RBSC co-sponsors KNVB Seminar

• RBSC co-sponsors KNVB Seminar

Two years ago, within days of the sudden passing of Peter Cargill, former captain and coach of the Reggae Boyz, the Reggae Boyz Supporterz Club (RBSC), with the blessing of the Cargill family, established a fund in his name. As we said in an editorial two days after that tragic accident, “Peter Cargill is one of the reasons why this website exists.”

The Peter Cargill Memorial Coaching Scholarship Fund seeks to keep his life in our memories and his dream alive. With the contributions of our members, our intention is to annually send one or more coaches on a world-class coaching seminar, as we try to improve the coaching stock on the island. We believe Peter would have approved.

In light of the less-than-expected response from our Forumites, the RBSC found it difficult fulfilling this mission by itself. So, when we heard that Harbour View Football Club was planning a seminar with coaches from the highly rated KNVB, we offered ourselves as co-sponsors. Indeed, this was one of the seminars that we had been inquiring about over he last few months.

The generous contributions of the following Forumites have allowed us to play our part in improving Jamaica’s football:

Michael Chong
    Patricia Hunter
    Basil Wade
    Barrington Johnson
    Baron Marshall
    Leo Campbell
    Kyle Wallace
    Dwight Thelwell
    Karl Wallace
    Rickie Davis

I am sure the family of Peter Cargill would only be too happy to see that this fund, set up in his name, has been able to honour its promise. On their behalf, the RBSC thanks you. Your generosity is helping us to answer that call - WE NEED GREAT TEACHERS!

Please revisit our editorial on Peter: http://reggaeboyzsc.com/editorials.aspx?id=107

Please note, the above list represents those who contributed through our Paypal account. Others sent cash and checks (cheques) and will be acknowledged SHORTLY!!!

Thanks to all again!

Nuh worry yuhself wi all
      overstan di mentality fram yaad. Big up some put dung some. In some circles it's called diviode and rule. We will get over this in another 100 years. Everyting criss mo

But see yah. Look how much time mi ask fi a detailed presentation of what you guys plan to do with the money and all now we still a hear that unnuh working on it. Maybe that's why the response was underwhelming.

This was posted on November 8, 2006.

The RBSC has chosen the KNVB Coaching Course as the preferred course for the awardee(s) of the Peter Cargill Memorial Coaching Scholarship. This course was offered in August of this year and we expect it will be offered around the same time next year. So, that’s our goal – we have to raise at least $4500 in order to send a promising young coach to this highly rated course. We have already begun to receive contributions. We have 10 months to raise this money, We are seeking contributions from our members and Forumites and we will also be approaching corporate Jamaica. To get an idea of the course, please take a look at the online brochure for this year’s course. Remember – WE NEED GREAT TEACHERS!

http://www.knvb.nl/

And we posted our mission and goals when the fund was created. Bricky, maybe you are one of them who genuinely missed it and would have given something, or maybe that information wasn't enuff for you. After running this Club for the past 8 years, my delusional thinking that somehow the Diaspora would do its part has evaporated clean clean.

The fund is still open for anyone to contribute. Again, profound thanks to all who have contributed thus far. Some have even contributed twice. Double thanks to them!

Anything to justify your non-contribution, huh, Jawge?

Dang!!!!!

Good Idea Mo

Congrats to forumites who gave a few shillings to this effort. Mo, edit the post and include the other forumites who gave money via cash/check soon!

This is a good course. I took this a few years back in Holland when the U20 World Cup was there. The HV coaches will like it. - T.K.

Originally posted by T.K. View Post
                    The HV coaches will like it. - T.K.
                    ...we hope all the coaches benefit!