• St Bess FA boss blasts Boxhill administration

St Bess FA boss blasts Boxhill administration

GARFIELD MYERS, Editor-at-Large South-Central Bureau
    Friday, October 12, 2007

St Elizabeth FA president Courtney Brown (standing) speaking at the Luana Sports Club on Tuesday night.

Black River, St Elizabeth - The outgoing Crenston Boxhill-led Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) has been accused of ineptitude and wastefulness in their approach to the building of a football academy close to Munro College in Malvern and in the hiring of coach Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovic.

Speaking at the 43rd Annual Awards Ceremony of the St Elizabeth Football Association on Tuesday night, association president Courtney Brown claimed Boxhill and his team had made a "wreck" of Jamaica's football and urged a re-examination of Milutinovic's contract which was signed last year.

Captain Horace Burrell, who takes over as president of the JFF on November 5, replacing Boxhill, has already said he will review the contract as a matter of priority.

A forceful Brown told members of the St Elizabeth football fraternity at the Luana Sports Club outside Black River that "the lack of vision and foresight by this present administration has led Jamaica's football to a wreck".
    Brown, whose association was among the 12 parish bodies which supported Burrell's nomination for a return to the JFF presidency which he shockingly lost to Boxhill in 2003, identified a series of foul-ups which led to the failure of the national Under-15s to defend their 2005 CFU title as an example of the outgoing administration's inefficiency.

He then turned to the Academy, which is being part-funded by FIFA, the world governing body for football through its Goal Project. Claiming that the work being done at Munro "is a waste of the GOAL Project money", Brown urged those present to go and "have a look" for themselves.

He claimed that he visited the site recently where a new building is under construction to supplement a renovated complex and found facilities that were unsuitable.
    "I was introduced to the dining room; the little space cannot hold 20 footballers seated comfortably; the kitchen cannot and will not hold two (30-inch, four-burner) gas stoves," he claimed.

He questioned, "How can you have a football academy without not even a six-a-side field to train on?" and claimed that in buying the property initially, the JFF paid $23 million, though it was worth no more than $14-15 million.

"It's a waste of FIFA money.," Brown charged, noting also that the project had gone well beyond its scheduled completion date.

Brown's criticism of the academy project followed that by Burrell last Saturday at the Portmore Football League's annual awards ceremony.

Then, Burrell criticised the Boxhill administration for moving the project from Portmore where he had broken ground in November 2003.

Turning to Milutinovic, Brown said while the JFF was paying $70 million per year to the world-rated Serbian, word was circulating that the coach had made it known that he was not the technical director of Jamaica's football but was merely here to get the Reggae Boyz to the World Cup in South Africa in 2010.

He pointed to Milutinovic's absence from recent training programmes and qualifiers involving the Under-23s and women's teams as evidence that the Serbian's contract may be too limited.

"The girls have just completed a qualifying round and there was no Bora. The Under-23s preparing for qualifiers and there is no Bora." he said.
    "I want to call on the JFF to re-examine this $70 million man because I think it's a waste," said Brown.
    Last edited by Karl; October 12, 2007, 03:50 PM.

St. Bess football Ass. Can talk about what again? but did they not vote for him.

suh that mean that they cannot criticise his performance? i should hope that is not the thinking. exercise

i think that would give even MORE incentive to criticise...imagine mi vote fi yuh fi gi yuha chance and THIS is what you do?

suh that mean that they cannot criticise his performance? i should hope that is not the thinking. exercise

i think that would give even MORE incentive to criticise...imagine mi vote fi yuh fi gi yuha chance and THIS is what you do?
        Well it would have been more prudent for him to criticise himself for voting him in first. Then him can seh anyting him want after that. And somebody needs to tell him that them butterfly collar shirts went out in the 70's. They made a brief comebcak but dem gone again

No I think he is entitled. Just goes to show that its easy to say whats going on when he should be part of the process and say we screwed up, or we did not approved the designs of the facilities at munroe. Jamaicans like to sit back and expect things to just work and then say well the big boss screwed up.

Originally posted by OJ View Post
            No I think he is entitled. Just goes to show that its easy to say whats going on when he should be part of the process and say we screwed up, or we did not approved the designs of the facilities at munroe. Jamaicans like to sit back and expect things to just work and then say well the big boss screwed up.
            Hats off to the man! Him mek a mistake, see it and want to correct it. Nuff man mek the mistake and .... well ... duh like Karl and shout "Fahwud!!"

Good to see he can distance himself from his decision and call it as he sees it. Many would remain quiet while the bridge continues to burn. . .
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

St Bess FA boss blasts Boxhill administration
                GARFIELD MYERS, Editor-at-Large South-Central Bureau
                Friday, October 12, 2007

"I was introduced to the dining room; the little space cannot hold 20 footballers seated comfortably; the kitchen cannot and will not hold two (30-inch, four-burner) gas stoves," he claimed.
                He questioned, "how can you have a football academy without not even a six-a-side field to train on?" and claimed that in buying the property initially, the JFF paid $23 million, though it was worth no more than $14-15 million.
                Bwoy we have some great administrators in the JFF. The mess that Boxhill left us will have repercussions for many years to come. Dem is mussi the same people who bought those extraordinary trucks for the fire brigade.

a dat mi seh.....because a dat mi did haffi duh!

It's all well and good to change your mind and come again, but where was this due diligence when the decision was made to have the academy at that location, which happens to be right in the STEFA president's backyard?

If the academy had Burrell's approval and the construction was on time, who here really believes that Brown would have a problem with the sale of the property? And Brown is being very disingenuous or plain ignorant when he talks about the academy not even having a 6-a-side field.

What's taking place here is shameless grandstanding and lap dog behaviour, of the highest order. I hope the Captain is ready to give the STEFA two half decent football fields (not including Munro's or STETHS') and help them to challenge for the NPL playoffs. When STETHS FC leads the parish league, then that should tell you a thing or two about the parish's football.

I realise that I have stooped to the level of many in our local football by broadsiding this parish president, but it had to be said. It's clear that the imminent Burrell team is not trying to be conciliatory in any way. Any fool knows that local football is yay big, with the same players occupying positions for what seems to be an eternity. Time for them to work together for the good of FOOTBALL, doing it with professionalism dignity and integrity.

Don't hold your breath though.

Hats off to the man! Him mek a mistake, see it and want to correct it. Nuff man mek the mistake and .... well ... duh like Karl and shout "Fahwud!!"
                      Even innah football yuh affi tek a lick afta mi?
                      Bwoy!

...but, yuh si mi - jus a chill!

It's clear that the imminent Burrell team is not trying to be conciliatory in any way.
                        Well 13 on the side side...moving to the same drumbeat...out of 14 seems conciliatory....just a little 'cho man' to KSAFA an ebry-wan in-step!

hehehehheeee...if a laugh a pappup!!

Bout ...'a dat mi did haffi duh!'

You is wanna dem who don't lissen. You tendto follow popular opinion.........