I guess the Boyz did have carry-on afterall, huh Karl?

• I guess the Boyz did have carry-on afterall, huh Karl?

Raring to go!
    Boyz take on Bahamas in Olympic Qualifier

Paul Reid
    Thursday, October 11, 2007

Jamaica's coach, Wendell Downswell (centre), discusses strategy with members of the Under-23 Olympic team at the match venue yesterday. (Photo: Paul Reid)

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti - Jamaica will not be looking past today's opponents, the Bahamas, as they kick-off their Caribbean Football Union (CFU) second-round Olympic qualifying tournament here at the Stade Sylvio Cator, starting at 4:00 pm.

Despite the Bahamas going down 6-0 to hosts Haiti in Tuesday's opening game at the same venue, coach Wendell Downswell told the Observer after a light training on the artificial surface yesterday the first objective was to get by the Bahamas hurdle.

"No, we're not looking past them" Downswell told the Observer. "We're thinking about negotiating this hurdle effectively before thinking about the next one."

Downswell said he was hoping to surpass the 6-0 margin scored by Haiti on Tuesday and in doing so, thinks Jamaica should qualify ahead of the host country to the final round.

Only the winner from this three-team group will advance.

The game could be played in rainy conditions, as it started raining steadily after yesterday's light workout, and the weather here in Port Au Prince has been cool and rainy since the Jamaican team arrived on Tuesday afternoon.

Downswell said he was hoping it would continue through the duration of the tournament.

"This is lovely weather. I would not mind if it stays like this through Saturday," he said.

He refused to entertain any questions about the game against Haiti on Saturday, telling Haitian journalists that
    Jamaica "will be ready" to deal with the home crowd situation, but added, "right now it's Bahamas we're looking at."

Both overseas-based players Luton Shelton of English Championship outfit Sheffield United and Rafe Wolfe of Belgian team Royal Whitestar are included in the starting team to be led by Portmore United's Rudolph Austin.

Duwayne Kerr, who made his debut for Portmore in the Cash Plus Premier League on Sunday, will start in goal, while Seba United's Keneil Moodie will partner Austin in the centre of the defence.

Village United's Troy Smith is the starting left-back, while Obrian Woodbine of Reno will be on the right.

Ricardo Cousins of Portmore and Nicholoy Findlayson of Reno will play central midfield with Wolfe and another Portmore player, Eric Vernon, the attacking midfielders. Shelton and Meadheaven's Keamar Daley will do the striking duties in the 4-4-2 formation.

Downswell said he was "quite confident going into (today's) game" after yesterday's workout, which lasted just over 40 minutes under the watchful eyes of the Haitian team and coaches.

He said the players were not given too much to do: "Nothing too much, we just took the players through their paces, working on a few combinations in a low intensity and low volume, just working up a sweat and get a feel of the surface."

The Jamaican coach said he was "overall pretty satisfied; no injuries and hope nothing freaky happens and we will be in good stead".

He admitted he did not know too much about the Bahamian team that advanced after their first round was abandoned, but said, "Based on what we saw (on the television) we need to come out and press them.

"Technically, they did not look so efficient against Haiti, so we need to come out and put them under early pressure, get some early goals and consolidate from there."
    Last edited by Karl; October 11, 2007, 08:45 AM.

coach Wendell Downswell told the Observer after a light training on the artificial surface
    Wha di backside? How dem afford artificial turf and we nuh have none? Is bout time we start squeeze out some a dese tings from company like Digicel and C&W.

Boyz sort out baggage problems in Haiti

Paul Reid
      Thursday, October 11, 2007

Team manager, Howard Bell (right), and head of delegation, Carlton 'Spanner' Dennis, sort out the bags that arrived a day late from Miami yesterday. (Photo: Paul Reid)

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti - Jamaica's contingent heaved a big sigh of relief yesterday as the nine bags, including those containing training and match gear, arrived from Miami where they had been left the previous day.

The Jamaican contingent had arrived at the Toussaint Louverture International airport on Tuesday after reconnecting in the South Florida city to find several bags, including those containing the personal belongings of several players and team officials, had not arrived on the flight.

The mishap had put a damper on the upbeat team and a planned trip to the Stade Sylvio Cator that afternoon was called off as the team headed to the team hotel.

It was good news yesterday, however, when team manager Howard Bell and Head of Delegation Carlton 'Spanner' Dennis went to the airport where all the bags had arrived just after midday.

A jubilant Dennis exclaimed, "All our problems are solved right here and now as the bags were packed into the team bus and transported to the hotel where the players were waiting."

Included in the players waiting was England-based striker, Luton Shelton, who quickly picked up his expensive designer bags and hurried to his room to sort out
      his belongings.

Included in the players waiting was England-based striker, Luton Shelton, who quickly picked up his expensive designer bags and hurried to his room to sort out
        his belongings.
        Sickko why yuh nuh lef di man alone

I know. Sickko prying a little too much now.

Luton was wise not to check-in his iMac!

Wha di backside? How dem afford artificial turf and we nuh have none? Is bout time we start squeeze out some a dese tings from company like Digicel and C&W.
            Dont worry, Burrell will use his contacts in FIFA to get us one shortly. It helps to know people in high places. the only people Crenston know are his uselesss cronies.
            President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Who is the kit sponsor now? Is it Puma?
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I know. Sickko prying a little too much now.

Luton was wise not to check-in his iMac!
                You should be wondering why the reporter filed two reports that made out that the bags being missing was a problem...and, if they had not arrived a big problem?

What was his headline post on this forum - "Sabotge start in Haiti?"

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...ead.php?t=9801

...and just look at the body of his post -

...and, even today the reporter filed a follow-up article that appears to re-inforce his first article claiming that the luggage left behind was a 'big deal'.

see - http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...2700#post52700

You may have noticed in my response to the reporter's original post/article that started our discussion I could not bring myself to fully accept the facts as stated - you should have - that in my response I could not bring myself to believe the report. I thought we may not have been hearing the entire story (What of carry-on bags?)...hence my caveat.

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...2423#post52423

You should be wondering why the reporter filed two reports that made out that the bags being missing was a problem...and, if they had not arrived a big problem?

...and, even today the reporter filed a follow-up article that appears to re-inforce his first article claiming that the luggage left behind was a 'big deal'.

You may have noticed in my response to the reporter's original post/article that started our discussion I could not bring myself to fully accept the facts as stated - you should have - that in my response I could not bring myself to believe the report. I thought we may not have been hearing the entire story (What of carry-on bags?)...hence my caveat.
                  Does "the reporter" have a name Karl?

Let us just leave it alone! ...a beg yuh!

Who is the kit sponsor now? Is it Puma?
                      No, but puma is the official olympic sponsor

it's still uhlsport? PLEASE say no!

ah.. first thing i thought...

Thanks for the reports Sickko. We appreciate it.