especially by 7 clear goals, but here is what I thought were the problems with this team.
Seems to me the silver medal got to Wendell's head and he opted for the 18 and 19 year olds on that squad over better, yes, better players who were older but weren't on his Pan Am team. The levels are quite different and yuh cyaan bring a boy to do a man's job.
There were two glaring omissions from this team - Cousins (Portmore) and Jermaine Taylor (Harbour View). I understand Taylor had raised some money issue on the last qualifying tour and you only have to ask Marlon King, thou shalt not find fault with management! Cousins captained some national team some time ago and Taylor is senior representative, so they both have some quality.
Anyway, I think the biggest problem was the Boxhill Curse. No, it wasn't Haitian voodoo, cause this started long time ago. From the best World Cup team that couldn't score to save Boxhill's life, to a decent U-17 that finally gave us a victory over the USA but made a weak T&T side eliminate them. Now this very unexpected result.
Oh well. Nothing a St. Thomas bath can't cure. Or Burrell!
Seems to me the silver medal got to Wendell's head and he opted for the 18 and 19 year olds on that squad over better, yes, better players who were older but weren't on his Pan Am team. The levels are quite different and yuh cyaan bring a boy to do a man's job.
There were two glaring omissions from this team - Cousins (Portmore) and Jermaine Taylor (Harbour View). I understand Taylor had raised some money issue on the last qualifying tour and you only have to ask Marlon King, thou shalt not find fault with management! Cousins captained some national team some time ago and Taylor is senior representative, so they both have some quality.
Anyway, I think the biggest problem was the Boxhill Curse. No, it wasn't Haitian voodoo, cause this started long time ago. From the best World Cup team that couldn't score to save Boxhill's life, to a decent U-17 that finally gave us a victory over the USA but made a weak T&T side eliminate them. Now this very unexpected result.
Oh well. Nothing a St. Thomas bath can't cure. Or Burrell!