• Redemption! - Jamaicans forgive Asafa for World Champs loss

Redemption! - Jamaicans forgive Asafa for World Champs loss

By Dwyane Mcleod, Staff Reporter

The prodigal son has apparently returned.
    Many Jamaicans had turned their backs on Asafa Powell following his disgraceful third place finish at the recently held World Championships of Athletics in Osaka, Japan. Now some of those same persons are heaping praises on the country's biggest track star after he posted a new world record yesterday.

"Me neva too please with him afta him come third inna a big, big World Championship. Me did a seh him wash up and fi go siddung, mi neva expect him fi do anything special," Annette, from upper St. Andrew, said. Now Asafa has run his way back into her heart. "Him a di wickedest thing since slice bread, trust me. Now me really believe seh a just nerves mek him lose inna Japan," she said.

Michael, 30, from St. Elizabeth, admitted that after the World Championships, he vowed never to watch another race which involved Asafa. Now, Asafa has apparently beaten 'badmindedness' out of him. "Bway, me did seh mi naw go watch nuh more Asafa race, but afta mi hear dis, mi haffi start big him up back again; mi haffi si dah run deh too," he said.

Competent coach
    After setting the new record, Asafa vowed he could go faster and at least one track and field coach supports this claim. "Asafa can lower the record even more, I will not be surprised," Maurice Wilson, coach of GC. Foster College, said.

According to Wilson, Asafa's success lies with the factors of good coaching and the chance to relax. "I knew he would do well. He has a good, competent coach, and after four tough rounds at the World Champs, the coach would have been able to correct whatever went wrong," Wilson said before adding, "I'm extremely happy but not the least surprised."

The other athletes in the race posed as no major threat to Asafa, a factor which Wilson claims contributed to the record-breaking sprint. "Unlike at the World Champs, there was no rivalry, he was able to relax, and that leads to good sprinting," he said.

The record comes only two weeks after the sprinter finished a disappointing third at the track and field World Championships in Osaka, Japan, after which he came under much criticism. Nevertheless, some people never lost faith in the track and field superstar.

"First of all, I must say big-ups and nuff respect to Asafa, I really respect his determination, he has done Jamaica proud on so many occasions," Charmaine, 37, from Kingston, said. "After the World Champs, he came under a lot of pressure from all sorts of people. It would be interesting to hear what they are gonna say now."

mi neva lose mi respect fi asafa... mi nuh even tink seh

most people eva did gi up pon him... a juss suh wi stay when wi disappointed... wi cuss an galang bad pon wi people causen seh wi always expect de best from wi people... daz why wi a jamaicans - a juss suh wi stay...

and a ongle we alone can cuss wi owna people doah... nubady else nuh get da privelege deh... a suh we tan...

a jamaicans push jamaicans tuh greatness... asafa kno dat tuh... a dat mek him guh out an set a new record... him kno seh jamaicans nuh respect mediocrity inna track & field...

asafa a real jamaican... him now know weh him affi duh next year...

now...we need to apply this standard to our politcians and seh to hell with cultism, the best person for the job.....but wha.......the likkle thing of scarce benefits and spoils!!!!!

i totally agree with that as well... however, i see less of the cultism in our politics than before... this past election was evidence... political allegiance isn't as deeply entrenched as before...

hope suh....really really an' chuely!!!!

"disgraceful third place" who is this idiot?

Sorry, but I thought it was too! It's one thing to come third in any world event, but coming third when you are the world record holder x 3, and when you capitulate like that - disgraceful comes to mind.

Originally posted by Baddaz View Post
                most people eva did gi up pon him... a juss suh wi stay when wi disappointed... wi cuss an galang bad pon wi people causen seh wi always expect de best from wi people... daz why wi a jamaicans - a juss suh wi stay...

and a ongle we alone can cuss wi owna people doah... nubady else nuh get da privelege deh... a suh we tan...

a jamaicans push jamaicans tuh greatness... asafa kno dat tuh... a dat mek him guh out an set a new record... him kno seh jamaicans nuh respect mediocrity inna track & field...

asafa a real jamaican... him now know weh him affi duh next year...
                Rightttttttttt, uh huhhhhhhhhhh, sureeee

What a World Record can do huh? Mek im neva bruk him record ALL NOW .......
                http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...w-kit-0708.gif the wisdom and courage of my mind and the strength and vigour of my body", to enable them to enjoy a better life. I ask God's blessings on our nation. I ask for His guidance on the government that I will lead as we face the challenges of the future. I know that we can't even walk without Him holding our hands. http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...aa20b58a33.gif

Yip yip yip yip YUP!!!
                  My My My Jamaican people

As Porsche used to say and mek me laff, "bad mind wussa dan obeah" in dis case
                  http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...w-kit-0708.gif the wisdom and courage of my mind and the strength and vigour of my body", to enable them to enjoy a better life. I ask God's blessings on our nation. I ask for His guidance on the government that I will lead as we face the challenges of the future. I know that we can't even walk without Him holding our hands. http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v6...aa20b58a33.gif

yes mo... yuh wrang dessuh... mi wudda neva think yuh wudda seh dat... i think disappointing would be more like it... or even extremely disappointing...

disgraceful is too strong and totally inappropriate...

You may be right. Disappointing is the better word.

Yes it is, afterall the man certainly didnt run to come third, watch when Asafa win the Olympic gold the most vociferous will be you and wellwe know who they are, "the track men"

Maybe Asafa should run with his eyes closed

maybe...but until he gets than gold medal at the olympics or the worlds...he will fortunate to be a footnote in the history of the sport...in 20 - 30 years time.

I dont know who this writer is, never met him/her but it seems they are trying to take a page out of the British style of journalism, and not the good part either.