Barcelona ask duo to skip African Nations Cup

• Barcelona ask duo to skip African Nations Cup

MADRID, Oct 16 (Reuters) - Barcelona have asked Cameroon striker Samuel Eto'o and Ivory Coast midfielder Yaya Toure not to represent their countries at the African Nations Cup in Ghana in January.

'I don't know if they'll go and I hope they don't but we can't force them,' Barca sports director Txiki Begiristain told Spanish radio station RAC1.

'For Eto'o it would be a strange year. Injury, recovery and then international duty. I asked Toure before we signed him.

'Ronaldinho did not go to the Copa America (in June) and it was a brave decision. But I understand how important they are for their countries.'

Eto'o, the three-times African Player of the Year, has been sidelined since the beginning of September after undergoing surgery on a thigh injury. Toure, who is also out with a thigh injury, joined Barca from Monaco in June.

Ronaldinho, along with AC Milan's Kaka, both asked to be left out of Dunga's Brazil squad for the Copa America in Venezuela in June, saying they needed a break from playing.

The African Nations Cup runs from Jan. 20 to Feb. 10.

Mi nuh agree with that. Suh Chelsea, Arsenal, Real Madrid etc should ask the same of their African players? The African nations cup should be played in the Summer like how other confeds do it. I don't give a hoot who object.

\

Agree 100% why they have not changed it I dont know.......well hold on I think if they change it then it would clash with other touries and they could lose money

If they do it in say 08 them they clash with the Euro's and Olympics then if the pick an odd year then it's the Confed Cup.

But u right they should change it or because now so many African countries have strong teams then make it every four years.

The African nations cup should be played in the Summer like how other confeds do it. I don't give a hoot who object.
        Yuh think playing in 100 degree heat in the middle of the summer would be ideal?

Yuh think all Africa have 100 degree weather?

No sah...