Asafa priced self out of 100m clash - Zurich organisers

yes...but i think the question is, when when did negotiations for participants take place?

Long time! Just a few days ago Bruce was saying that he will be there. Didn't seem like there was a money issue at all on the horizon. But even before Bruce was reminding us that he would be there, weeks ago, this match-up was already slated.

ah...are you saying that they accepted his demand and now want to rescind after osaka becaue gay beat him?

sounds more like they (the organisers) hedged their bets and did not say yea or nay until after osaka...in which case i can only imagine that asafa's team agreed to this OR if they did not then they were not vigilant in their negotiations (perhaps on the belief that he would win)....

Seemed to me that everything was set for the race to happen. When Asafa chickened in Osaka, they were worried about their earning potential for the year. Clearly, Asafa pays most of the salaries in MVP. Bruce tried to save face by Asafa's relay run, claiming he redeemed himself fully.

So now, faced with the fact that Asafa might not be the biggest item in T&F for this year and a chance that he might lose again to Tyson in Zurich dem a say, "Yuh nuh see how him run dung di man inna di relay? A him a di real big man. Him fi get twice whey dah Gay bwoy deh a get fi dah race deh! Straight!"

Dem haffi secure someting fi MVP fi di rest a di year, win, lose or draw. Chrismus a come!

yes but the point is if there was a contract the organisers cannot now renege...which would seem to indicate there was no contract....is that how they normally do business...if it is then they organisers are within their rights...if there was a contract then that is a different matter.

G, yuh vere consider going into sports management from a legal perspective? Yuh cudda help out a lot of our folks yuh nuh and mek a likkle smalls for yuh self too.
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

i actually did the sports law course in law school and was just shy of apprenticing myself with drew rosenhaus (i knew his girlfriend at the time who was also at law school) when i decided to return to jamaica.....the "smalls" is not really the issue but it does take time to build up a clientele etc etc and in the meanwhile i have taken another (if not totally unrelated) path.

yes but the point is if there was a contract the organisers cannot now renege...which would seem to indicate there was no contract....is that how they normally do business...if it is then they organisers are within their rights...if there was a contract then that is a different matter.
                  nuh yuh haul-ways a remind wi seh contracts always have escape clause? Cud dis-yah wan si "ifffen yuh win -dis", iffen yuh lose -dat"? cudda a "dat" reach im?

$100K JA yuh talkin' right? If is $100K US and that is nothing... sound like you have a stash of cash somewhere. BTW I need a loan to fix my house after Felix entered and wet up six rooms last Saturday. Thank God it was only a tropical storm at the time.

pr

My contention is not whether a contract was in place or not. For me, this just further damages his fragile image.

That PR fall-out is not good!

I don't thing his image damaged too badly. All he needs to do to continue blazing some fast times and in the process probably equal or break the record again to increase his commerciablity. There is no question that he can beat Gay easily. However, he will always have the anchor of not winning a gold in a major championship around his neck, but that shouldn't mess with his money too much if continues to run fast times.
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

yes....that is possible too....

I don't thing his image damaged too badly. All he needs to do to continue blazing some fast times and in the process probably equal or break the record again to increase his commerciablity. There is no question that he can beat Gay easily.
                              You may right here...as his best times (How mi luv dat - times! ) are faster than anything Gay has done with legal wind.

However, he will always have the anchor of not winning a gold in a major championship around his neck, but that shouldn't mess with his money too much if continues to run fast times.
                              Cho man, tek it easy nuh?
                              Asafa is still a young man and hopefully shall have many more shots at proving himself at the 'big world meets (Olympics and IAAAF World Champs). Im nuh dun, im jus a com!
                              Last edited by Karl; September 7, 2007, 07:30 PM.

his best times (How mi luv dat - times! ) are faster than anything Gay has done with legal wind