US Women's Coach Greg Ryan Fired

• US Women's Coach Greg Ryan Fired

Greg Ryan, coach of the US womens national soccer team, has been fired.

US Soccer president Sunil Gulati said that Ryan's contract will not be renewed when it expires December 31.

Gulati, US Soccer Secretary General Dan Flynn, and retired star Mia Hamm will be the selection committee to hire a new coach. The process is expected to take 30 to 45 days. The women's team has no more games scheduled for the remainder of the year.

Gulati said the new coach should have experience coaching in international events and be familiar with American soccer.

The team will resume training in January for the 2008 Beijing Olympics in August.

Ryan, who was hired in early 2005, was 45-1-9 during his tenure.

He did nothing wrong. The rest of the world has simply caught up with the US WNT. Even Mexico drew with them yesterday. Prior to that, Mexico was picking up 5-1 and 4-0.

Zeppo, how yuh duh?

Yuh nuh hear seh Zeppo nuh fallaw 'oman ball?
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Well deserved. He was not qualified for the position in the first place. - T.K.

Unless dem winning.

Originally posted by Bruce View Post
            Ryan, who was hired in early 2005, was 45-1-9 during his tenure.
            Damn what would Jamaica give for such a 'failing' record?