• Lambert over Gayle for Jamaica's captaincy

Lambert over Gayle for Jamaica's captaincy
    published: Thursday | October 4, 2007

Anthony Foster, Contributor

WHAT DOES it take to be the player who dons the title of captain on a cricket team?

Do you have to be the best player on the team? Do you have to be the most experienced? Do you have to be the man the team likes best? Or do you have to be the person who can garner the most respect from all persons in and around the game?

These are the questions that have come to my mind when I look at the decision of the Jamaica Cricket Association (JCA) to appoint Chris Gayle captain of Jamaica's team to the KFC Cup one-day tournament in Guyana later this month.

Before I look at the other candidate, let's assess what the Ruddy Williams-chaired selection panel took into consideration.

It has been said many times that Gayle would garner most support from the players but is this the truth? From what I know, being around the team and talking to players, most if not all with Test experience support and would be happy with Tamar Lambert as captain.

Successful record
    It was also said that Lambert would not get the support of the Test players, but I know of Test players who would support anyone as captain.

To me, Lambert should have been captain and for a number of reasons.
    Lambert boasts a successful record as captain. He first led Jamaica to the inaugural West Indies Under-15 Championship in 1996 and then the Under-19 team to success in 1999.

In eight matches in charge of the senior team, over a two-year period, Lambert is yet to lose - winning five and drawing three (all first innings).

He also was the captain when Jonathan Grant reached three consecutive Sunlight Cup finals - (1997-1999) and has been a successful captain at the club level - guiding St. Catherine CC to the double in 2006, his only full year in charge.

Adding to that, I think Lambert is one of the friendliest and most disciplined players on the Jamaica team. His knowledge of the game is second to none on this team and, with his track record, the selectors should not have by-passed him for Gayle. In the recent trial matches, watching both captains at work, Lambert looked superior to Gayle and it showed in the results.

The selectors believe Gayle, like Wavell Hinds two years ago, is in line to captain the West Indies and it was because of this that they named him captain.

Job for the best man
    Now, this is where, in my personal opinion, I have a problem because I believe the best man should captain my team ... regardless of his international experience.

Marlon Tucker is considered by many as the best Jamaican captain ever, though he never played for the West Indies.

He won the Shell Cup in 1998, the year he replaced Michael Holding, which many believe forced the great paceman into retirement.

Tucker led Jamaica in 14 matches, winning six, drawing five and losing three, despite a relatively poor record of 740 runs at 18.97.
    With the ball he took 61 wickets at 28.54 with a career best 6-38.

While I am not saying Gayle cannot do the job or cannot lead the team to its first regional one-day victory in eight years, I have to ask what if he fails, like Hinds did? What do the selectors do? Turn to Jerome Taylor, Daren Powell or even Marlon Samuels, who I have learnt Gayle is lobbying for to be his deputy.

Just because they play for the West Indies does not make them captaincy material. Still, let's wait and see.

If I were Lambert, I would say to the selectors and the JCA, 'please, don't consider me as captain nor vice-captain again as I want to concentrate on my batting ... let Chris and his friends take charge'.

nuh years now mi a call fi dis? tek some people longer!!!

Yuh...or mi? ...or both of us?

mi wasn't aware of your stance on this issue (in fact in most cases this is true. the one thing i kow for a fact however is that youare a dyed in the wool pnp man...no matter what!). but i shouldn't be surprised, should i?

Yuh younger dan mi...but, yuh ave shart memory...we had a big discussion on site about this. I think not sure here that it was Hinds who came in and took over the captaincy then...after...after Lambert had 3 wins I think)...Hinds promptly lost, I believe...all the remaining matches.

i remember that well...btw it happened 2 years in a row.

just didn't remember anyone vocally supporting my cause except courtney. but i will accept your explanation.

i remember that discussion, being a quiet cricket fan myself... at the time i could not understand the reasoning for lambert to be captain... still do not necessarily agree with the writer... gayle has more experience at the highest level of the game... this is not to diminish the qualities of lambert... there can only be one captain...

the article in my opinion is pointless and unnecessary... it can only serve encourage dissension... lambert needs to understand that there is someone equally qualified to do the job and he is behind others... he should not be encouraged to refuse a future appointment...

this whole idea that being captain takes away from a person's batting or bowling is ludricrous...

but baddaz....all one has to do is to look at his success as a captain(and at every level that he has been asked to perform). i disagree that lambert should be behind anyone,he has earned the right to be first choice and he has yet to fail.

who has more test experience? sarwan or chanderpaul? who is capo.

So he's a specialist captain huh! Same thing dem was pushing with the TT captain. It must be Gayle, I'm sorry. When Lambert can make the BIG side..think about him as captain.

Disclaimer: the term BIG side used only for West Indies cricket and has nothing to do with other world sides.

you've got a point there... the decision is a tough one... like i said, i am not discounting lambert's quality as captain, however if gayle is being looked at as a future captain of the w.i., then it would be difficult to not make him captain of jamaica... in his absence, lambert should be captain... now if lambert was a test player with a secured position then we would not be having this discussion...

is there ever a case where a player is not captain of his country and is captain of the west indies...

i am with you here exile... when lambert can make the BIG SIDE he can be considered as captain... failure to do that and he will have to submit to gayle...

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                        So he's a specialist captain huh! Same thing dem was pushing with the TT captain. It must be Gayle, I'm sorry. When Lambert can make the BIG side..think about him as captain.

Disclaimer: the term BIG side used only for West Indies cricket and has nothing to do with other world sides.
                        I think Lambert made the team before he became captain. His batting needs improvement and consistency.

i think chanderpaul/sarwan situation of about 18 months aback. chanderpaul was captain of west indies but played under sarwan something like that.

they were grooming hinds as west indies captain and did the same thing...lambert lead the side undefeated over five matches winning three and getting first innings points in the other 2. hinds took over...we lost 4 and had to win the last one to make the playoffs.

lambert has consistently shown himself to be a good captain...field placement, use of his bowlers and overall strategy to the game is outstanding.

i think chanderpaul/sarwan situation of about 18 months aback. chanderpaul was captain of west indies but played under sarwan something like that.
                              Do not think Sarwan has solidified his place as a batsman!