but could be moved with solid reasoning. During his time on earth, he earned the respect of those who were privileged to interact with him. His spirit will live forever - never alone. RIP Courtney.
Condolences tohis family & all who knew him. Chatted with Courtney a few times in the past on these forums, we never meet but still feel as if I've lost a personal friend!
We will meet someday in the future that football stadium in the sky and yes I'll still be supporting my Soca Warriors while Courtney will surely be supporting his Reggaeboyz.
Was very shocked when Princess told me about the death of the big man. Truly sad. Always could make him out easily from across the stands over Jungle during match time. I don't think he missed a game.