Asafa! As Shatta is prone to say, "Wheel and come again"

• Asafa! As Shatta is prone to say, "Wheel and come again"

Asafa has a lot to thank God for. He is a multi-millionaire and is in good health. Praise God! He can rebound. Donald Quarry can tell him about that. Cheer him on for another day. Ali lost fights but fought on to be three time champ and be "The Greatest."

Some of the discussion on sports talk radio has been that Asafa does better in a single race format when the top runners are invited. They argue that this has been the case of many other top athletes. However, when they go through four races in two days, it is more physically and psychologically demanding.

Pop music has addressed the psychology in performances. When thinking about the shortest and toughest test in all of sports, that is the 100 m race, I remember the following pop themes which have been played before big matches & meets over three decades. The first was the inspiration to the Louisville Cardinals and Darrell "Dr Dunkenstein" Griffith in the 1980 NCAA Basketball championship.

Kenny Loggins :"...This is it
    Make no mistake where you are
    This is it
    Your back's to the corner....",

Eminem: Lose yourself intro "Look, if you had one shot or one opportunity To seize everything you ever wanted in one moment
    Would you capture it or just let it slip?"

Billy Joel: Pressure "You have to learn to pace yourself
    Pressure
    You're just like everybody else
    Pressure
    You've only had to run so far
    So good
    But you will come to a place
    Where the only thing you feel
    Are loaded guns in your face
    And you'll have to deal with
    Pressure ...."

This other verse of Billy Joel's "Pressure" sums up the position that Asafa is in before is upcoming rematch. Reminds me of Bruce Lee and the realization that we have to fight and defeat "the demons inside."

Don't ask for help
    You're all alone
    Pressure
    You'll have to answer
    To your own
    Pressure
    I'm sure you'll have some cosmic rationale
    But here you are in the ninth
    Two men out and three men on
    Nowhere to look but inside
    Where we all respond to
    Pressure
    Pressure

You know whats sad about all this Westman is the fact that this thing will happen over and over again and we won't get it.

like everyone else we need to take advantage of all the resources at our disposal and it should be obvious that Asafa needs a sport psychologist as after all he is a human like everyone else.

There is nothing to fear but fear itself and I find myself having to mentally tell myself that its okay before I take on a large project. I have to go deep within and calm myself and in fact its a brethrin off one of the site that sent me a meditation cd and it opened a new world that I didn't even know existed.

WE have to reach out and help each other at times as in time it will come back ten fold.

When Ronaldo was down after the world cup Sir Alex reached out to him and when Rooney was in a slump everyone was "backing" him to return to form.

The mind is indeed powerful and so we have to learn to be more nuturing and understand when it comes to the youths. No matter how big they are in statue we have to remember that they are indeed young in the mind and it no easy nowadays as you hardly find a one who show love.

Asafa will bounce back better than before

Spread the word the Prodigal son has returned(a wah dem hear bout?)
      A kindler, gentler Shatta(yes you read correctly it is indeed possible)

A kinder, gentler and more SPIRITUAL Shatta it seems.

I was off the site for a while so when I was reading these posts I was wondering if it was a different Shatta from the one I am familiar with.

Anyway good to see you post bredren. I hear you had a recent addition to your family. Congrats and give thanks.

Originally posted by Shatta View Post
          You know whats sad about all this Westman is the fact that this thing will happen over and over again and we won't get it.

like everyone else we need to take advantage of all the resources at our disposal and it should be obvious that Asafa needs a sport psychologist as after all he is a human like everyone else.

There is nothing to fear but fear itself and I find myself having to mentally tell myself that its okay before I take on a large project. I have to go deep within and calm myself and in fact its a brethrin off one of the site that sent me a meditation cd and it opened a new world that I didn't even know existed.

WE have to reach out and help each other at times as in time it will come back ten fold.

When Ronaldo was down after the world cup Sir Alex reached out to him and when Rooney was in a slump everyone was "backing" him to return to form.

The mind is indeed powerful and so we have to learn to be more nuturing and understand when it comes to the youths. No matter how big they are in statue we have to remember that they are indeed young in the mind and it no easy nowadays as you hardly find a one who show love.

Asafa will bounce back better than before

Spread the word the Prodigal son has returned(a wah dem hear bout?)
          A kindler, gentler Shatta(yes you read correctly it is indeed possible)
          Nothing calms the "beast" like a precious baby girl. Congrats!
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

whe you say?
            him a sing "I love you, you love me"
            eeeeehhhhh eeeeeehhhhh

Waaapen Warbus...welcome back from Baby land...and congrats.

i will continue to support asafa until he wins the big one

i have no other choice... i am confident that he will make the necessary adjustments to conquer his demons... he did not get to be the fastest on the planet in one day... it was by tremendous discipline and effort...

like many, i was disappointed with his failure to win the gold medal... i am sure he was even more disappointed that i was... in my eyes, he is still a winner, just not on the day we all wanted him to win... he represented jamaica and made us all took notice...

despite the naysayers, waggonists, i believe asafa will prevail in the olympics next year...

thanks massive. See it deh Baddaz a dat we a talk bout. Positive thoughts big man.