consider yourself surprised.
    see post with his stats - No surprised. They are lousy!

Shivnarine Chanderpaul - 104 178 24 7182 203* 46.63

Not bad!
    Somewhat similar to Lawrance Rowe's. Not good - fair!

Chris Gayle -
    68 121 4 4479 317 38.28

Not bad! Not fair! Far from good!
    Last edited by Karl; October 10, 2007, 02:58 PM.

where is the post with his stats? sarwan's test average isn't 38.something? a 38 average is lousy?
      --------------

Yup!

It is 40.00 and above that the fairly good bats put up!

The good one's put up 45.00 - 49.99! At least so it goes for me.

Frankie Worrell falls into that range and is considered great! ...but, that is because his average suffered when he continued on to Captain the W.I. after his best years as a batsman were past.

Some others - Alvin Kallicharran, Roy Fredericks, Clive Lloyd, Hunte, Kanhai, Desmond Haynes, Lawrence Rowe

Those above 50.00 are usually the great ones!

For the WI - Headley, Weeks, Viv Richards, Walcott. I hope I have not missed out anyone.
      Last edited by Karl; October 10, 2007, 03:22 PM.

Sarwan test avg.

Batting and fielding averages
        Mat Inns NO Runs HS AVG
        Test 67 119 8 4303 261* 38.76

in my opinion that is a good average for test... how many players will avg 38 close to 40 runs per match...

how could u miss the great brian lara...

that is a good test average...he has the ability to improve on it and he also has time..as for karl...him head mussi tek him..AGAIN!

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
              how could u miss the great brian lara...
              My bad!

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                So he's a specialist captain huh! Same thing dem was pushing with the TT captain. It must be Gayle, I'm sorry. When Lambert can make the BIG side..think about him as captain.

Disclaimer: the term BIG side used only for West Indies cricket and has nothing to do with other world sides.
                Yet we have had two "specialist" Captains whose record as Captain were excellent - I give you - Captain Frank M. Worrell (50's) and
                R. B. Kanhai (70's)! Both these men were outstanding batsmen...but, were no long 'big bats' when called out in the final years to rescue our WI teams.

yuh MAD! 38.76 can NEVER be described as "not good".

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                    Sarwan test avg.

Batting and fielding averages
                    Mat Inns NO Runs HS AVG
                    Test 67 119 8 4303 261* 38.76

in my opinion that is a good average for test... how many players will avg 38 close to 40 runs per match...
                    Many 'batsmen'...mediocre batsmen!

yuh mad!!! 38 is a good test average.....anything under 30 is mediocre.