Should Asafa double up for the Olympics?

• Should Asafa double up for the Olympics?

In order to redeem himself, do you think that Asafa should run the 200m in addition to the 100m at the next Olympic? On current form and barring injury, the 100m gold I think is a guarantee. I honestly don't think he will make the same mistakes again come next year, and unless by a miracle, some other unknown starts running times as close to him, there is no doubt that he will get that gold. I think he can start working on the 200m where he can possibly medal. In addition to doing a leg on the 4 x 100m, if possible, he could also do a leg on the 4 x 400m too. Then he will go down as the greatest if he medals there. You may say that that may be too much for him, but remember that these relays legs are one-off races and are not run on the same days. It is possible.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

What???

"On current form and barring injury, the 100m gold I think is a guarantee"

If it wasn't a guarantee two weeks ago, why is it a guarantee one year from now?

It look like you underestimate the high-pressure situations at those big meets when the press in your face asking you about you opponent, etc, etc.

On current form and barring injury, the 100m gold I think is a guarantee. I honestly don't think he will make the same mistakes again come next year, and unless by a miracle, some other unknown starts running times as close to him, there is no doubt that he will get that gold.
      I wish I could have that much confidence in him. Is not one time him panick and freeze.

Pressure is underrated.

I wonder if some people competed at the high school level. I know I would not eat before a big event, not even sleep sometimes. That could not be good, yet di pressure reach mi! Can't say I ever panicked and froze, however. Indeed, I have always overachieved! But enuff about me!

I think the Olys and the worlds have a likkle more pressure than a Jamaican high school event.

double up?!!!! him cannot even win one much less.....DOUBLE UP?!!! nah sah!

most athletes will tell you that...gary sobers made his 365 under the influence of aged can juice and with little or no sleep......viv richards highest test score of 277 was made with little or no sleep...

somepeople channel the nervousness into an edge others succumb to it and freeze!

I'm thinking about Jangle's idle post. I thought he had posted it just to create some excitement on the board, but he might have a point.

I'm thinking that Powell might be able to redeem himself by winning the 200m where he would run relaxed since he would have lost the 100m (again) and he has nothing to prove in the longer race. In fact, it could be a new world record in the 200m!

Go for it, Asafa!

I'm thinking about Jangle's idle post. I thought he had posted it just to create some excitement on the board, but he might have a point.

I'm thinking that Powell might be able to redeem himself by winning the 200m where he would run relaxed since he would have lost the 100m (again) and he has nothing to prove in the longer race. In fact, it could be a new world record in the 200m!

Go for it, Asafa!
                LOL bwoy yuh tough sah! I honestly cannot see him making the same mistakes again if he is fit. I think his handlers will make sure that he gets the necessary mental training that he needs by next year. If he is fit and still running those times and he doesn't win the gold, then he may as well retire from the sports. He would be a mental wreck. But seriously, I think he should double up. If he starts running the 200m against more accomplished 200m specialists and lose a few races, I think it will prepare him on the mental side. And for good measure, he should throw in a few 400m as well.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

In order to redeem himself, do you think that Asafa should run the 200m in addition to the 100m at the next Olympic? On current form and barring injury, the 100m gold I think is a guarantee. I honestly don't think he will make the same mistakes again come next year, and unless by a miracle, some other unknown starts running times as close to him, there is no doubt that he will get that gold. I think he can start working on the 200m where he can possibly medal. In addition to doing a leg on the 4 x 100m, if possible, he could also do a leg on the 4 x 400m too. Then he will go down as the greatest if he medals there. You may say that that may be too much for him, but remember that these relays legs are one-off races and are not run on the same days. It is possible.
                  100M and the 4 x 1!
                  ...but, he should run the 200M occasionally in meets previous to the Olympics.

...to win at the Olympics he just needs to 'run his race'! With his times - there is no other runner today who can beat him.

The truth is if another runner steps to the plate and runs faster than his *7.94secs before the Olympics and they meet...his best performance can only be had if he 'runs his own race'!

* - should have been - 9.74 secs.
                  Last edited by Karl; September 10, 2007, 11:48 AM.

100M and the 4 x 1!
                    ...but, he should run the 200M occasionally in meets previous to the Olympics.

...to win at the Olympics he just needs to 'run his race'! With his times - there is no other runner today who can beat him.

The truth is if another runner steps to the plate and runs faster than his 7.94secs before the Olympics and they meet...his best performance can only be had if he 'runs his own race'!
                    Asafa could panic, freeze up and break a femur, if he is running 7.94 secs at any time he will surely win the Olympics!
                    Last edited by Karl; September 10, 2007, 11:04 AM.

i am not sure about doubling up at the olympics but i do believe that he should be running more 200m races... it could only help with his strength in the major meets that require rounds in the 100m...

in my opinion, he lacks strength physical and mental but gaining confidence in his ability to hold up over rounds would play a big part in his development...

if tyson gay and others can double, running 8 races then asafa should be able to do it as well... if he truly wants to be considered as a great sprinter, he should be working towards having the ability to perform at peak over 8 races...

records come aand go but titles are there forever!

Rounds have nothing to do with failures to date. Absolutely nothing!!!

the evidence suggests that asafa lacks strength to handle the rounds of major events... he appears tired in the finals of every major championship except the commonwealth games...

well, if its not the rounds it has to be his mental preparation and his ability to handle pressure...

i think he is trained to run fast...not to compete....one would think that the run fast would cover everyting in that from ypu can run fast you will beat everyone, however,the evidence shows otherwise.