• NPL: Rookies Sporting hold champs H'View

Rookies Sporting hold champs H'View
    Howard Walker
    Monday, October 22, 2007

Harbour View............................................2
    Harvey (55th, 90th)
    Sporting Central..................................... 2
    Wiggan (18th), Gray (44th)

Sporting Central blew a two-goal lead and maximum points against Harbour View drawing 2-2 in their Cash Plus Premier League game at the Harbour View Mini Stadium yesterday.

Sporting Central stunned the Harbour View crowd with first half goals by Karl Wiggan and Hughan Gray in the 18th and 44th minutes respectively, but two penalties by defender Christopher Harvey in the 55th and 90th minutes, salvaged a point for the champions.

Harbour View's Gregg Taylor (centre), tries to slip by Carlton Aikens of Sporting Central during their Cash Plus Premier League game at the Harbour View Mini Stadium yesterday. Looking on is Sporting Central's Owen Gordon. The game ended 2-2. (Photo: Karl McLarty)

Harbour View, starting the day on five points in pole position, have dropped to fifth position with six points and were fortunate to come away with anything from the game.

The Clarendon-based Sporting Central, while leading 2-1, wasted numerous goalscoring opportunities and paid the price for their profligacy in front of goal and a handful of club investors.

Just like rookie Formula One driver, Lewis Hamilton yesterday, they made some rookie mistakes and paid the price. Hamilton lost the World Championship by a point but fortunately for Sporting Central, they will have a lot more time to atone for their mistakes.

The promoted Sporting Central moved up a notch to seventh position on five points, just two behind the leading pack of four teams on seven points.

Portmore United, Seba United, Waterhouse and August Town are tied atop the standing on seven points from four games with just six points seperating top from bottom.

Portmore crushed Tivoli Gardens 3-0 and leapt from seventh position to first with goals from Onandi Lowe, Kevin Deerr and Adrian Reid.
    Kevin Williams, coach of Sporting Central, was visibly upset as his team came within a whisker of pulling off the upset of the season and claim another big scalp following their 4-3 thrilling win over Reno last week.
    In another game yesterday, Seba blanked St George's 3-0 at Lynch Park.

Teams:
    Harbour View - Marvin Mundy, Jermain Taylor, Christopher Harvey, Oneil Smith (Kemeel Wolfe 57th), Robert Scarlett, Donald Stewart, Richard Edwards, Keith Kelly (Jermaine Hue 52nd), Lovel Palmer, Fabian Taylor, Gregg Taylor (Kavin Bryan 51st).

Subs not used: L Wright, K Petrekin, R Smith

Booked: G Taylor (22nd), Wolfe (76th), Edwards (68th-ejected)

Sporting Central - Leighton Murray, Terry Alves, Linval Lewis (Carlton Aikens 35th), Owen Gordon, Romone Barnes, Jevaughn Watson, Dwayne Ford, Sean Coleman (Winston Griffiths 56th), Karl Wiggan, Onekie Ford (Greg Gardner 69th), Hughan Gray.

Subs not used: V Gardner, W Ricketts, C Barrett, S Mason

Booked: None

Referee: Ricardo Sailsman
    Assistants: Easton Vanhorne, Richard Washington
    Fourth Official: Karl Tyrell
    Match Commissary: Horace Lewis

What's with these Sporting Central guys? Are they the first promoted team to create such buzz?

Mosiah and the Yaard Massive give us your take on them...pleeeeeeeease?

Being owned by a Munro Old Boy might have something to do with it. They are organised and I think in a few years, they will be right up there with Harbour View as the best organised teams in local football.

The results so far suggest that on attack they are good...
        ...but, defensively...????

Did you see the H/V match?
        'Guesstimet' on Sporting's progress as TEAM during this season?
        In the hunt for title? Will stay up? ...any prospects for Reggae Boyz 2010 effort? etc., etc?

Keith Kelly is starting ahead of Jermaine Hue now? Very very interesting. - T.K.

Tis, but nothing to worry about.

I saw the game. I will give the season a few more matches before I make any assessments, but I believe SCA will stay up and continue to give some teams problems. They will not challenge for the crown, however.

Thanks!

Tis, but nothing to worry about.
                  I am not worrying about it. I just thought it was interesting. I thought it would have taken at least a couple of years before KK would be ready to play well enough to push Hue. Looks like HV has taken real good care of him. I am in no way knocking Hue. Competition for spots is good. HV has a luxury at attacking center mid no question. It will be interesting to see if another team makes a play for Hue if he continues to come off the bench. Has Hue ever considered checking out a group like Miami FC in the US A League? - T.K.

They are both playing on the left, but I am sure the coach could use either of them elsewhere in midfield.

Yes, KK has done much better than I thought. Didn't expect him playing so well so soon.

One thing you can be sure of, I will not be bigging up Hue if he doesn't deserve it. No ridiculous Tappa syndrome here!

This thread title should read.... "Harbour View holds SCA to a draw with help from a cheating ref that gave them two penalties". Unnuh just couldn't take losing to a newly promoted team fair and square huh? I hope unnuh pay the ref well. Wha mi tell yuh Mosiah, Harbour View a eediat side. Couldn't score from open play. The other day yuh a try compare HVIEW match with SCA vs Reno. Yuh see say a foolishness yuh a talk. HVIEW nuh know how fi play one touch ball and keep possession. Apart from the two Maestros a bare headless chicken a run up and dung pon the field inna unnuh team. Yuh see how dem number 7 Wigan mash up HVIEW defense? Mi rate Sporting but them cant test Portmore. We put them unda manners when them come gainst we. We beat them 1-0 fair and square. We neva haffi thief fi salvage a draw wid them at home.

Portmore United a tek it fi sure this year!

Okay!

Wait till unnuh buck up pon Portmore. A MURDAH!!!

Portmore St Catherine,
                          No question askin!!