How nobody mention that our Decathlete

• How nobody mention that our Decathlete

Maurice Smith is in first place after 5 events?

With five to go, Maurice Smith leads with 4,525 points. Dmitriy Karpov of Kazakhstan was next at 4,439 and Czech Olympic champion Roman Sebrle had 4,434.

This is incredible!

Great not being a Trini!

it is great...but i think he has already competed in his stronger events and the ones left may not favour him....in any event cometh the hour cometh the man ... i am watching it with some guarded optimism....in other words mi nuh wa'an goat mout him!

Cool.

Meanwhile:

"No problem," said relay member Wallace Spearmon. "If the Jamaicans say that they can beat the world record - OK. They can beat it, but they will still be only second in the final.''

heheheheheh...it's ON!!!! wallace feel seh the psyche is already fragile...btw how a man fi have wallace fi a first name? dem name him after wallis simpson?

i

Actually the discuss is his best event and he can throw about 54m, he is a more than decent 110m hurdler as well so he could extend his lead after those two tonight but he will struggle with the pole vault and the javelin his two weakest events.

He is in great shape however and has three PBs so far, in the 100m, LJ and HJ so maybe he can at least match his personal bests in the two weak event.

Also Brian Clay the defending champ is also out.

Anything in the top three will be good for me.

I expect him to medal, and as you rightly say he is PBing the meet! I really expect the gold!

With five to go, Maurice Smith leads with 4,525 points. Dmitriy Karpov of Kazakhstan was next at 4,439 and Czech Olympic champion Roman Sebrle had 4,434.

This is incredible!

Great not being a Trini!
              He actually leads after 6 events. He won the 110M hurdles with the fastest time!

I must confess that I was not payng him or his event any attention until this morning. Was surprised to see a Jamaican leading that event. I just dismissed his Pan Am Gold...as again egg is on my face...everytime the decathlon came on at the Pan Am games I just tuned out.

I saw that he won and saw him on the podium...but, I just assumed sub-par competition won with best of a bad (as when compared to the rest of the world) lot. Was I wrong or what? He is going very well....although someone posted on Willi's site that his weak events are coming up!

btw - He has also done some PBs...sorry I still have not given his exploits a good look! (red face! fool look!)

...but, Clap him!

His first throw in the second group of the discuss was at least three metres farther than anyone in the first group but his group is the tough group so lets wait and see..

Are you watching?

I had stopped - was tuned in to TVJ.
                  Gone over to EuroSport ES.

This is incredible!

Great not being a Trini!
                    Just took a look. He won the Discus and improved his lead. He now leads by 172 points! ...with pole vault, javelin and 1500 meters to come.
                    Clap him, again!

I must be watching replays?

I see the 4 x 1 coming up.

Pole Vault: Smith just clear another personal best - 4.70 metres

Still leading!
                          Saw a board with over 8000 points....and, a lead of 130 points.

Smith - SILVER!
                            CONGRATS!

that is great.

good to see we can compete in these events as well