• Burrell needs to get it right

Burrell needs to get it right

western bureau

At Tuesday's press launch for the 2007-08 St. James Football Association (StJFA)/Captain's Bakery KO football competition, Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) president-elect Captain Horace Burrell made it quite clear that it will not be business as usual when his new administration takes office in another two and half weeks.

In light of the massive destabilisation job the outgoing administration did to our football since they took office in 2003, there is absolutely no question that Captain Burrell must change course if he is to ultimately move full speed ahead to restore any semblance of respectability to football.

While Captain Burrell has not detailed the full extent of his plans to return the sheen to national football, based on the success he enjoyed in his previous stint as president, including taking us to the 1998 FIFA World Cup in France, I have very little doubt about his capacity to be effectively mount a successful repair job.

Based on my observation of the things that made the Crenston Boxhill team such a colossal failure, I would like to make a few suggestions to the new team coming into office. First and foremost, I believe that technical director Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovic should be sent packing immediately. After more than a year on the job he has not justify, not even remotely, his fantastic US$1m a year salary.

big mistake
    With all the economic problems we are facing in Jamaica, I have always been of the view that it was a big mistake to employ 'Bora' at such a mammoth cost. The fact that all he has to show for one year of service is the Lunar Cup, won in a curry-goat-like tournament in Asia, has further convinced me that to continue with him is lunacy at its best.

While I would love to see Jamaica qualify for the 2010 World Cup in South Africa, I don't believe that keeping 'Bora' as opposed to getting another coach would in any way lessen our chances. If we try another person at this late stage and fail, I would not have a difficulty accepting that.

I am also hoping that the new administration will cease making the position of vice-presidents ceremonial and really get these individuals to do some work. I know it can be done because I remember seeing former president Anthony James doing it in the 1980s when he had the dynamic Wesmore Thomas and the resourceful Frank 'Bim' Williams as his deputies.

The new team should also take a long and careful look at the confederation structure, which presently operates like a useless 'middle man' in the path to progress. In my opinion, one of the greatest hindrances to football development in western Jamaica has been the western confederation, which has been nothing more than a platform to power in recent years.

I would like to see a county board, comprising the president, general secretary and another board member from all the parishes replacing the confederation system. Ultimately, I would love to see the JFF constitution revised so as to have each of the county boards selecting a vice-president for the federation.

strong constitution
    To prevent the corruption of the county board, a strong constitution should be put in place to prevent the type of manipulation that now exists with the confederation structure. In addition, the parish associations, possibly by a two thirds majority, should have the power of re-call should they feel those elected are not serving their best interests.

Finally, I would like to use this opportunity to welcome Captain Burrell back to the hot seat with the gentle reminder that although the task before him is a tough one, we are expecting him to deliver because I know every Jamaican wants to rally around a successful programme once again.

NB. Send your feedback to adrianfrater@hotmail.com

While Captain Burrell has not detailed the full extent of his plans to return the sheen to national football...
    I hope there is a plan.

Late stage...? What late stage!?!?!?

Let me read it again "If we try another person at this late stage and fail, I would not have a difficulty accepting that."

At this point in the campaign, Mid-October '07, nothing has been done in terms of assembling and building the chemistry of a squad. Heck! It's like we don't even have a TD to rahtid! Getting a new coach now would not upset the applecart. But what is really important now is that we get an ACTIVE coach, get training sessions going, get some international friendlies under our belts and get the darn Back-To-Africa program on the road. Anything less and we can forget about 2010 and, instead, concentrate on 2014.
      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Unnu se this man is mad...suggesting we 'try' some one else, he did not say we should go and find the best person for the job or a coach with a god track record, he is suggesting we give some one a try.....SIGH